We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and Attracts Mosquitoes in Room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
112 Trans Canada Hwy., Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador AIV 1P8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gander
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Noisy and Attracts Mosquitoes in Room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

For the price of this motel we were expecting something a tad nicer but this motel is literally right off the Trans Canada Highway (TCH) so needless to say, our room was extremely noisy. We could hear each and every vehicle that drove by so it was hard to sleep with the noise. The other big issue we had was the mosquitoes. There were several mosquitoes in our room and every time we opened the door (to go to the car or get breakfast, etc), more bugs came in. We were up until midnight trying to kill the bugs in our room.

The king bed was fine and the bathroom was fine although dated. They provide body lotion, shampoo, conditioner and bar soap as well as a make-up remover wipe but no shower cap. There is also no fan in the bathroom nor window.

We had a suite so there was a mini fridge and a microwave as well as a couch and two TV's -- why we needed two TV's, I don't know but the more the merrier.

The continental breakfast was a good deal as it had hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea, toast, and yogurt.

The woman at the front desk (I believe her name is Karen) is extremely friendly and nice.

Potential guests should keep in mind that this is a motel that is right off the highway (e.g. next to Jungle Jims and near a gas station) so it's noisy. We only stayed there as a pit stop on the way to Gros Morne since the drive from St. John's was so long.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    15
    10
    0
See reviews for
9
14
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very comfortable king-size bed, reasonable price. Temperature in the room was easily controlled. I had no trouble getting the TV to work (Sometimes it can be very complicated, if you know what I mean). Continental breakfast was perfect, and coffee was excellent. Nice front desk people. I was hitting the road early next morning and they allowed me to store a sandwich in their fridge. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: I didn't have any kind of a view but then I didn't need a view either. If that's importa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Recently stayed here for five nights for an event in Gander and really thought the room was nicely done with amenities. It was a comfortable and enjoyable stay! Having Junge Jim's restaurant on site was certainly helpful as well. Never got tha chance to take advantage of the breakfast being offered but indications from other guests I spoke with were impressed. I usually spend a little time in Gander each year and will certainly be staying at Comfort Inn in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Certainly not a motel i will ever visit again. Stayed here in June 2011 for one night. Check in time is from 2 PM. Upon arrival at 3:15 pm my room was not ready. It would be ready at 4 pm. When returning at 4 pm it still was not ready. Finally, at 4:15 pm, i received the key. In the room was some device that was creating a bad smell in the room. It was picked up by somebody half an hour later, who was surprised to find me in the room. Apparently the room was not ready when i got the key. The window could not be opened, because there was an a/c unit fitted in the window space. Breakfast as usual in an American motel, cardboard dishes, plastic cutlery, too little tables, coffee, tea, bread, cereals, toaster, jam and muffins. Bathroom was clean. Room had a big flat screen television, which i did not use.

Room Tip: Not advising anybody to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gander hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

There are only a handful of hotel/motel options in Gander, Newfoundland, almost all of them set side-by-side on the weirdly empty Trans-Canadian Highway. The Comfort Inn is, of course, part of a chain and, like the other two places we stayed in Newfoundland, very clean and well maintained.
Our room was on the first floor (of two), with an uninspiring view of the rear parking lot, the fenced-in propane storage tank, a picnic table and benches where employees took their breaks, and a gazebo-in-the-making, the finishing touches to which workmen were adding...very, very slowly. But the place was amazingly quiet, and the staffers were all efficient, helpful, and genuinely friendly. When we checked in we noticed that our tub wouldn't drain but, after mentioning it to the front-desk person, the hotel's charming handyman was immediately summoned and, within just a few minutes, the problem had been fixed. There is a small, but well maintained, breakfast room (complete with t.v., for keeping up with the latest news) and the complimentary breakfasts included one of those make-your-own waffle machines--with two flavors of "mix." Very popular, especially with the young kids (this place is definitely family-friendly). And the lovely, multicolored flowers outside the main door indicates that someone has thought seriously about visitors' first impressions.
The hotel adjoins a restaurant called "Jungle Jim's,"part of a local chain, which is convenient; it's also directly across the highway from an official provincial tourist information office/gift shop. We only walked through the lobby of one of the other (more-expensive) hotels on the same "strip"--it had a fancier restaurant, but didn't feel nearly as welcoming.

Room Tip: Try to get a second-floor room, facing the rear. There's no "view," but you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It's a Comfort Inn, so there's no expectation of full-service amenities like room service, etc. It was just fine for my needs and very reasonably priced. The check-in experience was positive and quick and any interactions I had with staff were good. The wi-fi worked very well and the fitness centre had a decent selection for the size of the hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room quite near the lobby - so there was some traffic by the door - but nothing I would call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The rooms are dark, narrow, and a little outdated.
The new shower enclosure and flat screen tv screen are the most endearing part of the the 'Comfort Inn' experience.
The price is the same as the big cities and - however continental breakfast is included.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 112 Trans Canada Hwy., Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador AIV 1P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Gander
Comfort Inn Gander, Newfoundland
Gander Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.