We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transcendant Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rossmount Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rossmount Inn to your Saves list
Rossmount Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4599 Route 127, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 2Z3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Transcendant Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just had dinner at the Rossmount Inn,

Warm staff, perfect food!
Had the Salmon tartar for starters with a nice Merlot. Wanted to hug the chef afterwards, absolutely exploded in my mouth!
Chicken breast + rosti potatoes afterwards which pushed my palette into delirium.

Artistic servings all around. Couldn't have had a lovelier dinner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    48
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
124
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I have eaten here 3 times in the last 2 years and we absolutely love it. The restaurant is in direct competition with 4 diamond restaurants we have enjoyed in NB. The best of all was the night we had the tasting/wine pairing menu. We felt like absolute royalty as we tried delicious mini-meals accompanied with the perfect pairing wines. Everything was absolutely scrumptious, we even tried Elk and it was amazing.

We did stay at the hotel on our first trip and the rooms were on the second floor. This was a very noisy room because it was above the main dining room. The history and the beauty of the place is enchanting and makes you want to hear the history and the tale. All in all, it was a comfortable stay, and the next morning we were offered fresh muesli and yogurt with berries and we were desperate to have the recipe for the muesli (spelling?)....yummmmmmmm.

We climed Mount Rossmount and once we got at the top it really was humbling to see all of the names and dates carved in the natural rocks. Really people, take a minute and look around. You can see the ocean from the top, not to mention the nature of being in it/on it. The history of the house, the piano in the bar/lounge, the staircase, and the eccentric people who own it. So worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor, if you are okay with stairs. It will be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Falmouth, Ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This might be the best restaurant I have eaten in in my 62 years on the planet. The rooms are pleasant and comfortable; we had a rainy day there and did not feel trapped. The stairs could be daunting to folks with mobility issues. Staff was friendly and helpful. St. Andrews may be more fun in the sun than in the rain but even on a wet day walking downtown was enjoyable. I missed the mountain walk, to my regret, but will do it when I go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed the last weekend of October and it was beautiful! The rooms are cozy and the house is full of amazing pieces and architecture. There are walking trails on the property, two are forest walks and the other takes you to the top of mountain behind the property (About 30 min walk up, easy) overlooking St. Andrews. What really stole the show was the food. The chefs are amazing, and the staff is friendly. If you want to have dinner you MUST make a reservation in advance (when you book). Only a 5 mins drive to water st.

Room Tip: Ocean view if you can get it. Room 36 has a view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely visit at the Rossmount Inn. Great restaurant with exquisite menu. Kids' friendly. Even though its not directly on the water, surrounding scenes were beautiful. Minutes to downtown St. Andrews.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I visited this property specifically for the restaurant two years ago, and we fell in love with the food. We knew that we would be doing a Maritime road trip for our honeymoon and we decided to go through Saint Andrews so that we could once again enjoy the food of Rossmount Inn. We arrived right before dinner on the evening of our check-in and we were aware that there would be a tasting menu offered that evening, so we jumped in and decided we would also participate in this tasting. What we did not know was that there was a food festival occurring in the area and that this tasting would also be a part of this festival. The menu consisted of a seven course menu and we thoroughly enjoyed the uniqueness and display of every dish. I will admit that both my husband and I would have preferred having a "regular" dinner menu that evening, given that we had driven for over eight hours and we knew how fabulous our previous meals had been; nonetheless, this was without doubt our most interesting meal of our honeymoon.

The Inn itself is a lovely property, with antiques throughout. Despite having two double-beds on our honeymoon (as it was the only room available), we had a fairly comfortable sleep. My biggest concern for traveling younger (or young at heart) couples is that the walls are simply paper-thin. We could hear a significant amount of noise coming through the door, and through the ceiling, which was slightly distracting. There was also a bit of a funny odour coming from the heater/fan; however fortunately the heater worked very well.

To be truthful, other than for the restaurant, we would not stay at this property again - this is more of a personal preference than anything wrong with the Inn itself. The restaurant is simply special and we would highly recommend the Inn for this reason.

Room Tip: You may want to be cognizant of where the room is located in the Inn - our room was close to the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent four nights at the hotel which was completely full. Rooms are very comfortable and simple. You have to book the restaurant in advance but it is well worth doing - the food and service were excellent.

One recommendation - for guests who cannot predict arrival time, it would be good if they could be offered sandwiches or something. We arrived after a 8 hour drive to be advised the restaurant and bar were full and the only way to eat was to go out and drive into town.

Room Tip: no lift so if you have lots of luggage ask for ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rossmount Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmount Inn

Address: 4599 Route 127, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 2Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rossmount Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Rossmount Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossmount Hotel Saint Andrews
Rossmount Inn Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossmount Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.