We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Last Minute Opportunity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rossmount Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rossmount Inn to your Saves list
Rossmount Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4599 Route 127, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 2Z3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Cumberland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lucky Last Minute Opportunity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were lucky to get accommodations at the last minute as the major hotel of St Andrew's was closed for renovations. We spent a lovely evening in room 30. It has a great view of the bay from the third floor. The antiques were lovely and the room size pleasant although not large. We enjoys cocktails on the wide front porch watching hummingbirds come and go. The price for a waterview room was perfectly reasonable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I found room 30 to be perfect. It is not however handicapped accessible at all(3rd floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    48
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
126
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. John, Virgin Islands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely dinner in the "lounge bar" (much more cozy than dining room). Nice little hike up the hill behind the inn, before very good breakfast.
Otherwise the inn is not that special & located outside of the charming town of St. Andrews, which is where we would have rather stayed, by the sea.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped here for a couple of nights whilst touring around Easter Canada. The building is a large old house on a hill. It doesn't have a lift and so dragging a couple of heavy bags up a large flight of steps just to get to the front door and then a load more stairs (the ceilings are quite high) to get to a room on the 2nd floor was a bit hard going and is the main reason I have only given it 4 out of 5.

Staff were very helpful and breakfast was excellent. The walk up to the top of the hill behind the hotel (on land they own) is worth the effort as there are some great views from the top and a chance of encountering wildlife along the way.

Car parking is a little restricted and we had to park on the grass a couple of times. OK but if it gets wet might be a problem. It is quite a way out of St Andrews but what you lose in convenience for shops and restaurants you gain in peace and a good view.

Has a very good swimming pool and deck area to the side of the hotel.

I would recommend the hotel - but don't pack too much into your suitcase.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

A delightful, historic inn, lovingly maintained. The restaurant was extraordinary. (Thankfully, they managed to accommodate us despite our having forgotten about the time change the day of our arrival; we were very fortunate that it wasn't on the weekend. Advance dinner reservations are a wise choice.). Our room was not expensive; while simple, it was tasteful, immaculate, and had extremely comfortable beds. The small salt-water pool was also a treat. Service excellent! Wish we'd planned a longer stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our son and daughter-in-law chose the Rossmount Inn for their wedding reception, and they could not have chosen a more perfectly beautiful location. The first view of the 100 year old building up the long hillside lawn is impressive, and the lobby is beautiful. The grounds include a lovely pool with very nice patio furnishings. Behind the inn is the vegetable garden where they grow the fresh produce for their wonderful restaurant, and there are live lobsters on site. There are antiques everywhere, including, in the well-stocked bar, a piano reputed to have been built for Kaiser Wilhelm. The rooms are lovely, and even have central AC, and the quiet rural location is really conducive to a good sleep. We had a spectacular view of the harbour from the second floor. The four course dinner at the reception was outstanding, and the dining room beautiful. Everyone enjoyed the pool afterwards, on a hot summer evening. In my opinion this inn really should be rated as 4.5 stars..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Rossmount for four days and had a great time. The food was delicious, the staff were all very friendly and willing to help in any way they could and the building and rooms themselves were lovely. I spent a day sitting by the pool, which was absolutely delightful. As mentioned by other reviewers, a car is required to get into town for anything you may need.

The wedding we attended at the Rossmount was very well done, and the staff again did a great job of making the place look great and attending to all of the wedding guests. If we come back to this part of Canada again, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Rossmount for two nights, holding our wedding reception there. It surpassed our expectations. The inn is a well-maintained 19th century manor house, beautifully located at the base of Chamcook Mountain, just outside of Saint Andrews. The lovely Passamaquoddy Bay was visible from our room window. Owners Chris and Graziella were unfailingly professional, efficient and gracious in all of our interactions. The restaurant at the hotel is a highlight, serving local, gourmet cuisine. It is undoubtedly the best place to eat in Saint Andrews, if not New Brunswick as a whole, so do yourself a favour and make reservations to dine there during your stay. The Rossmount Inn is long on charm, atmosphere, and quality--those looking for stuffy formality and decadent luxury should look elsewhere. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rossmount Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmount Inn

Address: 4599 Route 127, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 2Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rossmount Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Rossmount Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossmount Hotel Saint Andrews
Rossmount Inn Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossmount Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.