We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, comfortable atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sixteen Front, Casual Fine Dining & Lounge - CLOSED

Sixteen Front, Casual Fine Dining & Lounge
16 Front St. N., Orillia, Ontario L3V 4R5, Canada
705-326-3135
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sixteen Front is an elegant restaurant with a casual atmosphere. Executive Chef Ian Thompson, with his distinctive style, creates an array of innovative entrées.Sixteen Front prides itself in using only the finest ingredients including Certified Black Angus beef and the freshest seafood's. Our extensive assortment of international and VQA wines compliment your dining pleasure.Our lounge offers lively entertainment around the baby grand piano on Friday and Saturday evenings. Also offering charming patio dining.
Brantford, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food, comfortable atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Party of 6 with previous mixed experiences decided to try again and weren't disappointed. Good portion of Lamb meant leftovers, lobster and shrimp pasta was delicious with a good number of each. Service was good, server pleasant. Happy we went, will go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    35
    26
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was our second visit. Appetizers were great and so was the main course steak and grilled lamb chops. I was extremely disapointed with the main salmon with basmati rice (suppose to be with basmati rice) but came with some potato dish in between pancake and mash and on top of that it was cold. The salmon was overcooked and dry. For $24 a plate, not worth it. Wont go back there again

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were looking forward to a delicious dinner and we're disappointed. (Spoiled by era 67) the menu looked interesting and the idea to have light menu option meaning smaller portion was great. The house wine was delicious. We had 3 appetizers. The duck sliders were.good. so was the brie. Nothing fancy but good. The escargots sounded delicious and we're served with big chunks of roasted garlic. But the dish had 0 flavour. For our main meal.we had the prime rib & chicken supreme. Both were tasty but nothing special. I felt.like I was eating a good home.cooked.meal but was expecting something special. The atmosphere was beautiful. The service mediocre. .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by the StoneGate Inn we were staying at. Wonderful white linen setting, excellent service and Very Good food ! we both had steak that was prepared to perfection !! We would definitely eat here again !

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Chef makes all the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had dinner at Sixteen Front June 2014. The location was convenient with ample parking. We were greeted promptly and the service continued to be first class. The layout of the restaurant is superior to most. It includes open space, private rooms with no feeling of overcrowding. But what makes this restaurant stand above the others is the chef, Marcel. You will get a gourmet meal here every time. We will be back otten.

Stephen & Sue,
Burlington, Ontario

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sixteen Front, Casual Fine Dining & Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sixteen Front, Casual Fine Dining & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.