We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Loupi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel Loupi to your Saves list
Motel Loupi
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   50 rue de l'Ancrage, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R6B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean & comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Totally satisfied with room and checkin. Friendly staff and firm mattress, clean room, basically all you need. Great seafood restaurant down the road at ferry dock. I would stay here again and explore the town when I had more time as it seems very pretty with lots of shops and restaurants.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello

We do parreciate that you take the time to send your comments to us and to all travelers

we try to offer a good product which is a good nite sleep in a beautiful environment

we hope that you liked it and thank you again

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
34
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here after a long drive from Nova Scotia. Our room was impeccably clean, which was very much appreciated because we have small children. The view of the river and the city is very nice as well. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for the nice compliment, francine my wife is happy to see that some of you realize that her hard work is noted by our guests,
We try our best to satisfy our customers/friends and she does put a lot of efforts in keeping our rooms as clean as possible

We thank you for taking the time to tell others travelers that we are a viable option when passing by Riviière-du-Loup

see you soon

regards

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We breezed through Riviere du Loup August 9. We had a late check-in (10 pm) and were up and on the road again by 7:30 am the next morning. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Updated bathroom. We'll definitely keep this location in our books for future trips. It's convenient to the highway as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your pictures , they complete our own sets of photos , they shaw a reality of our little place by the river

thank you for taking the time to post them ans we wish you well on your future trips

you are welcome here anytime

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night while travelling from Newfoundland to Ontario. We were looking forward to a quiet evening and a good nights rest after our long drive. Our meticulously clean room had a fantastic view over the water! It was very quiet and peaceful area. The grounds around the motel were beautiful and you can tell the owners put a lot of care into the motel and the gardens. The price was great and the owner even gave us a little wedding present when we checked in! Wonderful service all around. We would definitely return. Side note: We do not have children yet but this place would also be great for children as it has a playground area as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful column.

We certainly have the best customers and hopefully others will come with such praise for my wife,S cleanliness in her rooms

thanks again for your kind words

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed one night at motel Loupi and were pleasantly surprised. While it has the look of a motel on the outside, it was very clean and comfortable inside. I love the wooden floor and my daughter enjoyed the wifi and balcony that overlooks the river. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello

good to read your comments it is becoming like a newsletter to all our possible visitors

thank you for sharing your toughts on our little place by the river

We just redid all our locks and put new thermostats in all the rooms on the west side

improving a little by little

thanks for visiting

luc anad francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We drove by Rivière du Loup on our way to Moncton and vowed to come back to go whale watching on our way back to Ontario. Not only was Motel Loupi close enough to walk to the boat, we were actually able to stroll down to a very nice restaurant (recommended by the owner). We loved how our room felt cottage like, had beautiful laminate floors (no carpet! - nice) and had an amazing view of the river, the town (night lights) and, if on the balcony, the view of all the magnificent lights of the year round Christmas store 'Noel' and its castle. Thankfully, as the owner suggested, we did make reservations to both the restaurant and the whale watching boat. We did see a lot of disappointed people. Thank you! Oh...if going whale watching, we would recommend you make it for the morning trip as it is less congested.

Room Tip: River view side was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello

It is good to see our clients make us realize all the possibilities that surround us ,

the Government of Quebec just announces today the new status of natural reserve for iles aux lievres

we are blessed by the numerous comments of our new found friends from all over the world.

Thanks to you and to all for your support

keep on writing

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I usually don't go to motel if I can avoid it. That would have been a big mistake in that case since I could have missed the chance to visit the Loupi. The rooms are very clean, the owner is friendly and the view (from our room) is wonderful. Mr. Genereux gave us good advices (he directed us to a nice brewpub) and accepted to reserve a room for us without even taking our credit card. I call that exceptional service. He even lent us a plate for reheating our food. We were kind of surprised to see that there was no A/C in the room, but the night was chilly and we slept great.

Something that amazed me is how warm and welcoming the rooms are. They are very nicely renovated and made us feel great after a long day.

We definitely will visit again on our next trip to this wonderful region.

Room Tip: There is a part of the motel without a direct view on the St-Lawrence river. If you can, ask a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, they make our efforts worthwhile

We try our best to satisfy all our guests' needs and we are very pleased to see that you were satisfy with our attention to all details

regards and come again

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel Loupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Loupi

Address: 50 rue de l'Ancrage, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R6B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Loupi 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Loupi is close to the exit 507 on Highway 20 and only 1 km from the ferry , we have 7 restaurants in a 1 km radius and a nice walking trail alongside the river.We offer 27 rooms and all rooms hace free wifi internet, tv , coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge, balcony or terrace, great view on the city , the river and the area is very quiet at night. free parking, free bicycles, gazebo , and game area for kids.Great stopover on your way to Gaspesie, Maritimes or Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel Loupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Loupi Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Loupi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.