We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel nLoupi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Loupi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel Loupi to your Saves list
Motel Loupi
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   50 rue de l'Ancrage, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R6B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Motel nLoupi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Motel Loupi on our way back from PEI September 16th. The motel is located very close to the water and is very easy to find off the highway. Luc is the owner and is very personable. Dogs are accepted and there are many places to walk one near the property. Rooms are spacious and clean and the room we stayed in looked like it was recently upgraded - Bathroom was fantastic. The night we were there we needed to turn on the heat and there were no issues with the heating unit and there was no sound of the fan - bonus! My impression of 'most' motels is 'cheap' but Motel Loupi is DEFINITELY not like other motels you see on the highway. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. The only reason I could not give it a 5/5 was because there was no restaurant on site or next door. There is a St. Hubert chicken take out less than 3 minutes by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello

thank you for the nice cooments , we were in the local newspaper about our rating in Tripadvisor and our No 1 spot , we thank all travelers who took the time to write to us or about us

thank you again

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    36
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
31
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were on a road trip this past July and once we reached Riviere de Loupe we had car trouble. We were towed to the town and had to stay overnight. We ended up staying at Motel Loupi for two nights while our car was being repaired. the owner mr Genereux was very kind , he even let us use his own personal car to get to town and pick up food and to check up on our car at the auto shop. The motel was very clean, comfortable, affordable, and had lovely grounds to walk or sit and relax. Out of a bad situation it ended up being a windfall to have encountered such a kind, compassionate man who made our stay memorable. I will be going back for a visit again in the near future, great place , great staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Owner at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Josephine

thank you for your kind words

it was a pleasure to transform your bad luck into a good experience

I hope you will come back some day

I hope you had a good vacation, please send my regards to your mate and companions

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabou, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for one night, Friday 6 September 2013. We had traveled from Nova Scotia that day, and used Trip Advisor to find a well-rated motel in Riviere-du-Loup. We booked online using bookings.com. We were trying to find a happy medium between being economical and not being a total dive. We definitely found it in this place. We arrived, the owner efficiently settled the bill and gave us our keys, with some instruction as to where to eat and walk, Property was lovely, but very very hilly - not a negative point, just a little surprise. Our room had a lovely view of the St. Lawrence, and of Riviere-du-Loup. The bathroom was spotless, and looked recently renovated, with an air-jet tub. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the room, the location, and the amenities (coffee, tv, refrigerator). Over all impression was of cleanliness and warmth. We slept well, and were on the road early the next day. Had a lovely hot shower, and no unhappiness staying here. Definitely a clean, economical place to sleep. Will recommend to anyone travelling through Riviere-du-Loup, and will stay here next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Erin

thank you for your nice comments , we sure try hard and work hard to make our little place by the river spotless as possible

Francine my wife is a devout cleaner and your comments show that her work has paid off

thank you for staying with us and we welcome you as our new adoptees
, welcome to the Loupi Club

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Kentucky
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I loved this place! We were on the road 3 weeks, and this was the only place that didn't require a credit card number in advance and yet my reservation was ready for me when I got there. Beautiful grounds including a great gazebo and several flower beds, as well as some interesting raised beds with vegetables growing. We had a spacious very clean room that included microwave, fridge, desk, rocking chair, plus another table with 2 chairs and great wifi reception., I was already sold on the place, but then I stepped out on the balcony. WOW! What a view!! I just wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
WOW

What a review you wrote , we surely hope that people will read your comments and believe us when we say we have a little place by the riuver and we take good care od it

your pictures are very good, congratulations

we hoep to see you again

regards

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Motel Loupi,
We were a party of 18 from ON who were travelling from Mississauga to Rivière du Loop in Quebec. We decided to stay a night in Riviere du Loop.
After some searching on the net I found Motel Loupi. I had corresponded with Mr. Luc Genereux, the owner. On the phone he came across as a very nice man, giving me info about the ferry, directions, etc.

We took the ferry from St Simeon and in little over an hour we reached Rivière du Loop. The motel is under 5 mins from the ferry. Very convenient needless to say.
When checking in, Luc went over the city map highlighting restaurants like St Hubert, Normandin, which were very close. Explained the town on the map highlighting down ton, the new areas, the shopping places etc. We had dinner at St hubert.
We booked 4 rooms with double beds and had one room with a double and a mattress. The rooms were decent size but the bathrooms were quite small. Since it was just a night we didn't bother with it. The property is just meters from the water. A quick walk takes you to a castle called Chateau du Noel which we visited. A shop, adjacent to it sold Christmas items. There is a large size glass gazebo on the property but there was a group of bikers using it and we were too afraid to ask them if we could use it... Lol. The kids really enjoyed riding the two bikes that Luc let us use. I think it was for the hotel guests. Luc was pretty visible all over the property and I believe he lived above the reception area.
This is a good property , located just minutes from the ferry and the rooms were reasonably priced but what made this property special was because of the care and effort put forth by its owners who really cared for their hotel.
Would we come back again? Yes. Would we recommend it to our friends and fellow travellers ? Most certainly.
Merci, Monsieur Luc !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello there

what a group that was, happy and smiling kids , playing around with family members

we thank you for your kind words and for your awareness of the hard work we put in our little place by the river.

We hope your fellows indo canadians friends will listen to you ans stop by next time thery are around here

hope to see you again

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A very nice motel with all the amenities that you would get in a hotel room. It was a nice size room with a balcony over looking the St. Lawrence River. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable for a good night's sleep. The staff were very nice and willing to help in any way possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello traveler

thank you for taking the time to spread the word about our little place by the river

we sincerely thank you for your comments

regards

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Totally satisfied with room and checkin. Friendly staff and firm mattress, clean room, basically all you need. Great seafood restaurant down the road at ferry dock. I would stay here again and explore the town when I had more time as it seems very pretty with lots of shops and restaurants.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello

We do parreciate that you take the time to send your comments to us and to all travelers

we try to offer a good product which is a good nite sleep in a beautiful environment

we hope that you liked it and thank you again

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel Loupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Loupi

Address: 50 rue de l'Ancrage, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R6B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Riviere du Loup
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Loupi 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Loupi is close to the exit 507 on Highway 20 and only 1 km from the ferry , we have 7 restaurants in a 1 km radius and a nice walking trail alongside the river.We offer 27 rooms and all rooms hace free wifi internet, tv , coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge, balcony or terrace, great view on the city , the river and the area is very quiet at night. free parking, free bicycles, gazebo , and game area for kids.Great stopover on your way to Gaspesie, Maritimes or Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel Loupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Loupi Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Loupi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.