We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient and Friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Loupi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel Loupi to your Saves list
Motel Loupi
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   50 rue de l'Ancrage, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R6B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean, Convenient and Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

For those of you travelling from and to the Maritimes, Motel Loupi should be an ideal place to stay at. In total, I spent 4 nights there with my family members during Summer 2012, and all of us were happy 200%! (1) Very close to Trans-Canada but not on the highway; (2) Reasonably priced; (3) Clean and convenient rooms; (4) Good food nearby, including our favourite 'Normandin' restaurant; (5) Gorgeous panoramic view from the balcony; (6) Luc, the owner himself - he is so friendly, responsive and generous! Thank you Luc, dream to come again!!!

Room Tip: All rooms we stayed in were just Perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hello

thank you for your kind words, we just added a pergola and a glass wall to protect from the wind that we built and new decor Ikea based in the rooms ont the West side .


New trees and flowers this summer
We keep on improving to satisfy loyal customers like you

See you soon

Luc and Francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
32
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

On the way to and returning from the Maritimes, I spent two nights at Motel Loupi. The owner is very friendly and waited up until I arrived. The rates are very fair. My room had a balcony which looked out on to the water and the city. Room was clean (which is something very important to me) and quite comfortable. No complaints, and I would stay there again next time I'm in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After abandoning our luxury cruise liner in Charlottetown (the Cpt. decided to head back to Halifax and then NYC right into the wrath of Hurricane Sandy) we rented a car to drive across New Brunswick and eventually to Montreal for a flight home to California. Motel Loupi was well rated on Tripadvisor so we gave it a try. We had a warm welcome by the proprietor who updated us on Sandy. Room 22 was simple but had everything one could want, even free wifi, and was clean as a whistle. The heaters in the bedroom and bathroom worked very well and the bathroom appeared to be recently updated and, again, everything functioned perfectly. The location is right off of the freeway and this was a little gem of a place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, hope you had a good trip home Merry Xmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Average motel but very, very clean and had a great view. Very reasonably priced. Great service. Location is good too. Would highly reccomend to anyone staying in the area.
The only disadvantage is that it is not located too close to downtown, but that being said, offers great scenery. Stayed there two nights. It would have been nice if we would have gotten fresh towels but that didnt seem to be an option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments , we tried to change the towels but we did not want to disturb you during your stay
I swear we tried to change the towels

thank you for the comments anyway, see you soon

regards

Luc and Francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've been driving between Ontario and Nova Scotia for over 20 years more often than not in the last few years taking the quieter more scenic Route 138 East from Montreal to Saint Simeon then taking the ferry across the St Lawrence {a great little cruise} to Riviere du Loup staying overnight in town {a pretty little town} before driving 12 hours onwards to Halifax.

I've stayed in the Quality Inn, Days Inn and the Comfort Inn, never had a problem or a concern with any of them but after staying time and time again I thought it was time for a change.

I had must have driven past the Motel Loupi dozens of times and seeing the giant Yogi Bear stood outside the place I just figured it was a kids/family {possibly noisy} sort of place, so I never stayed there, but reading the reports on Tripadvisor I thought it would be worth taking a look at on my next trip to Ontario, glad that I did.

On arriving we were met by the owner Luc, a real nice guy who let us check the rooms out without any obligation. The rooms were modern, clean, {for that think spotless} and bright, add to that they have a great view over the St Lawrence and the neighboring towns, and you are within easy walking distance of the ferry or a walk into town with lots of decent cafe's and restaurants to go at.

Riviere du Loup is a little gem of a place, well worth staying over if you are doing the Ontario to the Maritimes run.

We found that the wifi worked for us, no problem at all, and all in all it was a real pleasure to have stayed at Luc's place, we left feeling good that we had supported a family run Motel where their pride of ownership is obvious.

If your traveling with children then this is the only place to stay, {it isn't noisy} but if you are a couple or traveling alone on business or just to get from A to B then put this at the top of you place to stay in Riviere du Loup, Luc won't mind you checking it out before you book in.

Maybe I should mention that Motel Loupi is $20 to $40 less than the other places that we have stayed at, that will get you a decent meal in Riviere du Loup.

Forget Route 20 try Route 138, drop by St Anne de Beaupre and/or the Canyon Sainte Anne, a couple of places that make Route 138 "the way to go", not to mention seeing the beluga whales during the 90 minute ferry ride across the St Lawrence Seaway.

Canada Bob.

Room Tip: Speak to Luc, ask him to show you the rooms, he'll be only too please to show you around, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc_genereux, Propriétaire at Motel Loupi, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Than kyou for staying with us , we love people who are willing something new

thanks again

luc and francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is at a nice place looking down to the river and with a nice short walk to St. Laurent. Owner is helpful, picked me up from bus and down to train station, rooms are clean and beds good. I had a nice stay here and can fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have been traveling from Ontario to the Gaspe quite a bit with our usual stopover in Rivière -du-Loup. This is the first time we stayed at Motel Loupi and were extremely happy we did. The room was a good size, very clean and the bathroom brand new. We loved that the hotel had hardwood floors (so much cleaner than carpet!) and patio doors onto the balcony which overlooked the water. This was such a nice change from the usual Comfort Inn and Quality Inn. We will definitely stay here on our next trips.
D.Smith
Ottawa

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel Loupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Loupi

Address: 50 rue de l'Ancrage, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R6B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Riviere du Loup
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
#2 Business Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Loupi 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Loupi is close to the exit 507 on Highway 20 and only 1 km from the ferry , we have 7 restaurants in a 1 km radius and a nice walking trail alongside the river.We offer 27 rooms and all rooms hace free wifi internet, tv , coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge, balcony or terrace, great view on the city , the river and the area is very quiet at night. free parking, free bicycles, gazebo , and game area for kids.Great stopover on your way to Gaspesie, Maritimes or Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel Loupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Loupi Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Loupi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.