We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast
677 Broadview Ave, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6P1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Orillia B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“More than just a B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Thanks to Betty and Tony for a great stay! What a beautiful Location: a big house, a garden connected to the lake, phantastic breakfast, warm welcome, interesting discussions. We enjoyed a bottle of wine on board of Tonys boat and had a canoe trip on the lake. This is the best B&B I ever had!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bystander, Owner at Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Marcel and Katrin, thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to show our Canadian Home to visitors from abroad so they can see the inside of a working home, rather than the inside of a standard room of the hotel industry, we like to sell them on our lovely City of Orillia and the pleasures of living in our chosen land, we help select with them a restaurant they would like, and send them on their way fat and happy. We came to Canada from England in 1964 and maintain our English heritage, you used our Wedgwood China from our wedding 50 years ago. We are glad you got home and we hope you had a wonderful experience of visiting this great and open land.
It is good to know you have arrived safely home in Munich, Germany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Smithville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Came up for a show @ Rama by myself (no wife) and decided to try a B&B instead of the typical hotel / motel. Stayed two nights and had a great stay. Betty & Tony were great hosts very friendly, warm & welcoming. The house, grounds, breakfasts were first rate.

Marvelous stay and would definitely stay again, albeit by myself, my wife is not a big B&B fan. Although she did say it sounded so good that she might consider staying here.

Thanks again Betty & Tony, keep up the outstanding service.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms would be more than satisfactory for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bystander, Owner at Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you Marty for your kind review of Betty and Tony's. We enjoyed meeting you and discussing your career and businesses to do with the manufacture of die-cut plastic parts and bearings for the Auto Industry, and the joys of having a business to pass on to a son! You had good company during your stay with the bikers for the Ride for Sight, fine gentlemen and repeat guests who unfortunately will not be returning as our City of Orillia did not act so as to retain their business. Your bicycle at under 20 lb was in marked contrast to their monster bikes.
We hope to see you again and please ask your dear wife to consider trying out The B&B Way at least once, and start at Betty and Tony's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had such a wonderful time staying at Betty & Tony's at the beginning of the month! We very much enjoyed their home, property, view, great hospitality and wonderful room! The breakfast was wonderful, and they even added a bit of TLC for the wife! Thank you Betty and Tony, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bystander, Owner at Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
The benefit Visitors get from attending a B&B depends as much on the social dynamics of the group present, as on the facilities and personalities of the owners, and the interaction between everyone. You Kathy and Steve were special guests as you enlivened the conversation and your company was a great benefit to the others attending with you. Thank you for a lovely visit and we were glad of your like on Facebook (bntbnb) Thank you for finding us on BBCanada.com and booking with Booking.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our kids gave us a trip to see a Kenny Rogers show at Casino Rama in January 2013, and at first I was tad hesitant about staying at Betty & Tony's B & B because I have food allergies ... until I read all the great reviews!!

So happy to say It was a most beautiful experience - everything was impeccable, the decor made one feel as if we were back in the Victorian era with the table luxuriously set with lovely Limoges china, the bedroom was extremely comfortable & beautifully decorated, but most importantly of all, Sherry went the extra mile to ensure there was no cross-contamination of any food for me. She really made my husband and myself feel extremely welcome as she chatted with us, and spent time showing us around, answering all our curious questions about all the most interesting pictures, paintings & objects d'art, which abound throughout the house.

It was a most interesting, friendly and extremely pleasant stay - much better than staying at an impersonal Hotel, and we will definitely recommend it to everyone, and hopefully will return sometime during the Summer or Fall season to see it in all it's glory. Sincerely and with great thanks & best regards. Safra and Ed Singh, Whitby Ontario.

Room Tip: Next time I will book earlier in order to get the King bed with the en-suite bathroom, as we both ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bystander, Owner at Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast. Thanks also are due to your children for giving you a gift certificate. We hope the Kenny Rogers show at Casino Rama met with your expectations. Thanks for your tip regarding Room 2 which is the only room without an en-suite W.C.; your point is appreciated as I am of the age myself when I have to get up at night. However there are advantages and the bathroom for room 2 is more spacious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A delightful winter visit as a treat for my brother...

