We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Universel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Universel to your Saves list
Hotel Universel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard de l'Hotel-De-Ville | 311, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 5S4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Riviere du Loup
Etobicoke
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here on the way to the east coast. Staff were polite. It is easy to find off the highway. We had a room with teo double beds. The only real complaint I had was that the washrooom area was very small and with a low ceiling. The shower temperature was extremely difficult to control and was not very responsive. Water prrssure was weaker. A word of caution if you are from the city, food is a hassle to get later at night in this town, but the hotel quickly recommended a place for us

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate finding out what are our strong and weak points from your point of view. This is exactly the kind of comment we need to meet the expectations of the guests needs each stay. It is true that our location near by the highway provides a quick access to our hotel. Once again. thank you for your valuable comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    61
    32
    17
    4
See reviews for
52
45
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

For anyone who has every done the central Canada to maritimes dash, this is an ideal overnight spot. An eclectic décor, a cozy resto bar and decent enough rooms (some with hot tubs), this hotel has a nice pool, welcoming lobby and free parking. The price isn't bad and over the years has become a mainstay for our family as we trek across Canada. Riviere du Loup is a charming town off the beaten path and the hotel itself is centrally located off the main highway and has some of the staple restaurants, pharmacies and other amenities one would expect. A real treat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. We are certain your fellow travellers will appreciate it. Our perfect location near by the highway and the heart of Riviere-du-Loup, the great services provided from every employee and the comfort of our rooms make the Hotel Universel of Riviere-du-Loup the place to stay. We want to thank you for your loyalty at the Hotel Universel Riviere-du-Loup and hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hotel quite pleasant, but no tea bags, only coffee, and no refrigerator in our room, although web site advertises them in all rooms. Front Office staff were very helpful, and pool area is nice. Overall, would recommend this hotel for the price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank your for your comment. It is true that there is refrigerator, microwave and coffee-maker in each room as mentioned on our WebSite. Actually, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will recommend our hotel to others readers of Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was in town for a performance so I only stopped in for one night. Front desk staff was super friendly and didn't mind speaking English to me because I'm not fluent even though my group is mostly Francophones. Room was clean and had a Samsung flatscreen, wasn't expecting that. I saw there was an outside heated pool but I believe it was only available for extra cost to the spa. And also want to say the audience to our show that night was just delightful, too bad I didn't get to explore it a little further.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We would like to take the time to thank you for reviewing your last stay at the Hotel Universel of Riviere-du-Loup. We are pleased when guests share their experience and opinions on our hotel.
It is so gratifying to learn that we met your expectations.

We hope to see you again the next time you pass through Riviere-du-Loup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here one night, on our way from NB. We had a wonderful, clean room, great dinner and breakfast. We found the staff polite and welcoming, if mildly amused by our stilted, high school French (which wasn't required, but makes us feel good!). We would definitely stay there each road trip between Ontario and NB.

Room Tip: It's worth it to get the Jacuzzi after a long road trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for the information you provided regarding your last visit with us. These comments will help us to maintain and excel in customer service. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay. We hope to have the chance to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited the hotel Universel in august. We got a reasonable discount from our hotel reservation site. Our first impression was horrible. The room was smelly (dirty carpet smell) and we found a dirty shower cap in the washroom on top of an empty tissue box (the only one in our room so, yeah, no tissue in the room). So long for a first impression. We slept ok, but the A/C was hard to control even by raising the temperature. The wind was blown directly on us, which was very not comfortable. If I didn't meet the staff the next day, I would have given a very bad review.

But the day after, we got help from the staff for an issue we had (that was not related to the hotel) and they were very nice, attentive to our needs and polite. Needless to say that service plays a role in client satisfaction. Therefore, I will blame room service for my bad room and will probably try the hotel again when I go back just to confirm I was simply unlucky during my last stay

Room Tip: Inspect the room. If it's not clean, ask for getting another one. I would have done so if I kne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We want to thank you on behalf of the Hotel Universel Riviere-du-Loup staff for taking the time to give the Trip Advisor readers and us some feedback on your stay. Your comments are very valuable to us and will allow us to improve every aspect of the establishement. We also want to apologiz for not delivering our promise of exceeding all your guest expectations on this past stay. We are definitely better than what you saw and you can rest assured that we do our outmost to deliver a better experience next time. We hope you will give us another chance and come back to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had booked an overnight on our way from Toronto to Cape Breton. About 40 minutes from Rivière du Loup, our tire blew and we crawled the rest of the way to the hotel on the small spare. The Canadian Tire was just 5 minutes from the hotel but it was Sunday and they didn't have a mechanic working. When we went back to the front desk to see if our room was available for the night or if they knew of another tire place that might be open, they went above and beyond to help. They found a tire store and spoke with them on our behalf. The store found a tire but they weren't sure when it would be ready but the front desk clerk said not to worry, we could stay and wait. Given we were travelling with energetic kids (5 & 6), this was a big relief.

The hotel itself is clean and quiet, the rooms are nicely appointed and the pool is nice too. We've stayed other places in town on our way through but have never stayed anywhere else more than once. We'd definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna_lortie, Owner at Hotel Universel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We would like to take the time to thank your for reviewing the Hotel Universel Riviere-du-Loup. We are pleased when people share their experiences and opinions on our last stay with us. Our greatest pride and primary goal is to always have the best of our entire team to meet and exceed the customer expectations. We hope to have to see you again the next time you pass through Riviere-du-Loup. Thanks again for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Universel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel

Address: Boulevard de l'Hotel-De-Ville | 311, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 5S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Riviere du Loup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Riviere du Loup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Universel Riviere-du-Loup Hotel Universel in Riviere-du-Loup is pleased to welcome you to its brand-new, 220-room hotel in Riviere-du-Loup including 51 newly-built units. Hotel Universel offers a complete range of services specially designed to accommodate all the needs of its clientele, both business and tourist. Hotel Universel is your choice hotel in Riviere-du-Loup. We pride ourselves in being able to meet the expectations of all types of travelers with our variety of services and amenities, which is unique for a hotel in Riviere-du-Loup. Our extensive facilities include a state-of-the-art convention centre equipped with the latest in high-tech equipment; our excellent team of experienced lodging and food service professionals will ensure that your activities are an unqualified success. Our team at our hotel in Riviere-du-Loup is at your disposal to accompany you and advise you in organizing your wedding or your business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Universel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universel Hotel Riviere Du Loup
Hotel Universel Riviere Du Loup, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Universel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.