We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in the area for fish & chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LaVerne's Grill

LaVerne's Grill
4326 Garden Bay Road, Garden Bay, British Columbia, Canada
604-883-1333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Garden Bay
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner, Fast Food, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: We are at the end of Garden Bay Rd. With a stunning view of the enterance of Pender Harbour. We are surrounded by water from the ocean and one minute from Garden Bay lake.
Madeira Park, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Place in the area for fish & chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Friendly service, great food and beautiful spot. Really the best place in the area for fish & chips!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    22
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff....Great fish and chips....Cool little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The food is great, with a friendly, welcoming staff. The fish (local ling cod) and chips are superb and the burgers aren't bad either.....top it all off with ice cream for desert.
A must stop on the Sunshine Coast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great fresh lightly battered fish and chips (opted for crinkled yam fries - yum). Best chocolate old fashioned milkshake too. Awesome! Great service and lovely little seaside café. Must do experience while in Pender Harbour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LaVerne's is a staple for my family!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Coming from Alberta to visit at least once a year , eating at LaVerne's Grill is always at the top of our list. We've never been disappointed. We are always greeted with a friendly smile from LaVerne and her staff. The fish is amazing and my kids think she makes the "Best hot dogs in the World!!!" One visit is never enough and you are guaranteed to leave there "Happy Happy Happy"

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVerne E, Owner at LaVerne's Grill, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so.....much for your review. I look forward to your next visit from Alberta. We will keep up the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips on the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The best fish and chips on the Sunshine Coast. LaVerne cooks it herself, she uses local Ling cod. Just a little, old diner style in Garden Bay, follow the signs off the highway. Don't miss this place if you're going by!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaVerne's Grill also viewed

Madeira Park, Sunshine Coast
Madeira Park, Sunshine Coast
 
Madeira Park, Sunshine Coast
Madeira Park, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to LaVerne's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaVerne's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.