We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient, and the price was right!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lakeside Inn to your Saves list
Lakeside Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   86 Creighton St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Orillia B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient, and the price was right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the initial reservations made over the phone the staff were friendly and professional. We had no problems making the reservation, and when we arrived the check-in service was quick and friendly. We decided to stay here because of the good price, and because they had a shuttle service to Casino Rama.
We were attending a concert that evening and opted to take the shuttle at about $7.50 per person round-trip. They had two departure times to choose from, and a few pick-up times. The driver was very friendly and dropped us off at the casino with no issues, and told us since we were the only ones he was picking up that evening we could name our pick-up time! A very nice gesture, considering they had designated pick-up times- but he was very accommodating for us.
The Inn has two floors- however if you are on the top floor (as we were), you simply drive around the back side of the building, park in front of your door, and only have to step up two minor stairs before entering the room. The room was a good size, clean, you could tell they had been going through some kind of renovations at some point, but that didn't cause any problems with the room. It also came equipped with a bar fridge, and there was a small balcony with a table and two chairs- very nice to watch the sunset and sunrise, and the lake was right across the street so it was quite a decent view. The bed was comfortable, the shower pressure was good. Overall, it did the trick and we were very pleased with our stay.
The check-out process was also very easy, and the staff member asked us how our stay was, which was good to ask for feedback. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I was coming to watch a concert or head to the casino. The value was great for what you received.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnorillia, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate your business and welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
barrie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Upon check in we went in the CABIN and wanted to turn around and run for the hills. If it weren't for the fact that every hotel in town was sold out we never would have stayed the night. The room was dirty to say the least. The electrical outlets didn't have covers so live wires were exposed, the floors were filthy( Toronto subway bathrooms are way cleaner), dead flies on counter, food pieces in microwave, garbage between stove and counter and in cabinets, mold and water damage on wall by shower, carpets were crusty, window sills rotten, beds old and broken?, mildew on tub surround, musty cupboards, sheets on windows for curtains, and broken duct taped screen door, and mouse crap under the kitchen sink. When we talked to the front desk we were told that they wouldn't even give us a percentage off we had to pay full price of $160 for the night. I will never recommend this hotel to family again. I would love to know where the renovations were done because they certainly weren't in our room. I was very discouraged as they took off my comment on facebook and didn't even respond to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnorillia, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The Cabin is no long available, it is being demolished to rebuild 2 rooms. I believe your motivation for this lengthy tirade arose as a result of you pressuring our staff for a discounted price when you booked the room.
We gave you a price that included pet. We normally do not allow pets. When you checked in, our refund policy sign is displayed very clearly. We will gladly refund you if you do not use the room in any way and ask for a refund within 15 mins of checking in. we live on site, if you were not happy with your accommodation, you should have come to us and we would have found for you an alternative hotel which accepts pets. Maybe you could have badgered them for a discount endlessly.
You approached us next morning again badgering for a discount. consider this ...Would you eat at a restaurant and then decide what you want to pay for the meal?
Also despite your repeated assurance, we did find dog hairs all over the bedding, your dog did not sleep in the crate as you had promised. there was damage to bedding, which we did nto charge you for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

