We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value all year round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northstar Mountain Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Northstar Mountain Village Resort to your Saves list
Northstar Mountain Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1351 Gerry Sorensen Way | P.O. Box 305, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 2Y9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Ski Kimberley Lift Ticket
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic value all year round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our son's freestyle ski club held a fun weekend at Northstar Mountain Village in March. 10 families were there staying in several units and we had an amazing time skiing and enjoying the Alpine Club outdoor heated pool and hottub. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Northstar Mountain Village. We are happy to hear that your family and sons freestyle ski team enjoyed their stay with us. Please stay with us again when in Kimberley for ski racing or on vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We rented D5, which was right on the hill. It is a three bedroom condo that easily slept 9 people, with 5 kids ranging from 8 to 15. Lots of room, located at the top of the t-bar. Decor is lovely, hot tub is right on the deck and we had a beautiful view. Very convenient for kids to come in and out for lunch.

Our other friends stayed in E2, which is also on the hill, a two bedroom. It was also perfect.

The kitchen was very well equipped. Only complaint is the very dull knives, which is a problem for those of us who like to cook. The only other issue was the hide-a-bed in the living room was broken so the kids pulled the mattress off and slept on the floor.

A very perfect weekend.

Room Tip: Stay in D5. Right at the top of the t-bar. Easy access to the hill and for kids needing to come in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Northstar Mountain Village. We are happy to hear that you had an 'awesome long weekend away'. I will be sure to share your comments in regards to the knives with our management team.
We hope you choose to stay at Northstar Mountain Village again when travelling to Kimberley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melfort, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is our third year coming to kimberley and staying at Northstar. We have never been disappointed. The views are perfect, the staff is friendly and helpful, the location is perfect, and the skiing is great! There is a group of four families that come along and we have been able to get 2 3BR units side by sued overlooking the hill each time. The condos are comfortable and well stocked. The hot tub couldn't feel better after a day on hue he runs and the kids all love the pool. We will keep coming back for sure! We are planning the next trip before the current one is over.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bench if you want ski in/ski out. Ample bedding is available for extra people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of Northstar Mountain Village. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you have chosen to stay at Northstar for the past few years while vacating in Kimberley. Please stay with us again on your next vacation to Kimberley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We went for Alberta Family Weekend and lucked out with fresh snow. The hill was a perfect size for a mixed group of adult and children skiers. The hotel was right at the bottom of the t-bar and within 100m of the bottom of the main ski lift. Easy to ski or walk to. The accommodation was fantastic - friendly staff, spacious apartments, well stocked kitchens, great outdoor pool and hot tub. Condo appears to come in 1, 2, and 3 bed suites. Underground parking was a bonus also. We had a great meal at the Baurnhaus (delicious) and at the local bar called the Stemwinder (regular burger fare). Disappointed in Montana's. Fantastic holiday overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of Northstar Mountain Village. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We agree that Northstar's location is very convenient to the lifts at Kimberley Alpine Resort. Please stay with us again at Northstar on your next vacation to Kimberley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge,Ab
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We love to ski Kimberley and there is no better place to stay than Northstar Mountain Resort.Our friends had joined us and they commented on how easy it is to get to the condo and back from the ski hill.The pool was great after a day of skiing and the staff was so accommodating when we encountered a hot tub problem.

Room Tip: The end units on the 3 bedroom condos have less stairs and easier to load and unload
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E, Director of Sales at Northstar Mountain Village Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of Northstar Mountain Village. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the pool and hotels. I will be sure to pass our your compliments to the staff on how accommodating they were. Please stay with us again at Northstar on your next vacation to Kimberley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

There are 2 and 3 bedroom condo's all with high end furnishings, own hot tub (perfect after day skiing or golfing, we were pleasantly surprised to find the floor around the pool was heated, exercise room and a small store all on site. Stayed in the 3 bed condo near to the reception and it had a large master with en suite, the second bedroom had queen and bunk beds and the third bedroom a queen. The second and third bedrooms both had a bathroom just outside. Ideal for families and friends. The kitchen/dining area was very spacious and well kitted out. We were all able to sit and have dinner together. Good location, ski in ski out in winter and close to golf courses and downtown Kimberley.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberley
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Have stayed winter (ski in and ski out) and summer (walked down the hill to the restaurant in the Trickle Creek!). We stayed in a 3 bed 3 bath condo with friends. Rustic furniture and very comfy beds! Loved that we had our own hot tub (every condo does!). There is a small store on site and a heated swimming pool that can be used all year round. Having your own transport is preferable. We had a blast and will return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northstar Mountain Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar Mountain Village Resort

Address: 1351 Gerry Sorensen Way | P.O. Box 305, Kimberley, British Columbia V1A 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kimberley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northstar Mountain Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar Mountain Village Resort. This year, plan your vacation at Northstar. Enjoy four seasons of fun, with luxurious accommodation, spectacular rocky mountain scenery, and the convenience of our Alpine Club amenities, including seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub, fitness room and Spa. Share good times with friends and family and make vacation memories that last a lifetime. Set against an incredible rocky mountain backdrop overlooking the Kimberley Alpine Resort, Northstar is perfect for families & couples, outdoor enthusiasts, and nature lovers of all kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Northstar Mountain Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar Mountain Village Hotel Kimberley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northstar Mountain Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.