Had tea and a great local butter-tart before bed - then woke to a fairly-land of snow (with both car & driveway cleared) and a delicious breakfast. The warm welcome, the spotless homey room and bed, great coffee and conversation in the early am. No hotel can touch a great B&B! Thanks!

Room Tip: We took the twin-bed room - two brothers traveling - had very nice bath/shower/toilet tho' acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bystander, Owner at Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Betty and Tony depend on Ron and Karen next door for driveway cleaning, which is done by them with phenomenal efficiency, just as they also maintain the lawns and remove the leaves. We are very grateful to them as well as to Sherry for managing the business and John for maintaining the 36 ft trimaran boat the Blithe Speerit during its sojourn through the winter in the "Root Canal" at the foot of our garden.
The local butter tarts are an innovation by Sherry and if they are the ones I think they are, they are excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our first experience staying at a B and B turned out to be great. Betty and Tonys Waterfront B and B was beautiful. The location, right on a quiet canal just off of Lake Couchiching and a main street of Orillia made it very easy to find even with our arrival in the dark. We left our home at 5:30 on a Friday afternoon for a gorgeous 1.5 hour trip north by motorcycle enjoying the fall colors just beginning to show. Our host Sherry warmly welcomed us and gave us the tour of the freshly renovated bungalow featuring a den with fireplace for reading or watching tv, a large living room for relaxing and beautiful dining room for next mornings gourmet breakfast. We were shown to our delightful room with ensuite and given a menu for next mornings meal. The beds were extremely comfortable. In the morning at sunrise we discovered the beautiful grounds. The entrance to their home greets you with a delightful water feature. The service was exceptional and our thanks go to Sherry for taking such good care of us and the other guests! I highly recommend a stay here and that you discover Mariposa (Orillia.)

Room Tip: 2 of 3 rooms offer ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bystander, Owner at Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We offered you the use of our secure garage for your motorbike, but it wasn`t needed as the weather was fine. We are so Glad our Sherry made you welcome while we were on our fabulous trip to China. Thank you for trying a B&B. We know it`s taking a bit of a chance. We hope you`ll come again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Betty and Tony are welcoming hosts who make you feel at home in their clean, attractive and well appointed home. They took an interest in your activities and took time to have a cup of tea with us. We used their bicycles and scooter to go into the Port of Orillia. We also sat by the water to read and enjoy the fresh air.

Room Tip: We used two room which were well equipped, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Bystander, Owner at Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
The electric scooter was inherited from Betty's father Ken Rose,who used to live with us. Tony used to use it to walk Bailey safely when the roads were icy. Now it it kept for guests and they are usually self conscious about using it. This lady was persuaded to use it while her husband borrowed a bike for a trip to downtown via the paved Trails through Tudhope Park. We could hear her giggling as she set off on the scooter, and she came back having been downtown and back (5 miles). She said she was a tortoise no longer, she had become a hare! It is a great life being a B&B host. We love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast

Address: 677 Broadview Ave, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6P1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After 21 years as a fine Bed and Breakfast, Betty and Tony decided to limit reservations to the nights of Friday-and-Saturday as a two night minimum stay,or Saturday-Sunday 2 nights, (and we would prefer to limit that to guests that have been before). As you enter our friendly home, you will first see through the windows of the great room to the private waterfront ahead of you. Daylight floods the eleven winding stairs accessing the guest rooms on the lower level. To the left is the library, to the right the dining room where you will be served your selection from our remarkable breakfast menu. Free, on-site parking space is marked out. Betty and Tony, the owners, designed and built this unusual house in 1985 for their retirement dwelling. But they love to entertain company so they added en-suite bathrooms to the spare bedrooms and the rest is history! Betty is a retired teacher and Tony is a retired engineer. On the waterfront is the replica steamship m/v Blithe Speerit, which does not take visitors out. It is a lawn ornament you can have a quiet drink on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betty And Tony's Waterfront Bed And Breakfast Orillia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betty and Tony's Waterfront Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.