We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Below Average Hotel, But Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Front Street N., Orillia, Ontario L3V 4R5, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel Champlain Waterfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Trips, 1 Night Free*
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Slightly Below Average Hotel, But Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We arrived at 3 PM on a Saturday afternoon and were greeted by very friendly and professional front desk staff. Our rooms were ready, so we dropped our luggage off in the rooms and spent some time checking out the waterfront as well as the local street festival.

The Good News: the rooms were very quiet, the A/C worked well, the hotel is "pet friendly", and the hotel is close to everything having the best location in the town.

The Bad News: there was a collection of food waste and dirt under one of the beds, 8 out of 11 light bulbs in the room were burnt out, hotel parking lot was full, there's a very musty smell in the hallways.

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    19
    8
    20
See reviews for
16
23
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here June 21/2014. We arrived at 2pm and were told the room would not be ready until 3p.. OK. Street festival going on, we checked that out and ate lunch. We had requested a specific room, perhaps that was the cause of the delay ?Later that evening upon our return from the event we were attending, we noticed that -yes there is a coffee pot, but no coffee, no cups. Then realized that there were no facecloths. Just to add to the fun, no wifi - even though it is advertised in the room. I called down to the desk but was unable to understand what the problem was. Language barrier. So, we used hand towels for facecloths and went downstairs for the "Continental Breakfast" It was 10 am, maybe we were too late, there was absolutely no evidence that there had ever been a breakfast. I have stayed at this same hotel every year for the past 6 of more years. Never had an issue before. I know the hotel has changed ownership since June 1 of this year and all the previous staff were let go. I sure hope the new ones get trained by next year. Great location, close to the waterfront. Rooms are small, no elevator but that's fine for my needs. Just need a clean & comfortable bed and clean room. Might try again next year.

Room Tip: #201 is the biggest room I've seen in there, it's above the bar so noisy on a Sat night. Pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

If you have problems with stairs, DO NOT stay at this hotel as there is no elevator and the wheelchair ramps are small and at the front, no where near parking. Also I accidently went to the basement as there are rooms there, after traveling down the hallway past the "guest laundry" that is a gross storage room, I found black mold EVERYWHERE! And the smell was disgusting! They actually plan on renting out basement rooms this summer and seem to have no plans on fixing the mold problem. My daughter had breathing problems or first night and I didnt know why, now I do. Right after I found the mold I quickly checked us out 3 days early! Run from this place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Air freshener smell in the room was so overpowering it gave us headaches.
Couldn't shower as the drain was full of pubes that filled the tub as soon as we turned the water on.
Sheets on one bed were dirty. Room was broken into while we were at the concert.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I had tickets to a concert at the Casinorama, and I booked a room, just so we didn't have to make a long drive home. Didn't need to be fancy, but I was on a budget. This hotel was exactly what I had needed.

The location was fantastic. Down by the waterfront; in the summer would be beautiful. I'm sure the room would be more expensive come summer. We paid $65.00 on Priceline.

The hotel itself is very dated...it is in desperate need of an overhaul. But the service was great. People were very helpful and kind. Great location. Rooms very small - reminded us of a room you'd get in Europe. But for one night...worth it. Rooms were clean. Not immaculate...but clean.

TV didn't get a ton of channels.

There aren't elevators in this hotel.

I smelled chlorine, but never saw a pool.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in this place, so if you are elderly or have a hard time climbing stairs, mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed one night at the Quality Hotel for a Christmas party. The location is beautiful, the building looked almost historical. I loved the layout of the hallways to the rooms, so different from the generic up a flight of stairs or elevator and straight down the hall. It was like a little maze, except that it was very well marked and not easy to get lost. When we walked into the room was the tiniest hotel room I've seen, but with a standard sized bathroom. The water in the shower ran nice and hot, and the bed was so comfortable. It was a perfect place for our one night stay! The continental breakfast was very good too. Thank you to the staff at the hotel for a very nice stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront

Address: 2 Front Street N., Orillia, Ontario L3V 4R5, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel Champlain Waterfront)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront 1.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Downtown and steps away from the Port of Orillia, this historic hotel is close to numerous local attractions and places of interest including Casino Rama, the Leacock Museum, Orillia Opera House. The OPP Museum and Hawk Ridge Golf & Country Club, Lakehead University and Georgian College are also in the area. A wide variety of restaurants and shops surround the hotel. The city Orillia boasts miles of paved trails from one end of town to another, providing plenty of options for hiking, jogging, biking and rollerblading. Guests of this hotel are provided with a complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, and in-room coffee makers. Whether for business or leisure, The hotel Champlain is the perfect place to stay. Our staff looks forward to your next visit with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Canada, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Orillia
Quality Hotel Orillia
Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront Orillia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.