We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Non-typical roadside motel"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Inn Orillia

Save Saved
You added Kings Inn Orillia to your Saves list
Kings Inn Orillia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Inn Orillia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L4R 4K8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Non-typical roadside motel"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This motel is really showing it's age. Needs an update in the worse way. Pillows are smaller than average. The bath tub is chipped. Toilet handle needs to be replaced. Bedding was clean, but old. Would have liked to have at least a coffee maker in the room. The room was clean which is about all I can say. You get what you pay for, but at $79.00 per night (tax included) this room was over priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

You want a swimming pool, free breakfast, a gym, friendly people, luxury rooms. . . fugetaboutit, you won’t find it here but. . . I’ve stayed in a bunch of these and this is nicer than most. I heard this was a well kept up place and it seemed to be. Fridge, microwave, internet, decent TV, clean enough, super comfy bed in my opinion, heat was fine and it was a cold night. Service is non-existent but what do you expect. Everything was. . .OK for a very inexpensive hotel; lots of use of caulking, etc. Here’s the thing; if you are not traveling with a bunch of kids, stay here and have breakfast next door, it’s literally almost attached and pretty good, granted neither the restaurant nor the hotel have probably changed much in 30 years but the food was great. Now, for not a lot of money, you get a hotel and a really good breakfast. One irritant was that there was no shade on the bathroom window. It’s high up and there’s nothing out there but a yard, but still... I guess I was in the exhibitionist room. Anyway, ya could cover it easily with a towel.

Room Tip: They all look about the same and face the same road. I'd say pick you lucky number between one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

While driving up to Algonquin Park we decided to stop for the night in Orillia as it was rather late and get a fresh start in the morning. I had found the Kings Inn on Expedia before the trip, but had not reserved a room as we were not sure if we would make it that far.

We got to the motel around 11pm and entered the office. The desk clerk/owner looked quite tired; however, he was very friendly. As it was so late and we were leaving so early we were able to negotiate a $15 discount off the room.

The room wasn't anything special, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only real issue I had with the room was that it was almost impossible to completely turn off the bathroom sink faucet, and it was dripping slowly throughout the night. I put a cloth under it and was able to get to sleep.

All in all it was a great stay for the price. We were able to get a good nights sleep before our early start in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the back and you will be facing away from the highway for a quieter nights slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We needed a room for the night, so checked in to the Kings Inn Orillia because it was inexpensive. The owner got us in quickly and gave us a room that was clean, large and bright. After checking in, we went sightseeing and to the Casino for supper and a show. Arriving back at the motel, we saw that the place was fully booked, but there was no noise or unruliness, and we had a good sleep on comfortable beds. The fridge and coffee maker in the room were much appreciated. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I arrived at the hotel, check in wAs fast however the very small check in area smelled horrible and was dirty. I got into the room to find mould around the bathtub, throw up stains on the mattress, burn holes in sheets And blankets, carpet was dirty and didnt appear to be vacuumed, stains on the wAll and the toilet was broken. The rooms are in huge need of renovations and updating! I do not recommend this hotel to anyone even if you book last minute.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was amazed at the space we had in our room. Clean, comfortable and the price was considerably less than what I usually pay at other hotels.
My group booked 2 rooms at the Kings Inn in Orillia and we all had the same reaction, we will definitely stay here again when in the Orillia area.
We were greeted with a friendly face when we first arrived and the same as we left.
Some went for breakfast and raved about that as well, so this place is a definite keeper :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englehart, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stay in this hotel everytime we go to Toronto. It is very afforadable and in a good location. Small but very clean. It is in walking distance of a 24 hour grocery store and the beach. Also walking distance from TIm Hortons.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Inn Orillia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn Orillia

Address: 370 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L4R 4K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Inn Orillia 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Kings Inn Orillia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Inn Orillia Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Inn Orillia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.