We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chocolate cake in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe L'Innocent

Cafe L'Innocent
460 rue Lafontaine, Riviere du Loup, Quebec G5R 3C2, Canada
+1 418-862-1937
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Options vege et vegan
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best chocolate cake in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

If you travel to Riviere du Loup, you must go to Cafe L'Innocent. The food is absolutely stellar. We had the crepes with ham and cheese, along a local lamb fried rice. These dishes were delicious, augmented with unique beer from the Iles de la Madeline. We finished our meal with a slice of the most incredible chocolate cake in the world. After the first bite I declared "cake is dead to me now!" It's that good. The chef will reveal its secret ingredients if you have a chat. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    30
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highlight of the visit to RDL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Enjoyed a delicious meal of crêpes and salad after a small complimentary appetiser. The service was excellent and the servers were easy to speak with in English and patient with broken French. The local craft brew was a great addition to the meal. Would return again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Smile with food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stopped into this café to use the WIFI and ended up ordering lunch. The menu has a choice of crêpes, fried rice dishes, salads and soups and sandwiches. They also have beer and wine.
The helpings are large and the flavours original. The cooking in this relaxed 70s inspired café is original and doesn't fall into a single category. I had a warm salad of grilled vegetables with curried tofu and cashews. My husband had a salmon crêpe which came with vegetables and salad. Healthy, tasty food. The service was friendly and attentive. The decor is "artsy-bohemian".

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Totally charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were pining for Quebec City, after which everywhere seems a bit bush league. But Cafe L'Innocent made us re-evaluate Riviere du Loup. Quirky decor, friendly service and tasty, imaginative dishes combined to provide one of the best meals in recent memory, at a very reasonable price. I had the lamb, cumin and cheese crepe - wonderful combination. The soup - a cumin heavy vegetable - was perfect after a long, long day on the St. Lawrence looking for the elusive great whales. The cheesecake was delicious and the wine list excellent value.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lamb to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We just happened by chance upon this quirky little spot. The lamb wrap was wonderful. I would very highly recommend it.
The pulled pork was also good.
Do not let the exterior or small size keep you away from this little gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe L'Innocent also viewed

Riviere du Loup, Quebec
 
Riviere du Loup, Quebec
Riviere du Loup, Quebec
 

Been to Cafe L'Innocent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe L'Innocent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.