We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has really gone downhill in the past 8 years” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Front Street N., Orillia, Ontario L3V 4R5, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel Champlain Waterfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Has really gone downhill in the past 8 years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this Quality Inn this past Saturday. We had stayed here a number of years ago on several occassions as it was quite a nice hotel. Although the rooms were on the most part, very small, the hotel was well run and clean. Bringing things to the present.....nowhere near as nice as it used to be. The furniture is worn and ill kept. The wallpaper is peeling off of the walls, the carpets in the entranceways are worn and dirty and we caught a whiff of what smelled like bug spray. Our room was right beside the attached bar, so needless to say there was loud music and then partying outside until about 3 a.m. We just were not impressed and will never stay there again. Go to the Best Western. It is clean and professionally run. The rooms are ample in size and the staff very friendly....the same cannot be said about the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    22
    8
    20
See reviews for
16
26
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were in orillia for the Easter weekend and went on Priceline and hotels.com to find a good deal. Most of the hotels were close to a hundred and fifty dollars if not more per night. A couple hotels were in the lower 70s to low 80s per night so we thought we would give me a shot, keeping in mind that an average hotel is double the price. We checked in and the reviews that mentioned the staff is uninterested were right, but she definitely wasn't rude. Just very short in her responses and bored. We asked if we could get a bigger bed instead of the two doubles that came with the room and we were given a king at no extra charge. We were told that this room was on the busy side of the hotel ( there was a bar on the side and we might hear people until to 2am) but we went with it anyways. it was a little cool at night for people to be outside so we were good, i could see the summer being quite noisy. There was no smell from the restaurant, but the exercise room was closed which wasn't mentioned on the website or on the advertisement. The rooms are small, seriously small. This is an old building and the rooms would be the size of a small office. There is nothing fancy about this place. Bedding, decor, bathrooms and breakfast were run of the mill. Room was clean as was the bedding and the bathroom. The breakfast, sold as hot, has pickled eggs (quite the surprise when you thought they were hard boiled!), frozen waffles that are put out, bagels, croissants fruit, cereal, coffee, tea and orange juice. Nothing to write home about, but nice if you want to save some coin not paying for breakfast. If u are looking for a Fairmont experience you won't find it here, but if you are looking for a cheap place to crash with some bread and cereal for breakfast this is an ok place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed as part of a Casino Rama birthday weekend with my fiancé and were plenty surprised. They upgraded us and we got a nice room with a fire place and a mini-fridge. It was not a huge room but it was clean and comfortable. The location is perfect - steps from restaurants, banks, grocery stores, LCBO, and banks. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was supposed to stay there only for one night but the room was too disgusting. There were hairs in the bed and on the towels. The floor wasn't clean. There was also a weird smell. I left the hotel immediately. Still trying to get my money back...

Room Tip: Don't believe the last positive comments. Don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Take it from a student who has been staying at the hotel since September, the Quality Hotel Champlain is a great place to stay in if you're in Orillia. Located in a beautiful area (the lake is just a few steps away, as are restaurants, pubs and various shops) the service is excellent. I also have to comment on the friendliness of the staff. I have had many instances where they would go out of their way to help me, whether it be with bags, my computer or anything I needed. My stay at the hotel has been wonderful, I can't say enough good things about it.

Room Tip: The rooms with the king size beds are the ones you want to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My room had two double beds and was clean. Quaint linens, enough space to walk around, spotless bathroom with lots of towels (always a bonus!). Our corner room had two narrow windows, one faced the lake (which would have been a nice view if it hadn't been such a foggy morning) and the other faced the intersection of Front and Colbourne. Yes, there are no elevators but the flights of stairs are made of about 5 steps! I went with my 77year old father and he had no problem going up! Their Saturday breakfast was standard, nothing special but it was fresh, complete with all eating utensils. It consisted of the following: juice, decaf and regular coffee, tea, cereal, bagels, sliced bread (butter, PB, jelly packets), muffins, boiled eggs, yogurt, and bananas. But there was a 24hr Metro (and they usually have cooked food available) and a Subway sandwich, which serves breakfast, just across the parking lot. Plus, there is an LCBO across the street. None of the staff were rude and I was greeted when I checked in and out. Vino, who checked us out was very polite and helpful with finding our way around town. There is a bar and a sushi restaurant attached but there weren't any funky smells and from my room, the noise was minimum. I'd come back here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing the intersection are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Severn, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our room was clean and a bit small but manageable in size. No elevator, so lugging our suitcase up the stairs was a bit of a chore. The hotel is right downtown, 1/2 block from the waterfront park, which is a nice area to walk. The general location is a major downtown corner, so not the quietest spot if you are looking for peace and tranquility for your visit. The front clerk was a poorly-attired teenager who looked pretty much asleep at the desk. We did not try the complimentary breakfast, so we can't comment on that.

For the price it was ok (we've been in lots worse), but nothing to write home about.

There is a small and quaint (unpretentious) but really excellent sushi restaurant (Aji Sushi) attached to the hotel. We eat there every time we are in town and we highly recommend it if you like Japanese food - the chef puts a lot of love into the rolls and dinner specials.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront

Address: 2 Front Street N., Orillia, Ontario L3V 4R5, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel Champlain Waterfront)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront 1.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Downtown and steps away from the Port of Orillia, this historic hotel is close to numerous local attractions and places of interest including Casino Rama, the Leacock Museum, Orillia Opera House. The OPP Museum and Hawk Ridge Golf & Country Club, Lakehead University and Georgian College are also in the area. A wide variety of restaurants and shops surround the hotel. The city Orillia boasts miles of paved trails from one end of town to another, providing plenty of options for hiking, jogging, biking and rollerblading. Guests of this hotel are provided with a complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, and in-room coffee makers. Whether for business or leisure, The hotel Champlain is the perfect place to stay. Our staff looks forward to your next visit with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Canada, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Orillia
Quality Hotel Orillia
Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront Orillia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Champlain Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.