We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay, we will return!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Memorial Ave., Orillia, Ontario L3V 5X8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Dunnville, Canada
1 review
“Awesome Stay, we will return!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I recently took my family to Orillia for a family reunion. The Econo Lodge is a great place to stay for a GREAT Price. The rooms are Clean, and spacious and have everything you need when travelling with your family. Our room had a mini fridge and a microwave which made it helpful for keeping fresh fast snacks for the kids. The location is great for restaurants, and not far from several beaches. The Staff are all friendly and very helpful, they really go above and beyond. I will be back again. :)

Room Tip: if you stay on the main floor of this hotel you have access to the parking lot from your room. Makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    22
    30
    25
See reviews for
34
56
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

the reason i am rating this property a 5 star is because of the value you get for your money....
the rooms are simple but clean and the staff is awesome.....close to everything, large rooms in my opinion and beautiful lobby...i had a flat screen on the wall tv...large work desk..fridge and microwave and it was CLEAN....cant get a better value in my opinion that is why i rate it a five star!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

wow after reading some of the reviews thought i'd check the place out as for im sure some people have nothing better to do in there spare time and nick pick. I rather enjoyed my stay the rooms are older but clean, staff is friendly which makes you feel very welcome. the wireless internet is nice as well as the fact that there is fridges an mics in all the rooms at no extra cost. The breakfast is great for a quick start to the day. When all you need is a comfortable bed and the basics for the night this is a great place. Will visit again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Room was clean, big and had all the necessary amenities. Staff was friendly and went above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable. We had no problems checking in and the breakfast was great! Great value for the price! We do a trip to Casinorama every couple of months so I know I will definitely be back and stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Arrived at 6:00 to checked in. Must say the front staff was friendly. Had a room on the 2nd floor. went in the back door. First thing you see is dirty walls and dirty carpets. Room was stinky, and musty smelling. The room just looked dirty. We didn't even stay here, even though we paid for it. We packed up car and went to other hotel, where it was much cleaner. Would never book here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabiya, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Econolodge Orillia for your recent visit. It is with regret that I read your experience with us was less than satisfactory. We pride ourselves on the utmost guest satisfaction and would like to make this up to you.


Since we were unaware that you decided against using our premises as booked, we were unable to give you back a refund for your booking. Please call us at 18773266534 with your name and contact and a refund for your stay will be sent back to you.

We look forward to having you as a guest in the very near future.


Sincerely,

Darlene Allen
Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Arrived in the morning and just dropped in to tell them we were here and could we have a room on the second floor. Yes - they would give us the keys later that night when we returned from Casino Rama. When we came back they didn't have our second floor room but said they "upgraded" us to a room on the first floor. We argued a little but was told that there was smoking on the second floor. The room was awful. A big hole in the blanket, the sheer drapes had holes and rips in them, the box spring was shredded underneath and the plastic lining to the bedside lamp was all broken and torn and had holes. Surely the housekeeping staff would notice such obvious things and report them for fixing. Gave one star because the beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked. We did not even want to try the breakfast after the horrible state of the room. Will NEVER stay in this dump again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The room was disgusting. My pillow cases were dirty and smelled like sweat. Three of the lamps were broken. Matresses and box springs were disgustingly dirty and worn out. Pillows were just as dirty and flat. I will never stay here again and I have stayed at some pretty dive motels as I travel for my job. Looks like it hasnt been updated in 20+ years. Places horrible image on the econo lodge chain of hotels. The owner should be ashamed. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabiya, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Econolodge Orillia. We appreciate your patronage and are saddened to note that your visit and stay with us was less than satisfactory. Please accept my sincerest regrets and apologies.

In order to better understand and resolve the issues, I ask that you please call me on my toll free number 1-877-326-6534 or 1-416-854-2094. I look forward to speaking with you.

With best regards,

Darlene Allen
Front desk Manager
Kensington Hospitality Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 265 Memorial Ave., Orillia, Ontario L3V 5X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Orillia
Econo Lodge Orillia, Ontario
Orillia Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.