We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savour in the Garden

Savour in the Garden
220 King St Saint Andrews NB | Kingsbrae Garden, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada
506-529-4055
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Maine, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

OK, I confess it... I'm a foodie! I made a reservation because of TripAdvisor's positive reviews... but truly, I hoping for the best!
One of my all-time favorite restaurants is in Rockland, ME... Primo's. They deservedly win award after award but I have to say this little restaurant matched every meal I have ever had at Primos and with it's own special charm. Kudos to Jenny, the owners wife... she was greeter and server and so warm, friendly, attentive and friendly!
I simply can't stop raving about this place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, NB
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was my second visit - and with 15 guests who had sophisticated palates for the most part. There were steady raves throughout the meal, and a standing ovation when the chef came out to greet us all after three and a half hours. "Memorable" is an understatement!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best meal of our lives---really.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

A group of us went here last night. All of us are seasoned world travelers and have eaten in almost every country on earth. This meal was TRULY the best. The owners greeted us to their restaurant (and home). They told us that the meal would last 3 hours. They did not mean would would be sitting a round for 3 hours, they meant THE MEAL. Over the next 3 hours, with no breaks, 10 courses were brought out. Everything from tuna tatrtare to broccoli cappuccino (no, not with coffee) to a desert highlighted with 14K gold covered chocolate. We live in the USA, and my wife wants to come all the way back for her birthday dinner!! Each bite of food dances on your tongue, and your taste buds go into near ecstasy. Chef Alex Haun is an award winning chef, and proves it. His wife is the most amazing women who presents each dish and gives the story of the ingredients, including the farms where the food is purchased from.
This is a DO NOT MISS.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Where fantastic food is a true art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My 3rd visit in 3 years and never disappointed. Local foods prepared and presented in ways rarely seen in the Maritimes. Savour is a dining experience very near the St. Andrews resort area, that among its' other excellent restaurants, this one offers something very different. If you want something different - presentation, novelty, attention from hostess AND the Chef and flavors that satisfy this is the place. You will need reservations. Wine selection is Canadian only - and that's not a bad thing!! Visit their website for more background. This review is about sharing an experience worth sharing. We had the 3 tasting meal - which when all said and done there were two extra 'tastings' to transition to next course or perhaps to keep one a little excited. A little port was another surprise! A little truffle chocolate to close the evening. If you like to experiment with dining experiences this has to be a location on your list!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Savour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We recently came back from ST. Andrews and was so pleased that we were able to get into Savour and sit at the chef's table. We found the restaurant very charming. It is very small so reservations are a must. If you like to see behind the scenes ask to sit at the chef's table in the kitchen. You are in for a treat. Chef Alex will entertain you with his charm and to see this young chef do his magic in the kitchen is amazing. Your tastebuds will stand at attention as each small plate is prestented. Your eyes are treated to very special little works of art, so beautifully and creatively presented. If you are looking for an incredible dining experience look no farther than Savour. You will be so glad you did. We can't wait to go back we had such a great evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savour in the Garden also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 
Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 

Been to Savour in the Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savour in the Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.