We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orillia Highwayman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Orillia Highwayman Inn to your Saves list
Orillia Highwayman Inn
201 Woodside Drive, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6T4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

If your looking for cheap swimming lessons for your kids the place is great , but If your staying for the night it isn't as nice , their rooms arnt exactly up to date but they are manageable for people who will just be sleeping there. Personally I love the pool because it is saltwater and it has a nice hottube :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Operations Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your review, so nice to see a review from a local resident. I'm happy to hear that you enjoy the pool and hot tub here at the Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre. I hope that when you have family visiting you here in Orillia that you will consider recommending our hotel for them to stay.

Yours truly,

Jill Shipp
Operations Manager
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    16
    20
    20
See reviews for
24
26
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I attend a one day session and the rooms were clean and the staff friendly.
The lunch well too much food and good for a change. Not like other places

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Operations Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for posting a review regarding your experience at the Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre and the meeting you attended recently. I was pleased to hear that your enjoyed your guest room and its good to hear that we exceeded your expectations in regards to meals offered for the conference your attended.

We hope to have you visit us again!

Sincerely,

Jill Shipp
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

This quiet hotel is situated close to all amenities,but maintains an exclusively private resort setting. Superior service,friendly and accomodating staff,and great food combine to make this hotel a definite first choice!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Operations Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us. We look forward to you visiting us again very soon!

Yours truly,

Jill Shipp
Operations Manager
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Excellent Customer Service. Friendly staff and management went out of their way to meet my needs. Dated and older? yes, but they are working on upgrades and for the price you cannot beat it anywhere. Central location, easy access, great pool,nice restaurant, and large rooms. Not the Plaza or Hilton, but a reasonably priced, clean hotel with all the ammenities of a high end hotel. Loads of free parking.

Room Tip: We select a room open to the parking lot for easier loading etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Operations Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank for taking the time to write a review of the Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre and for your compliments on our "superb customer service". We hope that the next time you are in Orillia your travel plans will include another visit to the Highwayman Inn.

Kind Regards,
Jill Shipp
Operations Manager
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Many times I have had a group gathering at the hotel in one of their suites (mainly the Carmichael room) as result there have been many times that I have stayed in the Highwayman Inn.

If it wasn't for the good rates that were offered to our group than we probably would not have stayed here. The place is dated and does need a makeover.

On the upside, the pool is fairly large and the hot tub is really relaxing after a long day.

Staff are friendly!

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Operations Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I was sorry to hear that you felt your accommodations were dated, but please you enjoyed all the amenities the hotel has to offer and that you enjoyed your interactions with our staff. We hope that you will consider staying with us again, when you return to Orillia in the future.

Sincerely,
Jill Shipp
Operations Manager
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here one night in December 2011 to attend a party in the hotel earlier in the evening. We arrived around 1pm and the front desk accommodated us with a room that was ready which was very nice. The hallways had slightly worn carpet and were a bit dark. Our room was okay; certainly NOT luxurious. A little on the low-end (Motel 6ish) side. The tub/shower was newer and there were lots of towels which was nice. The mattress however, was older, boxy, and hard. We did not sleep well. For one night, it was tolerable, but I would not stay here again. We did enjoy the Sunday Brunch in the restaurant next door which was very good!

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a steep hill so the lobby is actually at the same level as the 2nd floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Operations Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
I was so glad to hear that you found the Guest Services staff friendly and accommodating. It was great to hear that you found the bathroom facilities of your guest room well appointed and in good order. I was very sorry to hear that you found your bed uncomfortable and that you did not sleep well. I thank you for your honest and frank review and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Jill Shipp
Operations Manager
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Don't get too excited about staying at the Highwayman Inn in Orillia. It puts the "B" in basic at best. The price was very reasonable, hotel staff were wonderful, the bed was comfortable but other than that I'd probably spend a little more and stay elsewhere.
Hotel was very noisy.......carpeting in the room needs major upgrading, rooms in general needed some serious updates. Cable TV was not high definition; just basic cable. Flat panel was nice but w/o hi def, it was not worth it. In room coffee, nice apt. size refrigerator, but that's about it for the room. The bathroom, I must admit, was upgraded with a nice new one-piece tub/shower, new flooring and vanity.
BUT, the noise was undesirable. You could hear every door close, hallway conversations, and parking lot traffic. Even tried using the air conditioner/heater to drown out the noise but even that was so loud it made it difficult to get a good nights sleep.
DON'T use the restaurant attached to the Inn unless you only want drinks at the bar. While we waited for our room to be ready we were offered a 10% off coupon so we decided to grab a bite to eat. We ordered a dozen chicken wings and a hamburg........OMG the worst tasting chicken wings I've ever eaten and the "beef" tasted like horse-meat with soy filler, almost like a tasteless meatloaf! We passed on the 1/2 off breakfast buffet the next day so not sure what that would have been like.
In summary, if you only want a inexpensive, basic place to spend the night and you sleep like a log then by all means..............

Room Tip: Ground floor is probably not a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighwaymanOrillia, Operations Manager at Orillia Highwayman Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank for your review and for your positive comments regarding the comfortable bed in your room and the upgrades in our bathrooms. Hallway noise and road traffic are difficult to control and am very sorry that you found that the noise level high enough to disturb your nights rest.
Please accept my apologies for your experience at our restaurant. Our restaurant is known for its great tasting food, friendly atmosphere and great value! It would seem that we failed to provide you with the experience we pride ourselves on.

I hope that you will visit Orillia again in the future and if you would consider staying with us again, I would be pleased to handle your reservations personally.

Yours truly,
Jill Shipp
Operations Manager
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orillia Highwayman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orillia Highwayman Inn

Address: 201 Woodside Drive, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6T4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Orillia Highwayman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orillia Highwayman Hotel Orillia
Highwayman Inn Orillia
Orillia Highwayman Inn Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orillia Highwayman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.