We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to find german food this good in germany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bauernhaus

The Old Bauernhaus
280 Norton Ave, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 1X9, Canada
(250) 427-5133
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Kimberley
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“hard to find german food this good in germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

it was simply fantastic food. They were very busy and sometimes we had to wait a bit, but the service was efficient and professional,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    34
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good German fare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

First impressions are nice ambiance and decor. Service was average and food was hot and flavorful. I definitely suggest getting an appetizer as the meal wait is significant (45mins+). We had the cheese fondue to start and it was great. My wife and I each had a different style of schnitzel and they were tasty and tender with perfectly cooked vegetables. We were too full for dessert but the temptation was there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It is usually good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our past experiences with The Bauernhaus have been very good. However, our most recent experience left us wondering if someone/thing has changed in the kitchen! We both ordered the veal schnitzel, wich was over cooked and a little too greasy. The vegetable side was skimpy, and uninteresting.
I'd give them the benefit by saying that this is unusual!
The decode is unchanged- old world and service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I have been to the Bauernhaus numerous times over the years and have never been disappointed, this time was no exception.
Since we generally only are able to make it for a visit about once a year we often order the same dishes. The fondue for an appetizer is fantastic and great for 4 people to share. I had the veal weiner schnitzel for my main and swapped on the potatoes for spatzl and then added a white wine cream sauce as a side, amazing! The everything was cooked to perfection! The vegetables were seasoned perfectly and were delicious, the schnitzel melted in your mouth and the sauce was the perfect accompaniment.
I would highly recommend that anyone who visits Kimberley eats here. The restaurant is often closed Tues & Wed and reservations are often required. Also do not plan on having a 'quick' dinner here, the restaurant states in their menu that they are part of the slow food movement, expect to spend at least 2 hours if you are having 3 courses.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Again we have had a wonderful evening. We started with the cheese fondue for an appi. Their mixture of cheeses was out of this world and fresh baked bread just topped it.
We normally order the schnitzel along with a sauces but this time I ordered the special, different from everyone else, and was so very happy I did. It was beef short ribs that were done to perfection, served with mashed potatoes and fresh vegetables.
A dessert of the birthday boys choice was free of charge which added to our enjoyment. We also found that the wine list is very well priced compared to other establishments.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bauernhaus also viewed

Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Old Bauernhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bauernhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.