We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Boulevard Cartier, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 5Z3, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed one night on route to our destination. The hotel was easy to get to off the highway. There are a few restaurants and a gas station close by.
We stayed in the family suite on the 2nd floor. The room was clean and nice. It had 2 queen beds, and a bunk bed with a queen on the bottom and a single on the top. The bottom bed of the bunk beds was not all that comfortable. But for a 1 night stay it was nice.
Our only complaint of this hotel was that there seems to be very little sound proofing between the floors. We could hear the family above us bouncing around, talking and laughing. It wasn't so annoying during the day, but when we were trying to get out children to bed it was. It was also annoying hearing them walking around and laughing at 2am.
Other than that everything was great. Clean and well kept. Friendly staff. Breakfast was standard, nothing fancy.
Would recommend this hotel while passing through the area, but I'm not sure I would want to stay for a long time here if all of the rooms are not sound proofed well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We thank you very much for this nice comment. We always appreciate reading from our guests. We hope to welcome you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    41
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
25
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had to write this review even though it was July 2012 that we visited, on our way to PEI for our honeymoon. We often stay at either a Quality Inn or Comfort Inn and spend an average of 30 days a year in motels because of our family travel plans. This motel was twice the price of any other Quality Inn we have stayed at and was NOT up to the same standards we have come to expect. To even add insult to the high price, the two bottles of 25cent water sitting on the dresser had a hand printed sign that said : water $2.00". The breakfast was the worse of any we have had from the Choice hotel chain of motels, coffee and toast.

Room Tip: Skip this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We do appreciate that you are taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are very please to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was very happy with my stay in this hotel. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable and i slept well The only downside was that my room was a few doors down from the pool and hot tub area and the hallway had a heavy chlorine smell, however i could not smell chlorine in my room. A pleasant stay and will return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We do appreciate that you are taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are very please to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We decided to return to this hotel enroute to Halifax to see if things had improved since we were drastically disappointed with our stay in the spring (previous review submitted). I am happy to say we were pleasantly surprised. Upon checking in we were warmly welcomed by a very nice young man. Our room was very clean and adequate for the night. The bathroom appeared very clean except for a "dirty sock" smell and I tracked that down to be coming from the bottom of the shower curtain although the shower curtain certainly appeared very clean. We remember this smell from last time we stayed there and it is unpleasant. The breakfast was the usual chain type but area was clean. On the way back home, we returned for a one night stay. This time check in was unpleasant in that the male clerk on the desk acted like we were imposing and was most unfriendly. I don't believe he said two words to us. We asked to have a room away from the construction zone since on our previous stay we found our room noisy. He changed our room but never made a comment to us, again making us feel like this was an imposition. We had a phone call from Ontario and the caller had to hang up as the clerk told her he was on his cell phone and she should call back. This is a convenient hotel for us enroute, however, we may have a look at other hotels in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We do appreciate that you are taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are very please to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is situatiated on the outskirts of Riviere du Loup. It is only a short drive to downtown. It is right at an offramp of highway 20 making it easilt accessible. The indoor pool is really nice and the rooms are very comfortable. The clerk at the desk didn't seem like he wanted to be there and did not say hello, or thank you and just kept yawning like it was 2am..... (it was only 8pm). The breakfast was also very tasty.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the hallways have poor WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We do appreciate that you are taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are very please to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night on vacation. The rooms are very small consideriing the price, With a king bed in the room it was barely possible to move around.

The hotel is adjacent a construction site where the roadway has been converted to wooden planks. Needless to say each vehicle that passed over during the night could be heard.

The staff were friendly but I wonder about management. The flags on display out the front of the hotel had perfectlly respectfull US and Quebec flags but the Canadian flag was torn to shreds.

We did not experience the breakfast buffet and went to a true Canadian icon, Tim Horton's instead.

Room Tip: Keep driving to Edmunston NB
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We do appreciate that you are taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are very please to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice place to stay, very quiet and cleaned.
The room are very small
The tv was an old style.
No frig in the room
The exterior looked quite nice and I have no complaints with my stay. The staff were helpful

Room Tip: the third floors have less floor noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 61 Boulevard Cartier, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 5Z3, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Canada, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Riviere Du Loup, Quebec
Riviere Du Loup Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.