We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Ristorante & Lounge

Giovanni's Ristorante & Lounge
#3 & #4, 180 Second Ave West, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada
250 752-6693
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fine Italian cuisine in a friendly and informal atmosphere. Giovanni's provides an elegant and delicious Italian dining experience 7 nights per week. Reservations strongly recommended. Patio open in summer. Everything from 20+ pastas, to steak, seafood, chicken, veal, lamb, and vegetarian or gluten-free options. Extensive wine list. Lunches served Monday to Friday from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Below average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The surroundings and service were top notch but the food however could use some help. Both my wife and I had appetizers and pasta dishes, each was swimming in olive oil. I love olive oil but not to the point of having my food floating in it. Maybe have a word with the chef and you'll have a true winner here

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    113
    40
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I had the pleasure of dining at Giovanni's a couple of weeks ago with several friends. What a wonderful evening it was. Great food served by excellent servers. Giovanni himself was greeting his guests, new faces and old alike, with old world charm. The servers, always the front line in any restaurant, were attentive without being pushy, an art that many servers even in the best places, seem unable to master.

Thank you to all the staff at Giovanni's. I hope to return soon

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great meeting place for casual meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

we were there the other night they were quick to serve us and let us talk without interuptions. Not to forget the food came when we wanted letting us talk for a bit highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Qualicum Beach area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Best Italian and one of the best restaurants in the Qualicum Beach area. We have been here several times since it opened a few years ago and Giovanni's never fails to deliver. The owner opened the adjacent lounge more recently and finally there is a place to go for a cocktail and good food in downtown Qualicum Beach. In the main restaurant, we've never had a bad meal. It can be noisy, but it is part of the atmosphere, similar to family restaurants we have been to in Italy. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

It's been awhile since we visited Giovanni's for a meal but decided to go there for our anniversary dinner. The meal and service was absolutely first class and it's one of the best meals we've had out for quite some time. The 'Walnut & Gorgonzola' salad was just mouth watering. I had the Shrimp Provincial and my husband had the lamp shank and both were done to perfection.

I would, without hesitation, recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a good Italian dinner. We will be returning again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Ristorante & Lounge also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Giovanni's Ristorante & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Ristorante & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.