We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for the disabled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Progress Drive, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not for the disabled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

It wasn't until after we checked in that we found out (from locals) that this Comfort Inn cater mostly to people who stay one night - truckers, sales people, etc - we had checked in for 3 nights. Both my husband and I use walkers (I am more reliant on mine than he is on his); unfortunately for us, I booked this stay thru a site that told me there were accessible rooms to be had. Ours was not, and I was told by the staff that there were no accessible rooms at all at the Inn! Furthermore, the only 'ramp' available was at the curb at the front door, and our room was 2nd from the end all the way down the hall at the back of the building! Because of my walker, and my inability to stand straight, I found the room cramped, the toilet too low, and the sink too high. Naturally, there were no grab bars to be seen in the bathroom. My husband loved the bed, but it was too hard for me. All that being said, the room was very tidy and clean; the breakfasts were tasty; there were joyful snacks available in the foyer all day; the Inn was quiet; and the staff very pleasant and accommodating! I would recommend this Inn to any of my friends - who are not disabled.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken J, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Your feedback is welcome at the Comfort Inn hotel. Although we are always disappointed to hear that someone’s stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so that we can take the appropriate steps to correct them. We only have the one disabled room at the hotel which I was sorry to learn was not available for your stay with us.Should you choose to return we encourage you to get in touch with us prior to your arrival so that we can ensure we put aside this room for you.Again, please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The front desk receptionist was friendly and very courteous. The room was clean with no noise from the hallway. We were staying right at the top of the stairs (No elevator as it's only 2 floors).
Conveniently located between highways 11 and 12, this hotel provided easy access anywhere.
Close to Casino Rama and a great many restaurants with some offering discounts to hotel guests.
Free breakfast was small but satisfying. If you're looking for more, I would suggest going outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken J, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We appreciate the time and effort in sharing your experiences because our focus is on the guest and providing the best experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This hotel is very clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a concert to go to so this was a reasonable option to stay within driving distance of Casino Rama. The only drawback is they don't supply a shuttle to Casino Rama and a taxi will set you back about $25.00 each way. The rooms are very nicely decorated, beds are comfortable and it was such a quiet hotel even though it was a Friday night. Would definitely stay again if going to a concert on the weekend.

Room Tip: Would probably be best to stay on 2nd floor would be quieter than first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lescool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken J, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your comments and vital feedback. We are always striving to do our best for our guests and your experience will ensure we do just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is just off both the Trans Canada Highway & Highway 11. The hotel is in a great location for chain restaurants such as Kelseys, Swiss Chalet, Tim Hortons and Harveys. The hotel offers a discount at a couple of the nearby restaurants, Swiss Chalet being one.
Rooms are just as shown on the professional photos and the hotel is 2 storey, no elevator.
The breakfast room looked quite depressing so we took breakfast to our rooms. Breakfast had a reasonable selection , check in & out were easy. There is a gas station, as well as a car wash nearby & a short driving distance to a couple of strip malls with Target, grocery store & Walmart.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioGinger186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken J, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review of the Comfort Inn hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services, as well as, our unbeatable location. We would be honored to have you stay with us again in the near future. We will be renovating the property from front to back in November and hope to welcome you again to check out our newly designed breakfast room which we are confident you will enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We, a group of eight recently stayed at the Comfort Inn overnight. Reservations were made on line and were perfect. There was room for the eight of us to group in one of the rooms for snacks or to play a game.
The breakfast was fresh, with a good selection. Check in and out handled very well. Walked to Kelseys for dinner and got a discount because we stayed at the Comfort Inn.
The only thing I would change would be to have an additional towel shelf in the bathroom. We were two and there were towels for four. There really was no where to put the additional ones while having a shower. But the towels were very white and soft.

Would stay again, good experience even when the power went out for a short time in the middle of a storm. But lots of lighting in the hall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken J, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It was our pleasure to host you as our guest! We are always striving to improve our hospitality and service and we appreciate your kinds word about Comfort Inn hotel. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We do appreciate your continued patronage, and look forward to serving you more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our fourth stay at the Comfort Inn and we were not disappointed in any way. On-line reservation process was painless and quick. Received the senior's rate and upon check-in requested (and received) a ground-floor room which my post-op knee appreciated. Although the hotel was busy, it was quiet (our room was on the back side). The T.V. remote was easy to operate and picture quality and choice of channels was excellent. Bed was firm with plenty of pillows and bathroom was fully stocked with shampoo, conditioner, soaps, skin lotion and loads of towels. Built-in hairdryer worked great. Having the fridge was an added bonus for cooling our beverages. The front desk even supplied a corkscrew upon our request. Breakfast choices of cereals, breads, eggs, fruit, juices and coffee/tea was more than satisfactory and making my own waffle was quick and easy. Hotel is located close to Kelsey's and East Side Mario's for our dining enjoyment. Have always found this hotel offers good value and we won't hesitate to make another reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born2Fly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken J, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
The Comfort Inn hotel thanks you for choosing to stay with us in Orillia and for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted that our front desk staff was able to get you into your room quickly and efficiently and that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to have you back on your next trip to Orillia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We saw Ringo Starr and his All Star Band at Casino Rama and stayed at the Comfort Inn since it was more reasonable than staying at Casino Rama. The Comfort Inn was exactly as expected.....comfortable. It was clean and good enough for one night. We did not have any hair conditioner and the tub drained very slowly....but again, one night, we survived. The breakfast was good albeit the seating area is small. Would stay again for one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken J, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
The Comfort Inn hotel appreciates you taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to know that our location suited you and that you were well attended by our staff. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to the Comfort Inn Orillia hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orillia hotels
5.1 mi away
Days Inn - Orillia
Days Inn - Orillia
#3 of 15 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 15 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 15 in Orillia
3.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 75 Progress Drive, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 13 minute drive from Casino Rama, and surrounded by a variety of recreational activities, this hotel features spacious accommodations, complete with a number of thoughtful amenities. The newly renovated Comfort Inn is the perfect Orillia hotel choice. The hotel has renovated all guest rooms, corridors, front desk lobby area and added a new breakfast room. Enjoy a free hot breakfast daily that includes eggs, sausage or bacon, freshly made waffles, yogurt, assorted cereals and bread items, fresh fruit, juice, coffee and tea. This hotel is 100% smoke free and pet friendly. Ground floor rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and patio door access. All rooms have a 32 inch flat screen television, wireless internet, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron and board. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Orillia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Orillia
Comfort Inn Orillia, Ontario
Orillia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing