We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners, pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Portage Italian Bistro

The Portage Italian Bistro
440 Couchiching Point Road, Orillia, Ontario, Canada
705-327-0672
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 128 Restaurants in Orillia
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Orillia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New owners, pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We went as a group of approximately 25 people last week and had a delicious buffet Italian meal. The restaurant had changed ownership recently and the server and chef were very friendly and provided excellent service. This restaurant may go unnoticed because it is in the Best Western Hotel on Atherley Road by the Narrows in Orillia. The restaurant is attractive with crisp linen tablecloths and candles on all the tables. The fresh vegetables were cooked to perfection. The Caesar salad was one of the best I've ever tasted. The minestrone soup was delicious too. The breaded chicken was very tender and there were a good variety of pasta dishes.

I plan on going back there again soon.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
“Great Food, Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Last weekend we enjoyed an excellent dinner of rib steak and large shrimp. Service excellent. A very pleasant young lady looked after us very well. Came by with the standard " how is your meal? " however she really seemed to mean it. Nice evening, Will go back. Ron & Kathy G.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not Quite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Maybe I ordered the wrong thing or the server didn't understand about food sensitivity issues (even though I explained and requested specifics). It all got botched up. She did offer to replace my meal and I felt guilty and didn't want to cause trouble and ended up with huge indigestion and tummy troubles all night long. A lesson for both of us. Not real Italian food, or cooked by someone not trained. Not eating there again.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We were holed up in the conference room for months and finally gave in to try out the Portage Bistro. The aroma was so inviting.
It did not disappoint when we tried. Succulent juicy Prime Rib. Mouth watering Seafood linguine.. yummy!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Horrible for room service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

I was staying in the BW and decided to order room service from their menu. When the gentleman answered the phone, I asked to order room service, he replied "Look, it's going to be 45 minutes at least"

I said that was fine and asked if I could order the Shrimp Risotto (they didn't have any) I asked for the Portage sharing platter (they didn't have any) I asked for the mussels (they didn't have any). I asked for the chicken parmesan (they didn't have any).

I then asked what they did have, and perhaps I'd choose from what they had available, since their menu seemed to be outdated.

He said "look, I'm busy and I don't have time to read you a menu, come down and order" I declined.

I was far from impressed. If I'd wanted to eat in the restaurant I wouldn't call room service. I stay in Orillia every week, it's too bad the Portage won't be getting my money.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Portage Italian Bistro also viewed

 
Orillia, Ontario
Orillia, Ontario
 

Been to The Portage Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portage Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.