We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dear 1981......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sinbad's Hotel and Suites

Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sinbad's Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 450 | 133 Bennett Drive, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1W6 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Dear 1981......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is in dire need of some upgrades. It is not 1981 anymore. Things have changed and so should your hotel.

The only nice things about this place was the woman at the front desk when we checked in. Nice lady. Cannot remember her name.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    24
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
14
15
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week while on business. My room was very clean and comfortable. The window opened onto a small courtyard which unfortunately resounded with the hum of air conditioners. Not enough to put me off totally. The common area (lobby and hallways) are very tired and not as clean as they could be. But the service staff was friendly and accommodating; service in the boardroom I used was prompt. The adjoining restaurant is quite good. It is a large hotel; my room was 137 steps from the elevator.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room was clean and quiet, but there were lots of minuses with this stay. The hall ways in the hotel were very hot, musty, and appeared dirty, though none of the issues appeared to continue into the room. My room had all of the towel racks and hooks removed from the walls. There were holes in the walls and bathroom door where the racks and hooks should have been. The only place to hang the towel after my shower was on the floor so that's where my towel went. If the hotel was feeding persons from a bus tour, it had limited or no capacity to feed any other guests during the time the hotel was feeding person's from the bus tour. There were eating establishments within the hotel area, but all were fast food eateries. The bathroom area was divided into two areas, with one area having the sink and the second area having the toilet and bathtub/shower. But the toilet area did not have its own light switch; thus, when you turned on the light for a bathroom visit in the middle of the night, it lit up both the sink area and the toilet area making the light visible and bothersome to the other sleeping guest in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gander hotels

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here on a tour bus when they had another bus at the same time. Amazing service and food. Propery is a little tired but very clean and comfortable. Mall across the road is convenient as well as the liquor store.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Canada/US coast to coast, hotel #17, 1 night

Gander was a pitstop on the way to St John's from Port Aux Basques and fortunately redeemed by a bistro and the staff working there. The Sinbad hotel needs updating, the room was large but the hotel and room had a general musty smell, my wife found the bed uncomfortable. The staff was courteous and I had a good sleep. One silver lining was the included breakfast, it is served up in a regular restaurant that only puts out a small quantity (of eggs, bacon etc) at a time. Since we showed up late we received fresh scrambled eggs and bacon which was great. One negative is the price, the hotel is not great value and I would seek better value if available in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Sinbad's is a large hotel with long, long corridors. It took us quite a while to find our room, whick was at the back of the hotel. However, our room was clean and comfortable and just fine for the one night we spent there. The restaurant served tasty food but the service was a bit slow. If you are in the area check out this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a room close to the lobby and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked here on a Thursday night - everything else in Gander was booked up and even Sinbad's was very busy as well. We were on the second floor in an efficiency unit room - came with a stove, microwave and some basic kitchen equipment. Sure it's an older hotel - but all the Steele brand hotels (Gander, Corner Brook and St. John's) are older buildings in need of an update. Our room was very large and clean and we were able to get a good night's rest. You also get a coupon for the hot breakfast in the downstairs restaurant but we did not take advantage of it since we had an early morning flight. If I were in Gander and in need of a hotel room, I would book here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sinbad's Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinbad's Hotel and Suites

Address: P.O. Box 450 | 133 Bennett Drive, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1W6 , Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinbad's Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sinbad's Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinbad`s Hotel Gander
Sinbad's Hotel And Suites Gander, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinbad's Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.