We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Inn to your Saves list
Lakeside Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   86 Creighton St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Orillia B&B and Inns
Meaford, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gem in the rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This small motel style accommodation is definitely a gem in the rough. Our room was certainly adequate in size and came with an extremely comfortable king bed. The bedding was pristine and I would be happy to use it in my own home. We had a new microwave, small fridge and flat screen T.V. with all the channels you could wish. The bathroom also had new fixtures, with a CLEAN shower curtain (very important to me.) The only downside I could see is that both the bedroom and bathroom need a finishing coat of paint and a new heat register in the bathroom. The unit was clean and a bonus is that you can drive your car up to your door, even when your room is on the second floor. No noise, clean and pleasant, friendly staff. If I need accommodation in Orillia again I will have no hesitation returning here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Check in was a breeze and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The room wasn't huge but had all the necessary amenities and the comfortable king-sized bed made you forget about everything else. Absolutely no noise, and every room was occupied. Being able to walk down the roads and enjoy the lake views was amazing. Plus, it's proximity to Casino Rama was a huge plus. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Excellent quick check in with very friendly service. The room was large and very clean with obvious new updates. But it was the view of the lake that we really loved. No real noise of traffic just the peacefulness of water and almost country living. A plus that it was close to Casino Rama.
NJ. MacLennan

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I found this gem about a year ago or more, i come here with my boyfriend about everty 2-3 months and we stay 2-3 nights. check in is fast about 4-5 min and the owner always goes out of his wya to help us. The rooms are clean and very spacious, bathroom clean. I love that the rooms are pretty much sound proof i never hear anything . I love the big window that gives me the view to the lake and i LOVE seeing the sunset and sunrise. I love going to the balcony and watching the lake and just enjoying nature. i evern refered my father to this place too. i love it

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a 3* (acceptable) review of a 2* motel.The room was clean, and comfortable. On the second floor - a preferred location. Remembering what you are paying, the room had good television, coffee maker, microwave, and bar-type fridge. Bed was very comfortable. The carpet was new, and the bathroom had been updated, although it is small and basic. There were holes in the wall above the bed where it looked like a picture had been taken down, and the telephone wiring was pulled from the wall. The thermostat for the baseboard heating was lying on the carpet. It is one of those places where you wonder why the owners just don't take an hour a day to fix up stuff that actually makes no difference to your stay, but is aesthetically significant. There is a fair travel of noise between rooms, but the motel was not busy when I was there so that wasn't a problem. Room cleaning consisted of replacing towels and coffee, but not making the bed. I would stay here again for the same purpose - a place to sleep, watch tv, and visit the town and the casino. No shuttle when I was there. Locatio is great for the casino, but a hike into town otherwise.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnorillia, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review, we appreciate all the effort and time it takes. I wish to address some of your criticisms.
1, room cleaning - we participate in the \green initiative program, and along with use of green products, we leave a sign in every room, which asks our guests to let our cleaning staff know whether your would like your linens and towels changed. If you do simply place the card on your bed. leave the towels in the tub. The instructions are very clearly printed.
2, visual imperfections - We will follow up on your suggestions and correct the visual imperfections that. we did change the location of the TV recently. The thermostat was just replaced and the old one may not have been removed by the installer. We thank you for your most helpful comments.
3, noise between rooms- all our rooms are separated by a cinder block and 4 sheets of drywall, so i am little surprised at your complaint of noise traveling. our construction exceeds Ontario building code requirements.

We thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the initial reservations made over the phone the staff were friendly and professional. We had no problems making the reservation, and when we arrived the check-in service was quick and friendly. We decided to stay here because of the good price, and because they had a shuttle service to Casino Rama.
We were attending a concert that evening and opted to take the shuttle at about $7.50 per person round-trip. They had two departure times to choose from, and a few pick-up times. The driver was very friendly and dropped us off at the casino with no issues, and told us since we were the only ones he was picking up that evening we could name our pick-up time! A very nice gesture, considering they had designated pick-up times- but he was very accommodating for us.
The Inn has two floors- however if you are on the top floor (as we were), you simply drive around the back side of the building, park in front of your door, and only have to step up two minor stairs before entering the room. The room was a good size, clean, you could tell they had been going through some kind of renovations at some point, but that didn't cause any problems with the room. It also came equipped with a bar fridge, and there was a small balcony with a table and two chairs- very nice to watch the sunset and sunrise, and the lake was right across the street so it was quite a decent view. The bed was comfortable, the shower pressure was good. Overall, it did the trick and we were very pleased with our stay.
The check-out process was also very easy, and the staff member asked us how our stay was, which was good to ask for feedback. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I was coming to watch a concert or head to the casino. The value was great for what you received.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnorillia, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate your business and welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Upon check in we went in the CABIN and wanted to turn around and run for the hills. If it weren't for the fact that every hotel in town was sold out we never would have stayed the night. The room was dirty to say the least. The electrical outlets didn't have covers so live wires were exposed, the floors were filthy( Toronto subway bathrooms are way cleaner), dead flies on counter, food pieces in microwave, garbage between stove and counter and in cabinets, mold and water damage on wall by shower, carpets were crusty, window sills rotten, beds old and broken?, mildew on tub surround, musty cupboards, sheets on windows for curtains, and broken duct taped screen door, and mouse crap under the kitchen sink. When we talked to the front desk we were told that they wouldn't even give us a percentage off we had to pay full price of $160 for the night. I will never recommend this hotel to family again. I would love to know where the renovations were done because they certainly weren't in our room. I was very discouraged as they took off my comment on facebook and didn't even respond to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnorillia, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The Cabin is no long available, it is being demolished to rebuild 2 rooms. I believe your motivation for this lengthy tirade arose as a result of you pressuring our staff for a discounted price when you booked the room.
We gave you a price that included pet. We normally do not allow pets. When you checked in, our refund policy sign is displayed very clearly. We will gladly refund you if you do not use the room in any way and ask for a refund within 15 mins of checking in. we live on site, if you were not happy with your accommodation, you should have come to us and we would have found for you an alternative hotel which accepts pets. Maybe you could have badgered them for a discount endlessly.
You approached us next morning again badgering for a discount. consider this ...Would you eat at a restaurant and then decide what you want to pay for the meal?
Also despite your repeated assurance, we did find dog hairs all over the bedding, your dog did not sleep in the crate as you had promised. there was damage to bedding, which we did nto charge you for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 86 Creighton St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lakeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Often described a resort in the city..Lakeside Inn offers a unique experience; with the service and hospitality you would expect from a B&B, but price of a motel with the modern amenities of a big chain hotel. We offer newly renovated 10 rooms with a queen bed and 4 rooms with 2 queens beds. 13 rooms have gorgeous westerly sunset views of Lake Simcoe. All rooms feature, flat screen 30 inch TV, alarm clock, dryer, coffee maker, microwave, fridge and iron. 2 rooms are smoking and 2 rooms with 2 queen beds have a kitchenetteWe are mere 5 KM from Casino Rama, and have our own . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Inn Orillia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.