We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Options from Tame to Adventurous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park

Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park
3900 Horne Lake Caves Rd., Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2L7, Canada
250-248-7829
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Check out the Vancouver Island Underworld! Open year round for exploration above and below ground. Tours range from easy family tours all the way to the "Underground Extreme" where explorers rappel down a seven-storey waterfall! Or try the "3 hr. "Wet & Wild" Spelunking Adventure. Next door to the Horne Lake Campground where visitors will find lakefront campsites, canoe & kayak rentals, free parking & picnic area, boat launch and even camping in a teepee!
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Many Options from Tame to Adventurous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I took the 4 hour adventure tour and it was great. Not for the claustrophobic or one who can't hike. It starts with a hike up the hills through some beautiful forested country to the cave entrance. The caving involves belly crawling, rapelling and a very narrow, twisting cable ladder, what fun! All of the cave is quite narrow and doesn't open up into any large rooms like some other caves we've done but the calcite formations are beautiful and they are doing a wonderful job in trying their best to preserve the integrity of the cave. The four story formation at the end is awesome! they also have self guided maps for the smaller easier caves which would be great for small children and shorter tours that are not as rigorous. The surrounding area is just gorgeous and worth the drive in itself.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    35
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“free self guided caving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

If the 11 km gravel road is not to much for you this is a must do with kids. There are two caves (one 136m in length, the other 40m) you can discover on your own. This doesn't sound like much, but it took friends (couple and a 5 year old) 30 minutes for the smaller one and over one hour for the 136m one! The caves have no light, you need to bring two sources of light (headlamps are recommended as you will need your hands to climb and crawl). Be prepared to get dirty, not too bad but you will have a muddy pant and shirt after the excursion. Don't expect to see stunning stalactites or stalagmites in the self guided caves. It's all about the caving experience. And it is FREE! Bring a helmet for your kids or rent one at the entrance (8.50$ including a headlamp). It is a 10 minute walk over a suspension bridge and a trail uphill to the caves.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Horne Lake caves Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My teenage children and I took a 4 hour splunking/caving tour. The tour was educational, thrilling, fun, and challenging. There was a little bit of rock climbing, splunking, and commando crawling. This is not for you if you're claustraphobic!! Our tour guide, Kevin, constantly checked to see each member of our 6 person group was OK. We got wet, dirty and we were really tired at the end. Well worth the time, money and effort!! Lot's of fun.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a unique experience. Hats off to our guide Andrew who chatted it up the entire tour and gave us a thorough understanding of stalactites and stalagmites. We took the family tour (2.5 hours) and saw some ancient pristine cave formations. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family caving tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Recently did this tour with family of 12 year old and 9 year old. They both loved it. Tour includes a beautiful 25 minute walk to the cave entrance. Guides Riley and Miles provided plenty of interesting facts about the cave and forest.
After caving, had picnic lunch by the lake. Daughter couldn't resist wading into the water. Unfortunately, she came out with swimmer's itch. Check for signs before swimming.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.