We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog gone good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Memorial Ave., Orillia, Ontario L3V 5X8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Orillia
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Dog gone good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are ways of getting a cheap room that has all the stuff. Coupons, points,..whatever it takes. This is one of those places. Go on a website and get a room cheap at the Econo lodge, afterall,..are you in Orillia to laze around a resort or just sleep and be outside? The location is great,...a very good restaurant across the street serving volumns of cheese on their pasta, garlic drifting to your room dragging you across the road, or, if you don't like Italian, there are many restaurants within a block to please you. The Econo lodge is a great place to bring your dog. Get a room at the back with your own door and go in and out, go for a walk while your doggie enjoys a pee. Normal rooms and old decor await you but so what? Bring something for the fridge in your room and spend time outside during the day. The town has much to offer and many parks to take your beast to and of course places to play for all ages,..water sun and fun. And don't forget, for the adult, have a few drinks and hop the complimentary bus to the Casino and back. for a show or a dinner or for losing a buck or two. You can't go wrong unless your too spoiled. And the "included breakfast is just fine! Breadsm donuts. You don't need much more to start your day. Dog eat dog and grab all the cream cheese you can lol Friendly fun accomodating staff.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back for privacy and your own door to the room and Get ice up the hall for your fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    18
    22
    20
See reviews for
27
43
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place was greatttt...clean, $54 for two people with a comfortable queen bed (great price), continental breakfast, great staff, was like a fancy hotel only in a smaller version. I cannot find one flaw in this motel/hotel. Definetly a family place also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo L, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Our goal is to maintain consistency in our standards. By receiving such kind comments we feel great pride and accomplishment in serving all our Econo Lodge guests. We will continue to strive to provide excellent service and comfortable accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a great stay. The Bathroom was super clean!!! I've stayed at 5 star that weren't as good. Ok there may have been a few spots on the stairs and outside carpets, but at $60/ night, it's great value. It smelled clean and fresh. The Breakfast was good a bagel and coffee with juice, was fresh. Dar can make a great pot of coffee. The rest of the Staff where super friendly & helpful too. I'll recommend it to everyone :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff were very keen to make my stay memorable and check in was seamless. Upon entering the hotel to my room the word that describes it the best would have to be spotless. My room had all the comforts I needed for my stay and the best part was the comfortable bed! Econo Lodge truly understands the meaning of personalized customer service! I would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo L, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Our goal is to maintain consistency in our standards. By receiving such kind comments we feel great pride and accomplishment in serving all our Econo Lodge guests. We will continue to strive to provide excellent service and comfortable accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although the lobby of the hotel was spotless and well maintained the rooms left a lot to be desired. The towels were stained, the sheets were grey and so thin you could see through them. The mattresses were not comfortable and full of stains. The rooms and bathrooms were not well cleaned. Small things like the batteries for the remote control were taped into the unit and you could tell the room we were in had previously allowed smoking because the mattress reeked of cigarettes. The front desk staff were very pleasant although the night staff seemed incapable of eliminating the loud partying taking place in the early morning hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo L, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with Econolodge Orillia.
We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not to your satisfaction, please accept our apologies on behalf of our Staff & Management.

Thank you for bringing the towels & linens concerns to our attention. This matter will certainly be rectified immediately, but if you had informed us upon your check- in we would have rectified it immediately because our commitment is to your satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you again with a better service in a near future.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temagami, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Rooms have a thick layer of dust in corners. furniture is battered and generally shabby/ripped/stained. Pungent odours were present and guests included what appeared to be a bag-fellow complete with delapidated jalopy and pot smoking construction workers.

Beware - this was NOT worth the 20$ savings - just pay the difference and go somewhere clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo L, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with Econolodge Orillia.
We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not to your satisfaction, please accept our apologies on behalf of our Staff & Management.

Thank you for bringing the housekeeping concerns to our attention. This matter will certainly be rectified immediately, but if you had informed us upon your check- in we would have rectified it immediately because our commitment is to your satisfaction. In regards to smoking in a smoking room its very difficult for us to control this matter but definately we will do our best to control the situation moving forward.



Thank you again for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Econolodge Orillia.



Sincerely,

Darlene Allen
Front office Manager
1877-326-6534
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the Econolodge a couple weeks ago with my boyfriend. We were very happy with the room and everything provided. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely come here again and greatly recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 265 Memorial Ave., Orillia, Ontario L3V 5X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Orillia
Econo Lodge Orillia, Ontario
Orillia Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.