To start off after a long day on the lake all you want is a nice clean room where the door doesn't trap you in the washroom when you go to take a piss. Within the first five minutes I had to yell for my friend to break down the door. The rooms were messy and each had a different smell and trust me this is not a good thing. My bed was tilted and a 50 degree angle and hurt my back. If this place was renovated what the hell did it look like before. There was caution tape outside a room and it looked like somebody had been murdered. When I went to take a picture of this the owner gave me a look like he was going to kill me. The water smelt like sewage and the bathroom looked like it was straight out of the Detroit ghetto. Their were old tiles that were peeling up and the really bad ones they just threw a set of tiles over leaving the other old tiles visible. They did not supply us with toilettres and the free plastic cups they gave us had hair in them. There was a jagged piece of metal to the entrance to the room which I cut my toe on. We payed $140 to stay in a landfill. If we could give this under one star we would. Upon arrival we thought this was a cruel joke. Please look at photos.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnorillia, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
you had checked into G2. as of July 26, those were the last 2 rooms undergoing renovations. I believe that some of your comments are an excessive exaggeration.
Please not our refund policy was quite clearly laid out at the reception, It states quite clearly that we offer a full refund if you check out within 15 minutes of check in.
1, Our beds are defiantly not at 50 degrees. New bed frames were just installed in early June.
2, The "caution" tape was put up as we notice that the step leading up to the porch had come loose, it was the long weekend and our handy man was away, we did the prudent thing and closed of the area, we use a lot of the tape as some people still tried to cross that area. I would plead that you look , ask and verify facts before making slanderous comments.
3, You had claimed you had paid $140, yet forgot to mention that it was $79/night for 2 adults and 2 children PER NIGHT, again misleading comments.

If the accommodations were not to your liking, the correct course of action was to have come to our reception, we would have very gladly refunded you, we had a waiting list for that evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our room on the second floor had a nice balcony with a view of lake Simcoe. Room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had newer fixtures with good water pressure. TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and free wifi, were a bonus.
The building is old and the room was a little musty smelling but was easily aired out, by opening the balcony door and allowing the lake breeze in.

Room Tip: Bring your own ice! Second floor if you want a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnorillia, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
thank you for vising lakeside inn, we appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

During a business trip to Orillia, i stayed at the Lakeside inn, we had booked for 2 nights. I was expecting a simple motel room. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and check in was very fast.

We choose the lake view room on the main level. Upon entering the room, i was frankly very pleasantly surprised.. Our room has a king size bed, large couch, LCD TV, DVD payer, etc. Room was very well furnished. It was spotlessly clean and had lost of info on local shopping and dining.I would defiantly compare the quality of the room to a Best Western or Holiday Inn.

The location is really amazing. Our room faced the lake and every evening we were treated an enthralling sunset.

As a business traveler, i defiantly appreciated the high speed internet, and manager was very kind in letting us use a printer and fax.

Frankly i could have stayed at any hotel, i found Lakeside inn to be a real Gem, it has a resort like location, top quality rooms, great service, friendly staff and yet 1/2 the prices you would spend at other larger hotels. I ended up booking for a week for our summer Stay-vacation.

Room Tip: i prefer ground floor room due to not being good with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnorillia, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have stayed at a couple of motels in Orillia and by far this one I consider to be the nicest (compared to Bayview and Maples) for the same cost. We met the wife upon arrival whom greeted us warmly. We got a king sized bed on the second floor which had a nice view of the lake (would've been a lot nicer if it were the summer). The room was clean, did not smell like a "motel" which was nice. The room is equipped with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and flat screen tv. The space is a little cramped but, it's a motel, you're just there to rest. They had free wi-fi with strong signals.

We will definitely return here again (hoping they have vacancies for us since there are limited rooms available, I believe there are about 15 rooms total).

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor for a nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnorillia, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed stay was a little cold in room but was nice other then that. Customer service was nice polite people would stay there again for sure. Room was nice and a good price view was amazing of the water. Close to everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakesideinnorillia, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 86 Creighton St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lakeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Often described a resort in the city..Lakeside Inn offers a unique experience; with the service and hospitality you would expect from a B&B, but price of a motel with the modern amenities of a big chain hotel. We offer newly renovated 10 rooms with a queen bed and 4 rooms with 2 queens beds. 13 rooms have gorgeous westerly sunset views of Lake Simcoe. All rooms feature, flat screen 30 inch TV, alarm clock, dryer, coffee maker, microwave, fridge and iron. 2 rooms are smoking and 2 rooms with 2 queen beds have a kitchenetteWe are mere 5 KM from Casino Rama, and have our own . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Inn Orillia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.