We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good time!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fern Resort to your Saves list
Fern Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   4432 Fern Resort Rd, RR#5, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Mississauga Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not a good time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Have been a few times over there years and was not impressed. Last time was a few years back. Rooms were just ok. The food was just terrible! Obviously from the day before. Brought this to staffs attention and they could have really cared less! Never again!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments here and I am sorry you didn't enjoy your last experience with us albeit I am not certain from your post if it was recently or a few years back. Regardless, I do apologize and can say that poor food is not the normal experience our guests receive here at Fern Resort. Our staff members are generally kind and approachable and more than willing to make sure your dining experience is perfect.
We will continue to accept comments both good and bad and use them as tool to improve. I hope that you continue to find great vacation and getaway options right here in Ontario.
I appreciate your comments.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    50
    22
    16
    5
See reviews for
115
16
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Fern resort is a wonderful homey, welcoming property. The choice of all inclusive meals is exceptional, the staff are helpful, pleasant and attentive. The accommodation was perfect for us. It is a rustic rather than chic. Have been there 7 times and will be going again! LOVE IT THERE!

Room Tip: Enjoyed our Fireside suite overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

A big thank you to Murray and the Fern Resort team for accomodating our girls hockey team - parents, players, siblings.... We were given a great block of rooms, a private hospitality room, and the best service possible the entire weekend! Great winter escape too - girls enjoyed the ammenities and "extras"! We will brng the entire team back next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments and I am glad we could host your team for the annual "Orillia Hockey Girls Tournament" earlier this month. Your girls certainly had a fun weekend outside of the tournament enjoying the skating rinks, cross country skiing and the entertainment. I heard a lot of great comments specifically about the "Chocolate Fountain" on Friday night. YUMMY !
We look forward to seeing you and your team again next year or sooner!
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Drayton Entertainment Travel Club makes an annual winter getaway to Fern Resort, which is always enjoyable. We had several first-timers in our group of 75, and they are all eager to return. The food and service was fantastic, and the hospitality from all the staff, whether servers, front desk or maintenance, was warm and genuine. Thanks for making everyone in our group feel so special.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments and thank you for coming up to see us again this year. It was great to see all the returning Travel Club members as well as some new faces. Drayton Entertainment organizes first-rate excursions that include itineraries full of customized activities, superb dining, dancing and entertainment. Past Travel Club excursions have included a 3-week journey through the Mediterranean, a magnificent Alaskan cruise, relaxed motor coach tours to New York City, Branson, Missouri and Las Vegas, and warm winter retreats to the Caribbean, Mexico and Hawaii, as well a winter getaway in Ontario to see us here at Fern Resort. We are proud to apart of these great offerings from Drayton Entertainment.
Happy travels to you and your group and we look forward to seeing you again next winter.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was the second time I have booked the resort for our business meetings, both times were great. The staff at Fern are always friendly and make sure you have everything you need during your stay. The rooms are always clean the the food is fantastic, I have a food alergy and they were able to accomidate me very well. The meeting rooms are spacious and suited our needs quite well. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your choosing Fern Resort again as your meeting venue. Fern Resort, although known as primarily a family vacation destination, is also a great spot for meetings and conferences. We take the same great approach to our meeting guests as we do with our family guests. Friendly and attentive staff, great food, and a setting that is relaxing and casual is what we provide so that meetings and businesses can concentrate on accomplishing their goals. If you are looking for an excellent meeting venue that has it all, give our Conference Sales Manager Murray a call.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our entire girls hockey team, the North York Storm, booked 14 rooms with the Fern Resort on the weekend of January 10th, 2014. Our accomodations were clean and comfortable, and additional meeting space for our team and parents were made available to us. The staff were always friendly and willing to assist and accomodated any requests we had. All families agree that our stay definately made for a great weekend on top of winning the Gold Medal for the tournament! We are already talking about booking again for next year. Definately a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments here on TripAdvisor and congratulations to the "North York Storm" for winning your division! Staying at Fern Resort as team can offer so much more than a standard hotel can. The resort offers some great activities and added facilities you just don't get in a hotel. Skating on the lake, hay rides, x-country skiing and snowshoeing as well as nightly entertainment are all added value you and your team were able to get by staying with us. It was a lot of fun hosting the "Storm" and we look forward to next year's tourney.
Good luck with the rest of your season!
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manger
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My entire family rang in the New Year at Fern Resort and without question this will be a new tradition. We had 3 different types of accommodations that included The Bayshore Cottage, Penthouse Family Room and The Penthouse Suite. Each one was perfect for our needs. The Bayshore was more rustic but the lake skating rink was right outside the door so the kids could play outside and always be in view. We loved ease of the Penthouse suite because of its size and the comfort of not having to travel in our snow gear to get to the restaurant.
One of the best aspects of the holiday was the amazing food and service. Nadia was our dedicated server and she got to know all of our preferences and did a wonderful job making our children feel special. The selection of food changed at every meal and every dish we had was fantastic. It was such a treat to go on vacation and not have to cook and clean.
One of the reasons we chose the Fern was because of their children and New Year’s programming. Our kids had a great time in the full day programming where they got to meet some new friends and got to experience so much of what the resort had to offer and the counselors were so great with all the kids. As for New Year’s, it started with a children’s buffet followed by a dance party just for the kids with a balloon drop at 9:30 pm while the adults got to enjoy a wonderful 5 course meal. It was perfect.
All the adults took advantage of the spa services and enjoyed them so much we booked more for the following day. The indoor pool was small but was a bit hit with the kids. At the New Year’s party the band asked how many people had been to the resort before and more than half raised their hands. We have learned that families have made Fern their yearly holiday tradition and this says a lot about the resort. They are definitely geared to families so if you go there be prepared for to be surrounded by kids. The resort deco is a bit dated but that honestly just adds to the charm of the place. It felt a lot like the Dirty Dancing resort where texting and video games take a backseat to family time and fun and isn’t that what family vacations should be about. Thank you Fern Resort for a fantastic holiday…we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Congratulations on finding a new family "New Year's Tradition" at Fern Resort. Fern Resort is the perfect spot for celebrating holidays or milestones with family and extended family. We take care of the cooking, the cleaning, and the activities and entertainment so you can concentrate on what's important - FAMILY TIME!. New Years Eve is a great time at the resort. We offer a unique family experience were the entire family can celebrate the new year together.
We look forward to seeing you and your family again next year.
Cordially,
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Resort

Address: 4432 Fern Resort Rd, RR#5, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meeting and conference stays. All meals, use of facilities and at specific times of the year, we offer activity programs for all ages, children supervision and nightly entertainment. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests with good olde fashion hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a little getaway weekend or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hotel Orillia
Fern Resort Orillia, Ontario
Fern Orillia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.