We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, renovating soon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Qualicum Beach Inn

Qualicum Beach Inn
2690 Island Highway West, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 1G8, Canada (Formerly Old Dutch Inn)
(250) 752-6914
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $23
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, renovating soon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A great dining experience with beautifully prepared and flavorful meals. A bargain in summer with half price appetizers. Dining room a little too motelish, to be changed shortly I understand. Do not miss.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    34
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delightful food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Location, food, ocean view, service - the Old Dutch Inn has it all.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Up and Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I know the inn is under new ownership and the restaurant has yet to be redone. The food can be excellent or average, i am not sure what it depends on yet. They have a great spot, and the service was good. I think there are high hopes of changes to come, and hopefully consistency too.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“1/2 Price Appy Night- Sooooo Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Thursday night is half Price Appy and Salad night! Great deal!! I have been a few times, tried the Brie/Filo, the Calamari, Brushetta, all were fantastic but by far the best scallops I have ever had with the bacon jam!!! I have also tried the spinach salad with pear and confit of duck, delicious!!! I am very thrifty and probably wouldn't have enjoyed it as much if I paid full price but was totally worth it at half price!!! (Also Thursday night has all cocktails for only $5)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So disappointed! Bad food ,lacking in service quality and attention to detail!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Went for my birthday supper having long wanted to try out the new menu*-fresh seafood and local concept .
Happy to start with a bunch of shared appies and cocktails, then move onto dinner and dessert.
Sadly, we never made it past the appetizers .
Service was slow and certainly lacking in any enthusiasm . there were 2 servers to cover 6 tables and we had to ask several times for more water . The lack of attention to any details played out in all aspects of our meal .
Seafood chowder - fresh and lots dill and cream. One bowl had lots seafood while one was almost devoid of it - weirdly the chef drizzled chili oil on top of the chowder . I love hot spicy food but felt it overpowered the soup.
The ceviche was so disappointing- a family favorite ,had NO shrimp at all and a few pieces of scallop - tons of chopped greens , weak on the lime or spice-bland tasting. When I asked the server about it she brought us another bowl with some shrimp and seasoned a bit better but still mostly chopped herbs/greens . Serving it with some fresh bread or crackers would have been nice - the server looked surprised when I requested some as we were all sharing . .@$15 not good value!
Side plates should have been brought as several of us were sharing 5 appies , but I was too upset about the food to ask for the obvious!
The calamari was over cooked and seasoned with ? Curry and served with a bland green goddess(haven't seen that since the 1980s) even my kids did not like it .
The Qualicum bay scallops(3) were nicely seared but served with a huge wad of sprouts on some old dried up corn . The bacon jam was tasty but totally overwhelmed the delicate seafood .
Again ,for $13 not good value.
The duck confit salad was inedible and we sent it back ! Presentation was awful. It was all thrown in a bowl and the duck leg thrown on top. So old dry and salty none of us would eat it !sad!
We've had gorgeous duck confit in Paris and elsewhere and were looking forward to it! To end on a positive ,
The sunset view was gorgeous ! I certainly hope they can get this place up to speed with quality food and service - our town is certainly a void of good dining options !
Headed to another local eatery for dessert and chocolate martinis so my bday dinner ended on a better note !

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qualicum Beach Inn also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Qualicum Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qualicum Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.