We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Gate Inn to your Saves list
Stone Gate Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   437 Laclie Street, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gravenhurst, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have stayed at this lovely hotel on three occasions and found it to be very clean and have friendly staff. It has spoiled me for other hotels. I am always comparing them to the Stonegate and find they always come away lacking in cleanliness.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgigm, Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    71
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
137
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We thank the staff and management at the Stone Gate Inn in Orillia for all the hard work they put into making our Convention this year, marking the CRAO's 45th anniversary so meaningful to our members. The venue was perfect for our group and it could not have been as successful as it was without everyone at the Stone Gate who helped smooth the way for our members to feel comfortable and welcomed. The catered lunches were delicious, the comfortable beds and spacious rooms were just simply luxurious and relaxing after the long days we all had attending to our business over the weekend we spent there.

Also, my 12 year old son had such a good time on every lake he could find in the area he now has fishing stories galore, and he wants to go back to the Stone Gate before the season wraps up for more!

So, the Stone Gate ticks off all the boxes, great place for a business gathering, family fun, luxury, and fishing stories!


Joanne Hardie
President, Court Reporters' Association of Ontario

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgigm, Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you Joanne for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to host your group and we look forward to the opportunity again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently stayed at Stone Gate Inn to celebrate an anniversary. The hotel is very nice, our room was clean, but the window view was blocked by the front overhang - not a big problem because we weren't in the room until late evening. There was a package deal offered in a Stone Gate book left in our room. When I inquired about the breakfast/lunch/dinner package, we were told that package didn't start until October. Disappointing!! The room was quiet, even though we were beside the elevator. The breakfast looked pretty good, but we only ate our standard-fare cereal. The little bar area in the room is a good feature, but we only used it to make coffee - nice if you were staying more than one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgigm, Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our property. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

First off this hotel was beautiful, super clean, and luxurious. They had very nice big rooms, large soft comfy beds. I would stay here again for those reasons.....now the issues.

The evening front desk was very rude and arragant. He did not seem to want to wait on us at all. I'm not sure if it was because we were driving all day and looked a mess or what. We seemed to be a bother to him. Although another older couple walked by and he was very friendly to them in the middle of servicing us. Made us feel about 10 inches tall.

The room provided was right over the hotel lobby entrance (right over it!) I'll attache a photo as we heard the phone ringing all morning in the lobby and it woke us up! This is probably their worst room I would guess.

The morning breakfast wasn't very good at all, we had better breakfasts in the Holiday Inn! The area was to small to eat breakfast as well. Also the morning breakfast lady was very rude and pushing hotel guests out of her way to fill items. We watched her to this on multiple occasions. Also later I heard her complaing to the front desk how "this is not my job and I'm not doing that". I don't think this is something an employee should be complaining about in front of guests.

Location was some what lacking, lockup your cars! Also behind the hotel is a school bus parking lot.

Overall nice hotel......staff needs lessons in manners and how to deal with guests. I was very disappointed with the service here!

Room Tip: Don't get stuck above the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgigm, Manager at Stone Gate Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I'm very sorry to hear that you found the service less than exceptional upon check in. Unfortunately during the period in question the hotel was unexpectedly short staffed and the staff on duty obviously failed to provide our usual high level of customer service. This however is no excuse for your experience. I hope that you choose to return so that we can provide you with the fantastic customer service that our staff is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked the inn through an online service so we really had no idea what to expect. The front desk staff was attentive and allowed us to check in early with out reminding us we were early. We have found hotels like to remind you that they are doing you a favor by letting you into your room ahead of schedule. After a 3 hour drive it was a nice treat. The room was wonderful the extra things like fridge, microwave, and robes made the stay better than expected. We arrived back to the inn after a concert and were very pleased to find that a turn down service was provided! What can be better than chocolate mint before bed. The breakfast was well stocked but the lounge is a little small if you hit it at a busy time. We were down early so that wasn't an issue for us this morning!
Thanks for making our getaway very pleasurable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Every aspect of this independent hotel is of much higher quality than is typical for a small community. Most guests will agree that the most essential element of every high performing, highly rated hotel is top-notch service and genuine hospitality. It is in this area where the property completely misses the mark. The purpose of our trip was to transition from family vacation mode to a couple's get-away however the excellent telephone reservation booking experience was in no way duplicated at check-in. Front desk staff are like a store front window.
Management may want to review their hiring and staff placement rationale if Stone Gate Inn is to remain one of Trip Advisor's top 25 hotels in Canada.

Room Tip: The upgraded room we booked and were finally assigned was much nicer than room 204 which is right be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

You can tell that the intent of the hotel administration is to provide great value, while also providing those extra little things that make you feel that you are appreciated as a guest.

The free internet, kitchenette, fridge and microwave are all included at no extra cost.
The breakfast had plenty of choice and was great.
This place is a definite "keeper".

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Address: 437 Laclie Street, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Orillia
#2 Business Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.