We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!! - talk about a "Room with a View!" Would definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Au Vieux Fanal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riviere du Loup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Au Vieux Fanal
Save
You added Motel Au Vieux Fanal to your Saves list
170 rue Fraser, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 1C8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“WOW!! - talk about a "Room with a View!" Would definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This motel is one of my favourite places I've ever stayed. The views of the St. Lawrence are AMAZING! And when they say Riviere-du-Loup has the "best sunsets in Canada", believe it. We watched the sun set below a stormy sky behind the mountains lining the St. Lawrence - all from the comfort of our room and our back patio!

The motel looks retro, but the rooms have been updated, and ours even had a flat screen TV. It was very comfortable, and very very clean.

I look forward to one day going back to Riviere-du-Loup. I will definitely stay at this Motel when I go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Skowhegan, Maine
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Once again we picked our place to stay based on TA reviews. Once again we were not disappointed. The owners speak good English which is always a bit of a relief when trying to book accomodations over the phone. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and found our room to be clean, spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the lovely views of the river from our room. We did not use the pool but it looked very inviting. The location is on the main route through town and a little ways from the charming center of town. However we walked across the road for dinner at Restaurant St Patrice which was excellent. We felt this motel was excellent value and would come back again if we are in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizane D, Propriétaire at Motel Au Vieux Fanal, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your appreciation and good comments.
Hope to see you again.
Yours truly,
Lizane (Motel au Vieux Fanal Riviere-du-loup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

On our trip to Ontario we stayed here for one night.
The personnel is very helpful, the rooms last equipped in the late 70's (?).
The view to the Gulf of St. Lawrence is awesome, the swimming-pool was a welcome and unexpected extra.
All-in all: good value for money
A tip: there is an excellent french/italian restaurant nearby (2 min. by foot down the road to the right).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Saint John, New Brunswick. We wanted to stop in Quebec but everything was booked and the places that still had rooms were charging $300/night!!! We drove on and asked two other places in Riviere du Loup (still full) then we found this motel!!! A really nice place!!! Clean, very friendly and reasonably priced!! Just perfect!! She recommended a little restaurant across the street in an old house and it too was great!! We will definitely stop here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were given the opportunity to look at 2 different rooms before deciding what would work best for us. Traveling with 2 kids, we opted for the one which had a separate bedroom although before we got there I was determined to have a room with a view.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, certainly not too recently updated, but well-maintained.
The property is large and lovely with a view of the St Lawrence. I LOVE the big double swings you see so often in Quebec and they had 5 or 6 of them scattered around the property. I spent an hour reading in one which is so relaxing.
The kids loved the pool which was quite warm. They have a lifeguard on duty which is great but it means very limited pool hours which was a big disappointment for the kids. No before-checkout swims here.
All in all, we would definitely consider staying here on our way through again!
I am rating the service very good because the people were so nice, but of course this is a motel, not a hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the river, I would definitely choose that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were 2 couples who stayed here on our way to NewBrunswick. We were travelling on Motorcycles. The owner was very friendly and even gave us cloths to dry off the Bikes. The rooms were meticulously clean, quaint with everything you need. We were really impressed!!
The heated Pool was spotless and 96f!!
The grounds are clean and the views are spectacular, beautiful sunsets!
Definately we will stay here again next year on our way to NewBrunswick!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I were traveling home to Ontario from New Brunswick and at the last minuted decided that we wanted to break our trip up into two days. We called Motel Au Vieux Fanal and made a reservation for the same day! The lady we spoke to spoke good english and was VERY friendly. We were also traveling with our dog, but this was not a problem.
We were put into a room that was close to the front office and this place was SPOTLESS!! I do not often feel comfortable in a hotel room, especially in the bathroom, but this place was SO clean that it felt as if I was in a friends home. We travel a lot and I have never seen a cleaner bathroom in a hotel/motel setting.
It may not look like much from the outside, the room was small, but it was all we needed and it was CLEAN.
The room was also very quiet and the bed was comfortable.
If you are traveling through Riviere Du Loop and need a place to stay, STAY HERE, we will!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel Au Vieux Fanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Au Vieux Fanal

Address: 170 rue Fraser, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 1C8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful spot with an exceptional view on the river. Most beautiful sunsets in the world. Excellent service. Free coffee in the morning. Heated pool. Many excellent restaurants nearby (walking distance). Near downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Au Vieux Fanal Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Au Vieux Fanal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.