We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Couchiching Point Road, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6P8 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Oshawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this Best Western as we were going to see Bill Cosby at Casino Rama. Location is great, just a short drive from the casino. Lots of parking, although parking lot could be better lit at night. Front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful with directions. Room was updated, spacious, quiet and had everything we needed. Breakfast was fine, not overly crowded as we had expected since it was a long weekend. The only problem we encountered was that when we pulled back the comforter on one of the beds, we found the bottom sheet was badly stained. Not sure how this was overlooked by the housekeeping staff. It was late, after midnight, so we didn't feel like we could have called the front desk to request clean sheets. Luckily there were 2 queen beds and the other was fine. Lesson learned - we should have checked upon arrival.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you djfan88 for your review. We always welcome the feedback. We certainly are very sorry about your stained sheet experience. We would have taken care of it right away if you would have given us the opportunity...thank you for letting me know. I will inform the Executive housekeeper and discuss it in our next staff meeting later this week. We look forward to seeing you back in Orillia soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    63
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
89
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

overall very satisfied with this hotel. close to casino rama, just 5 minutes away. facilities were clean and functional. we'd reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. extra parking would be nice as it was tight at the end of the night to find a space.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you Terry H for your review. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in 2-store section there on Aug 21st night for Deep Purple concert at casino parks, etc - it was our 1st stay in Orillia. They provide mini-bus to casino Rama for $7/person rouRama. Parking is included. You'll get internet access code when checking in; check-in was fast and girls are very pleasant and helpful - we had some question as where to go for lunch/beers, nearest parks, etc. They provide a mini-bus for $7 roundtrip to Rama, so you may enjoy drinks and feel safe. The interiors look dated, but we kinda like these types of hotels as far as they clean, and all is in working order. Our room was clean, quiet, plenty of towels, beds ARE very comfortable, mini-fridge, safe box, MW oven, coffeemaker (4 Starbacks coffee packs supplied). Bathroom is clean, shampoo/soap dispensers. Some drawbacks worth mentioning, as these can be easily fixed by hotel management :TV works channels are limited - mostly shopping channels, only one 450 ml bottle of drinking water in the fridge, I'd expect at least 2 as there are 2 beds in the room, AC unit works fine BUT there is some yaky looking stuff keeps shooting out of it - looks like flakes of old dust accumulated on the inside filter/grill, not very pleasant with your bed staying next to that 'fountain'.
Continental breakfast served 7-10 am - is very decent, we didn't see any line-ups and the staff ladies are very friendly; we made waffles for ourselves on this ancient waffle machine there - delicious and funny experience too. Recommended for kids.
Overall - we'd definitely stay there again(coming in Oct for the PinkFloyd show) even thou I feel the pricing's being at least half-star over. But we'd look for something else if we plan to stay longer than 1 night.

Additional notes, not related to the hotel: WildWing is 10 min pleasant walk along the landings; we went to Narrows after dinner and it was beautiful. There is a nice park nearby with paved trails and lots of people jogging and rollerblading there. To Orillia downtown it's just 10 min drive; they have plenty of free parking available close to docs (Front St & Mississauga St intersection) , boat cruise runs once a day at 2:30 pm and the line starts building up from 10 am. Farmer's market on weekend, nice walking trails further along the lake.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quiet at the end of the corridor (toward Narrows)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you passedforgal for your review. Sounds like you were able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel, Casino Rama, nearby park, and downtown Orillia. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you back in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel itslef is the better of th two BW properties in Orillia. I is a little out of the way if you wish to use the downtown core shops. The parking lot needs repair as there are big potholes and puddles. Parking is limited by the access doors. The room itself was comfortable but the channel selection provided did not match the channels advertised on the room card. I asked at front desk but was told they knew that and were sorry.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you Andrew C for your review and for letting me know about the pot holes in the parking lot at the restaurant next door...I will let them know. Also, we are in the process of changing our cable over to a new system. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Orillia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed two nights during a baseball tournament. Always love a hotel with buffet breakfast incl plus fridge in room. Lots of food and selection at breakfast and super nice staff. Lots of families with kids on a summer weekend so not your place if you want quiet. Close to awesome public park and waterfront plus quaint downtown. Only downside was cost - almost $200 per night!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you OnTheGoMama5 for your review of the hotel. We are glad that you and your baseball team enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Yes, Tudhope Park right next door is a beautiful park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When we stayed previous 3 times it was in two story section and stay was great. No noise and condition of room was excellent. This past weekend Aug 16th the room was clean and th ebed comfortable and fireplace was nice but A/C had loud squealing noise and dripping from rain ingress dripped and leaked under A/C. Toilet seat was chipped and damaged and couldn't understand why it wasn't reported. Could hear kids running in hallways.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you Mike-Jane for your review. Our 4 storey tower has all of our upgraded rooms and suites. There are only 8 rooms to a floor for privacy on in our tower. I am so glad that we do have an area of the hotel that you are happy with. We always take requests for areas of the hotel you prefer. Please let us know on your next trip where you would like to be in the hotel so that we can accommodate your request....we look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed overnight - went to concert at Rama. Hotel staff very nice. Efficient. The room was large, very clean and the beds were to die for! Soft, lots of blankets soft sheets very comfortable. I had a better sleep than I get at home. Lots of pillows that were very comfy. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay. Breakfast buffet in the little restaurant needs more tables, and a better layout is needed for the different stations. Too many people lining up at once and very little room to get by them. Instead of three different stations, put it all together in one well laid out space. Despite this one thing I would definitely go back again. Prices are a little high! even though they said I got a special rate because I'm a CAA member.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you margaritagirlToronto for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay while attending a concert at Casino Rama. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn

Address: 440 Couchiching Point Road, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6P8 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Couchiching Hotel Orillia
Best Western Orillia
Orillia Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn Orillia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.