We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadent Victorian Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast
74 Creighton Street | Orillia, Ontario, Orillia, Ontario L3V 1B2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Orillia B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decadent Victorian Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stayed here for one night after attending a Casino Rama concert. The hosts were lovely - not overbearing but attentive when needed. We had the Captain's Room on the 2nd floor: a large bedroom with an equally large bathroom. The bedroom was decorated in turn of the century antiques. The bed was authentic, high, and had the little step ladder to get into it (vertically challenged person would need it). Flat screen tv with lots of channels was hidden in the wardrobre - nice concealment. Wine glasses & opener provided. Nice westernly view for sunsets over the water. The bathroom was great. The replica claw foot tub was about the most comfortable one I've ever used. It was wonderful to soak in the tub and watch the imitation gas fireplace - very relaxing. The main floor sitting room was beautiful. Complimentary cake was on the sideboard when we came in later in the evening. The breakfast the next morning was an extravagent 3 course affair - fruit cup over custard & granola, eggs Benedict, chocolate cheesecake. Outstanding. We felt like we had been away for a week, not just a night. We would gladly return again as would the other guests who's company we enjoyed that morning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
112
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed at the Creighton Manor on October 2st because we were going to see America at Casino Rama. We were pleasantly surprised how beautiful and comfortable this B & B is. We had the Tower room and absolutely loved it, especially the soaker tub in the tower. Doug the owner is very hospitable and made us the best breakfast I have ever had. The following day we took a beautiful walk on Creighton Street that is dirctly on Lake Simcoe. I highly recommend the Creighton Manor over any Days Inn or Comfort Inn at Orillia. We also fell in love with the 2 Golden Retrievers that greeted us on our arrival and departure. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at Creighton Manor. Owners make you feel welcome and special. Definitely deserves it's number one rating. Breakfast is to die for!! Great location, near casino yet on a quiet street over looking a park and the water.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

What perfect hosts Levada and Doug were. Just the right amount of interaction. This was only our second stay at a B&B with our first maybe 20 years ago, was a bad experience. My sister and her husband also travelling with us made the booking and are we glad they did. We enjoyed everything about the Inn, from the decor, the setting and the food. We had the two bedrooms on the third level. They are both nicely decorated and have ample space. Bathrooms are small and this is our only negative. If you are a clean freak you are going to be disappointed because you will have nothing to complain about. The inn is emaculate. The extra details are too many to describe but all appreciated. The breakfast was simply amazing and this is first in the B&B and just when you think your done you get a nice surprise. Doug and Levada thanks for a great three nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

After our first stay in August we were hooked! We have been back twice since then and everytime has been such a relaxing experience in doug and levida's beautiful inn.They are very welcoming hosts who make you feel right at home. What can I say about the breakfast that hasn't been said before, unbelievable!!! Looking forward to our three day stay in October. Ted & Susan Whitby On.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We had a short but very nice stay at Creighton Manor. Our hosts were welcoming and very helpful. The room was massive and very comfortable. The breakfast lives up to the reviews. Luckily my boyfriend is a hearty eater as I couldn't finish my food. we ate breakfast on the veranda overlooking the water- it was amazing. We also needed to eat early as we had to hit the highway and our needs were totally accomodated for. It seemed like nothing was too much trouble. The hosts advised on a local restaurant and made a booking for us. They even told us about a great beach for swimming down the road from the b&b. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at the Creighton Manor Inn for 3 nights after we decided to go see John Fogerty who was in concert nearby. I read B&B reviews on tripadvisor and the Creighton Manor was rated #1, so reservations were made. Everyone said how welcome the owners, Doug and Levada made them feel and they were spot on.

We chose the Captain's Quarters for the room size, but were pleasantly surprised with the huge bathroom with a claw foot tub and a rain shower - that was a bonus. And yes, not to mention the fireplace in the bathroom..!!

The room was a nice size with 2 wingback chairs near the bay window. Everything in the room was class. The breakfasts were gourmet and so very fresh - my favorite was the eggs Benedict - absolutely delicious, served with fresh squeezed orange juice too. I forgot to ask about the coffee, but it was delicious. Also a treat was the yogurt/granola/fresh fruit compote served first. Breakfast is normally served at 9pm, but we were leaving a bit early on the last morning, so the owners had breakfast for us just after 8am. They are truly focused on service and spare no efforts.

The parlour downstairs w/fireplace was ours for the visit. To top off every evening, there would be a nice treat (chocolate cake, assorted cookies and even a cranberry goat cheese roll w/crackers)..!! We enjoyed winding down after days of sightseeing and having our evening glass of wine sitting there while peering out the huge front windows to a sea of Canadian geese taking off on the lake. What a view!! Sitting in front of the fireplace, having a snack with our wine and listening to soft melodies in the background. Does it get any better...? We didn't think so..

I even ventured out for a short ride on one of the bikes they provide for guests. Doug actually took Mike on a ride in his 1941 (hope I got the year correct) Ford pickup which according to Mike, ran like a champ!

One morning our rental car had a flat..!! Gee, who wants to deal with something like that while on vacation. But there again, was Doug to the rescue with his air compressor inflating the tire so we could drive the 2 blocks to a tire shop to have it fixed. You wouldn't have that service in a hotel..!!! Be sure to look through the renovation scrapbooks in the parlour and see exactly the monumental task Doug and Levada took on in renovating the huge house practically on their own. What dedication and hard work they had to arrive at the jewel they have named Creighton Manor Inn!

We felt like we were at home, not in an accommodation - even a B&B. Yep, we'd certainly return and hope to spend some summertime in the wonderfully cool weather versus our hot Texas summer. What a wonderful trip made even more wonderful by the Creighton Manor Inn's owners, Doug and Levada. Thanks a million..!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74 Creighton Street | Orillia, Ontario, Orillia, Ontario L3V 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Orillia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Orillia ON Bed and Breakfast is a Lakeside Grand Victorian Inn Perfect for that Romantic Getaway. Casino Rama a 5 minute drive, swimming, beaches, biking on the Lightfoot Trail, sunset strolls along the waters edge, or just total relaxation, the Manor has it all. As you sit in the gazebo after a full day of golf, swimming, sunbathing, or shopping, you'll have to wonder if there is any place to be than at the Manor - Your Escape from the everyday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creighton Manor Inn Bed And Breakfast Orillia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creighton Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.