We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear's Eatery

Bear's Eatery
324 Archibald St, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 1M9, Canada
(250) 427-3412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 35 restaurants in Kimberley
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Burlington, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You'll love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Bear's home made food is worth the trip to Kimberley. Everything on the menu is a "no miss" option. We go there whenever we are in town because of the outstanding food, the amazing music and JJ, the owner's, warm welcoming service. This place feels more like home than home does. Do yourself a giant favour and stop by for a meal you will always remember. You'll love this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    42
    6
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
1 review
“You Gotta Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend in Kimberley searching for something other than a tired schnitzel house and did we ever luck out. I am a vegetarian and my husband is a carnivore so sometimes in small towns we have trouble finding a restaurant that can cateer to both our tastes. Thanks to a helpful clerk at the Overweitea we ended up discovering to our delight and amazement Bears restaurant. JJ and Barrie started this business over 2 years ago migrating from Calgary to the quiet town of Kimberley, but they have small time charm in spades, it felt like we walked into a friends house to dine, and these friends really knew how to Cook! JJ runs the front house a wonderful place with friendly, quick service and Barrie looks after the fabulous home styled food. Bears has daily specials, a flexible menu and warm hospitality. It is a treasure in Kimberley. Everything was yummy but you just gotta try the pie!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dining Experience in Kimberley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had the great experience of dining at Bear's while sking in Kimberley. They have a comprehesive menu of home made food to choose from. I tried the daily special which gave me a plate full of meat, potatoes and veggies which really hit the spot after a day on the slopes and it was really tastey.

The decor in the restarant is quite unitque as well. Stuffed bears like the restarants name might indicate are sitting or laying here and there while the walls are decorated with record albums of yester year from all the old classics. The music maybe from the collection of records plays over the sound system giving a pleasant nostalgic back ground while you enjoy your meal;.

Somehow out of character to this setting is a sign iindicating that free wifi is available but allows a techy in all of us now to check in.

Needless to say the dining experience was a memorable one. Who would have thought Bear the cook was also from Saskatchewan!!!

Rock on!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Taking comfort food and home eating to a new level!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Our family had the privelege of dining at Bear's Eatery. The food is fantastic, the servings are huge, the prices are amazing. JJ and Bear (the owners) treat you like family. Where else would a family of 5 dine and each individual is called by name all evening? Our 9 year old thought she was at home so she helped clear the table. A must go place if you are in Kimberley. All day breakfast, super lunch and dinner menus.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cozy & Inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great spot to eat after a day on the ski hill. Or even after a round of golf depending on the season. The food was really good and the portions are above average. The meal was topped off by a delicious piece of banana cream pie...the best I have had in years!
The service was excellent, JJ is great.
You have to go here!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear's Eatery also viewed

Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Bear's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear's Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.