We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly, but tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orillia Highwayman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Orillia Highwayman Inn to your Saves list
Orillia Highwayman Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Woodside Drive, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6T4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Eastern Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly, but tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed at the Highwayman for two nights early in July. Overall it was a good experience ... with a few little glitches.

The Highwayman appears to be a 60's-built motel that may have been upgraded about 20 years ago.

The rooms are clean and spacious, and those on the second and third floors have small balconies. There was a new shower/bathtub unit, again very clean, but it was raised off the floor so that the side of the tub was very high for this vertically challenged and somewhat arthritic person! I went to the nearby drug store and bought a suction balance assist, which was a great help getting in and out of the bathtub. If you use one, you have to find a flat spot on the plastic tub-surround so that it maintains its suction.

When I turned down the bed I discovered an issue with how the bed was made: the bottom sheet was a double flat sheet that was not big enough for the queen mattress and there was no top-sheet at all! I called the front desk to ask about this, and although it was after 11 pm they sent someone to remake the bed properly ... apparently I was not the only one with an improperly made bed. The person who originally made up the bed needs a little training! However, when I checked in I was told that there had been a power failure earlier in the day so perhaps there had been no time to wash all the sheets required to make up the rooms.

The motel is clean, but the carpeting in the halls and rooms is very worn and doesn't reflect that. Replacing it - perhaps with easily cleaned laminate flooring - would be a great improvement.

I had no time to use the pool, but the kids I saw using it seemed to be having a great time.

The little balcony was pleasant and a nice source of fresh air. However, people are allowed to smoke outside on the balconies, which means if someone is smoking on a balcony nearby the smoke can waft into your room. That happened my first morning, which meant I had to close the door. Although I don't smoke, I don't have issues with people who do, but any smoke in room risks additional charges, and I didn't want to take that chance. I do prefer accommodation where I can open the window for fresh air, so it was disappointing to have to keep it shut. Fortunately this wasn’t an issue the second day.

Bear in mind that you can hear the percussion from the music in the restaurant/bar next door, so ask for a room that does not overlook the bar, if you think that will bother you. The HVAC system mostly drowned out that noise.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The person who remade my bed - and several other beds - at 11 pm especially deserves kudos for her efficiency!

Overall, the Highwayman was good value for the reasonable price I paid. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue, ask for a room on the second floor (lobby level) or first floor (walk out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Thank you for reviewing the Orillia Highwayman Inn. It is great to hear the kind words about our staff. Our housekeeping staff give a 110% each and everyday. They will be very pleased to hear your nice words. Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Kelly Callan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    19
    22
    24
See reviews for
30
29
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orillia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Can't say enough about the benifit of this pool temp it really made our stay twice as nice, having fibromyalgia you shouldn't enter a pool that is below 80 this made for healing therapy as an added bonus to our stay. Everything else at this lnn was great, MaCabes restaurant had great food & service was excellent. There's a mall less than 1/4 mile just around the corner with all the main shopping ie Walmart. Rooms were very spacious & beds were quite cumfy. Complkimentary breakfast was great. l'd stay or refer anyone there in thee future, without hesitation.

Room Tip: Personally prefer parking outside the door on the south side main level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be exceeded during your stay. We are very proud of our team and will be sharing this review with all of them.

I do hope you and the family can have an opportunity to stay with again. I am sure they will love it like we do.

Sincerely,

Kelly Callan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Room is very spacious and very clean.The soakertub(new) and tub surround were great.The amenities were awesome with an indoor pool,hottub,and sauna in the mens and womens changeroom. Breakfast was very good (complimentary) and served in the restaurant.

Room Tip: No elevator- stay on 1st or 2nd floors(Motel has 3 floors)Most rooms only have double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear PaulR,

We are thrilled to read that we were able to make such a great impression on you! Many thanks for the kind comments about our great guest rooms, indoor pool and hot complimentary breakfast. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Highwayman Inn the next time you are in Orillia, ON.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Callan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at the Highwayman and found it to be clean and reasonably priced. The entertainment in the bar was a Classical country band called Overtyme and they were fantastic. They had a flute and violin and it worked. I would definitely go see them again. Also that night they had instituted a "speed dating" event for singles. We did not participate but it was something for the age 35 to 56 group? The indoor pool looked inviting. I definitely plan to stay there again

Room Tip: we requested the room on parking lot level with walkout to car. These rooms would be ideal for di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear JacquelineBest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a great review! It’s good to know that you enjoyed our entertainment as well as our hospitality. We would very much look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back to The Highwayman Inn and deliver another excellent service. Thank you for staying at The Highwayman Inn.

Sincerely,

Kelly Callan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We spent two nights at the Highwayman Inn in Orillia with our kids and grand-kids. We had a super stay. The hotel staff were extremely efficient and accommodating. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The included breakfast was quite adequate. Our grand-kids loved the large heated pool and hot tub. The location right near hwy. 11 and close to restaurants and a short drive from the waterfront made it a perfect choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our many amenities and great location. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Kelly Callan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed for a few days in May and were very pleased. The hotel staff that I spoke with (Sandra and Sara) were so incredibly helpful and accommodating. The pool was great and the breakfast was delicious. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear CathyM,

We are thrilled you had a wonderful time at our hotel,and were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer. It is our pleasure to make sure all of our guests feel special and have a great time. We truly hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Kelly Callan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The room was clean and pleasant; the doors open for fresh air, which was amazing and felt wonderful. The pool and hot tub area were lots of fun and well kept. McCabe's restaurant, where breakfast is held, is pretty good - they make a terrific Bloody Caesar and were able to give me an equally terrific Virgin Caesar with a tasty breakfast.

The hotel was having a serious problem with the snow melting when we checked in; all the rooms that had outdoor entrances on the ground floor were more or less blocked by ice and puddles. The front desk people worked hard to make us happy and gave us an upgrade for the troubles we had finding an accessible room.

I stayed there more than 20 years ago and wanted to return for a trip down memory lane - I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay and that our team delivered on the friendly and attentive service we pride ourselves on. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our pool, and onsite restaurant McCabes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Highwayman Inn on your return visits to Orilllia, ON.

Sincerely,

Kelly Callan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orillia Highwayman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orillia Highwayman Inn

Address: 201 Woodside Drive, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6T4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orillia Highwayman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Orillia Highwayman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orillia Highwayman Hotel Orillia
Highwayman Inn Orillia
Orillia Highwayman Inn Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orillia Highwayman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.