We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Comfort Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 boul. Cartier, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 4X4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not the best Comfort Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed a couple of days at Rivière-Du-Loup's Comfort inn for a business trip. As much as I loved the city, I could not say the same about their Comfort Inn.
The location of the hotel was fine with my work location. Not the best place in the city for travellers who want to discover this great region, but being my place to stay strictly for business purposes, I had no complaint.

The staff was ok too, nothing to write home about, but no complaint either. I guess I could have used a couple of smiles.

I was in a 125$/night room, (a little on the expensive side considering what I had) with a king bed, non smoking. I believe that by Non smoking, they mean that you can't smoke, but it doesnt mean that it won't smell other people's smoke. There were moments that the smell was very bad, especially in the morning and around 5PM, I guess when people wake up and come back from work.

The room was not the cleanest one I've had either.

Obviously, when you stay at a Comfort Inn, you do not expect a 5 star hotel room. I wasn't, as I'm used to stay in these type of hotels, but I gotta say that this one was a little sub par.

The mattress was very old and I had a hard time sleeping in the middle as I was constantly rolling on one side. It was either time to switch it over, or to simply replace it with a brand new one!

As other reviewers have already said, it is OK. Nothing more. If you've got nowhere else to go, it'll be alright, but if you do, I'd try them first if I were you. It will probably be better, and probably cheaper as well.

On a last note, I do not understand why hotels take the time to leave little notes saying that they do care about the environment and that they won't wash your towels unless you put them on the floor since, it doesn't matter what you do, they will change them all anyways. The one place they didn't need to be so clean, well, they were.

I do not think I will be back, unless I have no other choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We do read all the comments as it is the only way to improve ourselves. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
29
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stopped here overnight en route to Ontario from New Brunswick. The map is a little deceptive... although it appears that the hotel is right off the highway, we had to follow a circuitous route through town to access it from the east. Staff were pleasant enough. The room was average. Good choices for breakfast. There is a St. Hubert restaurant across the highway that you can walk to - friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We do read all the comments as it is the only way to improve ourselves. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stopped here for a night on our way into Ontario from New Brunswick. The location was very handy, right off the highway which made it easy to resume our travels the next morning. However, we were not impressed with the cleanliness of the beds or of the breakfast. Hairs were found in the bed linen, and the breakfast was basic, and the pitcher of milk had gone bad. It wasn't a bad spot to rest our heads, but won't be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We do read all the comments as it is the only way to improve ourselves. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'll keep it brief.....I stayed here on the the 1st of Nov 2012. The night shift front desk employee made no secret he was drinking a Sleeman beer upon my check-in, which I assume came from the Sleeman beer vending machine nearby.
The morning employee responsible for cleaning up the continental breakfast area paced back and forth in an effort to hurry me and the other guests along prior to the 9:30am closing. She then proceeded to actually turn off the tv and the toaster before shutting the curtains while guests were still eating within the alloted time allowed for breakfast.
So, to sum it up..... inconsiderate staff but clean enough room.
No elevator.

Room Tip: 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are shock to read them but we do however appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know of your experience. Please rest assure that this, is in no way representative of the kind of service and behaviour we endorse at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup. We would truly appreciate if we could discuss this further. Please feel free to call me directly. Guylaine Desrosiers, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Large room, very clean, lots of pillows, flat screen TV, nice welcome followed by phone call to make sure everything in the room was OK. Both english and french newspapers available. Space for breakfast a little tight with only three tables very close to the food tables.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We thank you very much for this nice comment. We always appreciate reading from our guests. We hope to welcome you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is very good located. Friendly stuff, clean room and bathroom, free parking and wifi. The only con is breakfast - it seem it is the same as in other comfort inn hotels in this area - as a breakfast are served biscuits and coffee in a room as "big" as common hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We thank you very much for this nice comment. We always appreciate reading from our guests. We hope to welcome you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reserve Mines Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on sept 15/12. Hotel was fairly ray to locate. Check-in was quite easy. Being a French speaking town, the young man on the desk spoke fluent English. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. There isn't a restaurant on site but there is a good restaurant next to it and one across the street. We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guylaine D, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We thank you very much for this nice comment. We always appreciate reading from our guests. We hope to welcome you again at the Comfort Inn Rivière-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup

Address: 85 boul. Cartier, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 4X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup is located off Highway 20, exit 507. One hour away to Edmundston, New Brunswick and 1H15 to the state of Maine. Ferry to St-Simeon/Riviere-du-Loup located less then 5 minutes drive operating from April until January 2. Whale watching cruise boat between June to September is less then 5 minutes driving. At the Comfort Inn we offer free wireless internet, free local calls, free parking, FREE Full Hot breakfast. All rooms are equipped with 32in LCD television. Rooms on the 1st floor have a patio door with direct access to the parking. Rooms on the second floor have a window that opens. Your pet is welcome in designated rooms, for a small fee. There is no elevator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Riviere-Du-Loup Riviere Du Loup, Quebec
Riviere Du Loup Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Riviere-du-Loup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.