We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, reasonable accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5621 44th Street | Alberta, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Lloydminster
Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
477 reviews 477 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Good price, reasonable accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 via mobile

Three of us booked a room for the night, enroute to Edmonton. Price was reasonable enough, and included a good breakfast for all of us. Room was clean and comfortable. Elevator was very slow, so we decided to take the stairway. At one end of the building, it seemed to lead directly outside. At the other end of the building, it came out behind the front desk, but the bottom of the stairwell appeared to be being used as a janitors closet, as all the cleaning pails and mops were there. Very dangerous had we been using the escape in an emergency! Staff were friendly and accommodating. Free wifi. Enjoyed the pool and waterslides.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2015
Thank-you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast. The addition of the waffle, and the pancake machine in the breakfast room has become quite a hit. The janitors mop and pails have since been re located. Thank-you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    8
    13
    31
See reviews for
19
7
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

we needed a room due to bad road conditions and because we do not believe in credit cards we could not get a room in this hotel. We always pay with debit and are willing to leave a deposit which we have done at any other hotel we have stayed in. Sad day when cash is no good in our world anymore. I guess the hotel did not need any extra business, their competition however took our cash and will have a repeat customer.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2015
Thank-you for the response. I agree it is a sad day when cash is no longer any good! In our industry, we have had the experience of a few guests paying cash and damaging our property. They leave without coming to the desk to check out so that we can not inspect the room. The $200.00 cash damage deposit that is left at the desk does not cover a 40" TV, a mattress, or even a door. With a credit card we at least have a way for these types of guests to be accountable for and to detour any types of damages or theft. Thank-you for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Just completed my 2nd multi day stay at Tropical Inn for 2014. Room was clean, no serious issues, fridge, micro, coffee maker in my rooms. Everything worked as intended. Staff was superb both times. Ethernet/ wi-fi worked well. Much to do within walking distance - short driving distance. Turned in short list of items needing attention - none serious. Tony Roma's, Bennigan's and a liquor store within the same building.

My only issue was with the crowded desk area in my last room. I'm not a small person and it was difficult to use the desk. The fellow who checked me out last spring was a bit strange; no sign of him this visit. Great Canadian Hospitality, especially this last stay. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: I'm away from home most of the year so it's a roll of the dice many times. Not disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
Thank-you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next stay with us. Thank-you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Nous devions couper notre voyage en 2. L'endroit était parfait, facile a trouver. Ok, ok, si quelqu'un juge un hotel par l'odeur et l'allure du corridor plutôt que le silence et la chambre, vous aller probablement virer de bord, mais vous manquer quelque chose! D'accord, caressemble a un vieil arena, mais la chambre est bien, le prix est excellent, le personal est poli, souriant, accomodant, il y a un corridor interieur pour aller au Tony Roma qui sert des repas sans gluten et le dejeuner est inclue ( amener votre pain ou vos ceriales sans gluten, toutefois, pas de choix sans gluten!) Il y a tout ce qu'il faut et c'est propre. Il y a même un bain chaud, un sauna et une piscine intérieur. La piscine est petite et des glissades d'eau y tombe, alors pas vraiment de place pour flotter, mais c'était une bonne soirée et une bonne nuit.

Alright, for people freaking out about appearanc: you're missing a good deal. It's not your average posh hotel but compare to a lot of place I had to be in in that town, this is very creme! They do not serve gluten free (yet, hint hint) breakfast option, but you have a fridge and a microwave in the room, plus a coffee maker. All complimentary. It's closed from everything and there is a corridor between the room and the Tony Roma Restaurant where they do serve for Gluten free at very affordable. You don't need to put your coat on. Plus, the staff is extra caring. My husband is very particular in inspecting rooms in hotel and if it was more than esthetically ugly, as in if it had not been clean, I would have not been able to convince him to stay. Yep, it look (and in certain space) smell like an old arena, but the room and service are above average for a smaller city. I would return!

Room Tip: I don't know about the tower, I was on the East part (lower) and we slept like babies! Tower is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Thank-you so much for your comments! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. and we hope to see you next time you are in Lloydminster!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Not a great place to stay if you are doing work in lloydminster. I found the staff to be unhelpful and somewhat rude. The WiFi did not work, and instead of taking care of the issue, they give you a 1-800 number to deal with the problem yourself. Place is like a maze, and hard to locate many of the hotel amenities. Finding a place to park is hell. The breakfasts are also very bland and unappealing. Not recommended.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank-you for the response! On weekends and after 5 Pm we offer our guests the 800 number to help with any WIFI connection problems. Unlike the front desk attendants, they are trained professionals and can better help with any questions or problems that you may have. Our facility is quite large and may seem like a maze for the first bit. Thank-you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Not the cleanest place. Had to stay there all winter because of work. Elevators in the tower break down constantly and can't access stairway to go up due to door locked. You can come down but not up. West wing not as bad. Always access to stairs and elevator works all the time.

Room Tip: West wing has nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank-you for your response. I do apologize for the troubles with the elevator during your stay. We do not anticipate them breaking down but when they do we are prompt on getting the mechanic out of Edmonton to come and work their magic. I am glad we were able to make your stay more enjoyable in the West Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I absolutely loved staying here with my family! The kids loved the waterslides, the yummy breakfast in the morning! The girl at the front desk with brown curly hair, and big welcoming smile was excellent to check in with! She was so happy and nice! She even made my kids smile by telling them about the waterslides! I will definitely stay here again :)

Room Tip: West wing elevator is across from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank-you so much! We are thrilled your family enjoyed your stay with us, and we do look forward to seeing you again! I will share your kind words to Paytn at the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 5621 44th Street | Alberta, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Lloydminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Lloydminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropical Inn is Lloydminsters largest full service hotel hosting 165 rooms. We have two large waterslides, pool, jacuzzi, sauna and ecercise room in the water park. For dining we have Tony Roma's and Bennigan's Irish pub. Our hot buffet breakfast is perfect for starting the day. We also have a cold beer and liquor venue on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Lloydminster
Tropical Inn Hotel And Conference Centre Lloydminster, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.