We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Save Saved
You added Stone Gate Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   437 Laclie Street, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Georgetown, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel! Rooms were well appointed! Staff was exceptional!
Free happy hours snacks on Friday from 5-8 which were great!
Nice breakfast included. Nice wet bar with fridge in room!
Would highly recommend!!

Room Tip: $25 flat rate cab to Casino Rama
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    58
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
119
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having booked one of the best suites in the inn, we were anticipating a WONDERFUL time on our over deserved short holiday. Unfortunately for us, the hotel that beckoned us back from our last outstanding stay disappointed us a number of times: whirlpool tub was broken, tv/dvd player didn't work, fireplace turned completely off(not even a pilot light!), and below-standard breakfast.
When approached staff reluctantly attempted to help, but it kind of took the edge off a romantic moment for two. After much prodding and chat the discount of $20 dollars was applied.
What a price to put on such a muddled affair!

Room Tip: Check the whirlpool tub upon check in.....it will save a lot of grief later. Only one elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I'm very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I have looked into the issues that you have listed in your review and I would very much like the opportunity to speak with you personally regarding your experience.
Regarding the unlit fireplace upon your arrival, please be advised that due to heat production the fireplaces and pilot lights are turned off during the months of June, July and August to prevent guest discomfort and they also counteract the airconditioning during these summer months.
If you are planning to stay with us and anticipate requiring the fireplace we will happily ensure that the pilot light is lite for your arrival, simply inform our guest services team when booking your reservation.
I'm very much loooking forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was comfortable but t.v and fireplace had issues. Rectified but had to go down to the lobby because they would not pick up when we called room service from our room. Booked casino package and ended up being late getting to the casino because they insisted we wait for a couple that did not show. After waiting over 25 minutes they checked with the couple and they had decided not to go! Next morning arrived in the very little area for breakfast and were disappointed. Tables were all dirty and there were no staff around. We had to clear our own table. Food selection was basic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your last visit. I sincerely apoloigize for the short comings as we do make every effort possible to porvide an exceptional customer experience. We have resturctured our casino shuttle to ensure that arrivals and departures are not delayed. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally regarding your experience. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

rooms are very clean...staff is great...breakfast has everything u could possibly want...washers and dryers if you need them...housekeeping will get you anything extra you might need...best value for a room in orillia..have stayed in the other ones..quick drive to downtown and public boat launch..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feed back. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here this past week. First time visiting Orillia, The Hotel was excellent. Rooms were spacious, very clean. The staff very accommodating and efficient. The continental breakfast was great to start your day. Everything is nearby and a 24 hour market next door. We also found it quiet and enjoyed the hot tub & pool facilities as well. Would definitely go back again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We arrived at this Inn on a Monday night and were impressed with the outside and the beautiful lobby. Our room was clean and comfortable and very modern. The restaurant that was recommonded to us was closed on Monday night but not the fault of the Inn. They suggested other restaurants and the one we chose was Theo's and was very nice. They arrive at your door at approx 5:00pm with chocolate mints for the evening - a nice touch ( if you are not in your room I would assume they are on your pillow upon return. )The staff was very friendly and the lounge was very comfortable and we did enjoy cocktails there in the evening after returning from the restaurant. We used the hot tub but not the pool ( the water was warm ) but we prefer the hot tub but the pool was small but not a problem for us. The second night we enjoyed a wonderful dinner at 18 Front - a restaurant that was recommended and it didn't disappoint. We went to the casino and a boat cruise which were both very direct routes and the staff was good enough to map it out for us. All in all a very pleasant stay. I would diffinetely stay here again and highly recommend this place for all amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
I'm so glad to hear that we were able to make your visit so enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very comfortable room and rarely do I say this but definitely worth the money! This is a beautiful, comfortable and modern hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable. Service is outstanding and the staff is very friendly. The hotel restaurant has delicious and reasonably priced food.

Room Tip: rooms were nice excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOrillia, General Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Address: 437 Laclie Street, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.