We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you know your Indian food - stay away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aladdin

Aladdin
Missauga St, Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 123 Restaurants in Orillia
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“If you know your Indian food - stay away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm really surprised at the positive reviews. I've been here three times, just to give it a chance.

I've hit a lot of Indian restaurants in my time. This place doesn't even come close. Best alternative is to head to "Curry in a Hurry" in Barrie.

Orillia needs a decent Indian restaurant - this is not it unfortunately.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north of Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Aladdin is consistently good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I judge a restaurant by the quality of the food, foremost, and then by the service of the employees. Once you are in the doors of Aladdin, the scent of curry and basmati carry you away to somewhere else. The food here is consistently good. This is a difficult thing to say about a lot of restaurants, but honestly, I can say this about Aladdin!! I enjoy Indian food and have had some very good food in Indian communities in Canadian and American cities, in England and Scotland where Tikka Masala is the national dish, and in France and Italy.

We regularly enjoy take away meals consisting of the best samosas you will ever eat, succulent and spicy lamb vindaloo, and fragrant chicken tikka masala. Their pakoras are excellent, the biryani is excellent, the butter chicken is excellent. Tonight we had beef vindaloo - once again, an excellent meal. The naan is baked as you order it so it comes to you piping hot and very fresh.

I live 40 kms from Orillia, but when I am there I always call to place an order. Abdul is very friendly, very generous, and very proud to serve you quality food for a great price. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone who enjoys savoury Indian fare.

Thanks Abdul!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Food Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I have had Indian food in many different countries. However this is the best I have ever had. It is the best mix between authentic back home Indian food and modern Americanized Indian food. The service is very home oriented and the food is fresh. The restaurant is not extremely famous now but has the potential to become the best. I always enjoy their butter chicken, garlic naan, and chicken tikka masala!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Skip this one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I wish I could give this place a better review because an Indian restaurant up north of Barrie would be nice. But I just can't. The advertisements look promising, but the restaurant is in a sketchy part of town, attached on one side to an old night club, and on the other a convenience store. The restaurant itself is a small, cheap, old looking place with a small buffet. I eat indian food all the time, all over the place, and this was a disappointment. I had the lunch buffet. The dishes appeared to be made in a hurry, with very little originality. I liken it to making chicken at home by using some curry gravy from a package and just throwing it over chicken that you picked up at the local supermarket. I was there at about 1:30 pm and it appeared that the food had been left out for a while, and much of it was dried out. They did serve a HUGE chunk of Naan, but it wasn't the best Naan I've had. I don't think the owners are passionate about indian food. Unless their a la carte food is much better, I 'd say skip this one and head down to Barrie where there is a very good one downtown.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Ontario
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Aladdin Indian Cuisine and Banquet Hall- an asset to Orillia Ontario”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Our third visit to Aladdin, taking friends. The onion pakora is good, the beef samosa yummy, the chicken tikka masala was tasty, the butter chicken was even better, the aloo gobi was good, and the yellow daal tarka was a little bland. The entrees were supposed to be served with chutney and naan, the naan was good and plentiful but they forgot the chutney, butl. I'm sure it was just an oversight. The basmati was good, so was the price. The decor is presumably a work in progress, but the food is far better now than it used to be. The only other place for curry in Orillia is Grovers on a Thursday, or on request.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aladdin also viewed

 

Been to Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aladdin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.