We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Disappointment!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Shady Waterfront Restaurant & Pub

The Shady Waterfront Restaurant & Pub
3109 West Island Highway, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2C5, Canada
250 752 9111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Shady has been a local tradition since 1924!Come see for yourself why we're still having fun after all these years. Great food, friendly service, and a breathtaking oceanfront setting await. We look forward to serving you!
BC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We live on the island and The Shady has always been a favourite place to dine. Located right on the beach your dining experience is enhanced by the stunning ocean views, there is nothing like enjoying a meal while getting to see killer whales, seals or sea lions cavorting in the waves. Unfortunately, this time the only thing we enjoyed were the stunning views, as the menu has changed and not for the better, rather the selection is very limited and very pricey. They are pushing the “buy & eat local” ideology, and apparently that means waiting forever to get your meal and charging outrageous prices for what you get. They used to have amazing Soup du Jour, but now it is limited to Seafood Chowder (I am allergic to shellfish...not their problem I know...), and French Onion Soup (I don’t eat red meat....also not their problem...I know...), so that was the first letdown. Since we were only there for lunch we did not want to spend $25.00 or more for an entree, and with limited choices for sandwiches and salads we decided to order Nachos. With Guacamole and Chicken the Nachos came to just over $22.00. We are not cheap, we don’t mind paying high prices for good food, but this was not anything special, and as other reviewers have pointed out we waited FOREVER to get our food. Usually a Saturday afternoon would find this restaurant packed with happy diners, but today it was quite empty, perhaps a reflection of the recent changes. Will we go back? I love the view, so probably, but not for the entrees, maybe a glass of wine or two and an appy as long as we don’t have to wait over an hour to get it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    122
    40
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What happened???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I used to frequent the Shady and recently returned only to find the menu has changed and the food was terrible. Prices have increased and the value just wasn't there. So disappointed and have not returned.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic,fantastic,fantastic.....Food,service & location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

What a wonderful,casual dining experience On The Beach in Qualicum Beach.
Park your car
Stroll the beach
Indulge in the local seafood: clams,mussels,Fanny Bay Oysters & Qualicum
Beach Scallops
Enjoy the abundances

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Accommodating, breathtaking view and excellent food in a very casual atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Overlooking Qualicum Bay towards the islands and mainland, this restaurant is casual, fun, very accommodating. They have great food, whether appetizers or main course meals both the pub and the restaurant are without equal in this area. Our group reserved a table and found ourselves in a nice secluded room at the back of the restaurant but with the same terrific view. The lunch, mostly salads, were excellent for all of us and the service was attentive without being intrusive. The staff seem to have a very small turnover. I love this place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Would certainly come back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We were a little skeptical as there had been recent reviews that were so so. But we were glad we went as the our meals were delicious. Liked the surroundings, it was clean and they serve Vancouver Island beer. Service was little slow, but it seemed that they were under staffed. All in all it was a good experience and didn't see any unhappy customers.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shady Waterfront Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Shady Waterfront Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shady Waterfront Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.