We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Montague Rose B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Montague Rose B&B
Save
You added The Montague Rose B&B to your Saves list
258 Montague Street, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1J4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Saint Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portage la Prairie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“terrific hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location - great breakfast - great hosts - definitely would stay there again. Loved the sitting area upstairs and downstairs - even got to enjoy outdoor patio. Different and scrumptious breakfast served daily.

Room Tip: Next time would probably choose larger corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
108
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Montague Rose B & B is located just two blocks from St. Andrew's waterfront and town center. Free on-site parking. It's in a beautiful historic house, each room is individually decorated, and there is a lovely living room and another small sitting area available to guests. The owners are gracious and thoughtful - and terrific breakfast cooks! We had delicious eggs benedict one morning, freshly made Belgian waffles the second day. We loved this place!

Room Tip: No air conditioning. The room started off warm but cooled down overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a night at the beginning and end of our vacation to NB and Nova Scotia. Rose and Joe are terrific hosts! Room was lovely and most comfortable and even our dog was welcome and treated kindly. Would not hesitate to stay again and recommend to anyone visiting the area. Actually, already planning a return visit this winter. Love St. Andrews!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Montague Rose is located in the perfect spot for seeing St. Andrew - close to the main street and surrounded by charming homes.
The hosts were friendly and warm. Our room under normal conditions would be a wonderful place to rest your head after your tour of St. Andrew.
A word of caution about staying on an extremely warm day.
The weather during our one night stay was about 32 degrees celsius, unusual for St. Andrew, and the room was very warm when we checked in mid- afternoon but we were assured that it would cool down in the evening. There was a portable fan in the room.
Hot air rises and when we got back to our second floor room after dinner it was even warmer. The fan was only moving the hot air from one side of the room to the other. It was very uncomfortable.
Again, this was unusual weather for the area. Under normal circumstances the Montague Rose would be a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After staying at other accommadations in Saint Andrews over the years this is the second time I have stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Roseanne and Joe are great hosts and the breakfast was astounding. Quiet area, close to the main street and attractions. Take a walk around the neighbourhood and view the gorgeous old houses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We loved this B & B. The in-room amenities were on par with a luxury hotel. Our room, "Pinner", was a corner room with large windows. It was beautifully appointed -- the internet photo does not do it justice. The bathroom was clean and spacious, and boasted a jacuzzi bath and free-standing sink. The breakfasts were beautifully served and delicious. We have been to St. Andrews before, but will likely visit more frequently now that we've found this gem of a B & B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for a night on our way to PEI & Nova Scotia and found the Montague Rose the perfect place to stay in St. Andrews. Joe, our host, was welcoming and the lodging was very clean, very comfortable while being in keeping with the era epitomized by the inn and other surrounding homes. Just the way you would like the experience to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Montague Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague Rose B&B

Address: 258 Montague Street, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Montague Rose B&B Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montague Rose B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.