We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sound of waves to fall asleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riotel Perce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riotel Perce to your Saves list
Riotel Perce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   261 route 132, Perce, Quebec G0C 2L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Perce
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sound of waves to fall asleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Perce is an amazing town on the gulf of St Lawrence and I can't imagine any hotel that would be terrible located on the waterfront, and this hotel is no exception. Rooms are spacious, and clean and the view is awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
39
46
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The town of Perce is charming, and I'd go back. I would stay somewhere else, however. We were in a street-view room in August without air conditioning. The rooms are dated and a little dingy - plus we had to keep the curtains closed so that it wouldn't be like an oven when we returned at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Get a room on the water side. Maybe then you could get a breeze and it might be cool enough to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days on a trip to Gaspesie. Our room had a great view of Perce rock. We had chairs and were able to sit out day and night. It was clean and we were very comfortable. We ate dinner at the dining room and it was great. The hotel has been updated and has great renovations like plasma TV's etc. The only thing I'd advise people is to avoid the dining room for breakfast. It was busy season, but the poor waitresses were running around exhausted and made tons of mistakes. A table across from us was brought their bill, but no food (I've never seen that before!) and we had trouble getting our food served because it was so busy. On day one, I got an omelette with normal cheese. On day 2, my wife ordered the same omelette and it had some type of processed orange cheese. Worst of all, it's really expensive, even as part of a meal plan. I could go on and on. I recommend you stay here but eat breakfast at one of the patisseries on the strip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor facing the "rock".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Perce, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the renovations we made in our rooms and in the hotel in general as well. Your comments are essential for us to continue to improve our services and we will make sure to send your positive comments as well as the less positive one on the breakfasts to our staff. The busy season should not have an impact on the service you receive at the dining room and we will make sure to take a close look at this situation.

Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Riotel is located on the shore along the main road at the edge of Perce, with stunning views of the Rocher Perce and Bonaventure Island. We were placed in a motel-style room in a block next to the main building, which was average at best. Beds were clean and so was the shower, but the decor was very dated. The construction felt prefab, and the only ventilation possibility was a small double sliding window in the bathroom with direct access to the main road. Car drivers and motor bikers love to cruise on the road, even at night, and closed windows do not protect against the noise of radios and engines. A few days before we had stayed at the Riotel Matane, with much more modern rooms, so it appears Riotel quality is not consistent across locations.

The restaurant of the hotel seemed slightly overpriced, but offers great views and is probably one of the better/safer choices in town.

The town Perce is essentially a line of hotels/restaurants/shops aimed at the large number of tourists. Do not expect anything authentic. In our view there is only one reason to come to this place and that is the boat ride to Bonaventure Island to hike and see the spectacular Fou de Bassan bird colonies. Take at least a half day and pack a picnic to enjoy this island thankfully protected by the Parks Canada service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Perce, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you would have expected. At least we are glad to see that the view and the activities in nature made your stay enjoyable. Your comments are essential for us to continue to improve our services and we will make sure to send your comments. We try to keep as much as possible a consistency between all our hotels, but you have to keep in mind that they do not have the same amount of stars and are situated in different environments. Our Matane hotel is a four star hotel and therefore the rooms are more modern and offer a greater comfort. On the other hand we assure you that we do our best to give the best and more consistent service possible in all our hotels no matter the amount of stars they own.

Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

we stayed here for 2 days and although this hotel is only 3 stars, it deserves 4 stars.
good service, excellent food, the only thing missing is a pool. We were in a suite , with fantastic views on the roc and the island. beautifull!

Room Tip: choose a sea side view room, preferably a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Perce, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear reviewer,
We appreciate that you took the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you appreciated the beautiful view that offers Perce. We will make sure to transmit your positive comments to our staff.
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

When you arrive from the 132 east, and see Percé... wow. Then, you arrive in less then 15 sec after the "côte surprise". Lot of parking. Checking-in pretty fast. Then they offert you to buy coupons to eat diner and breakfast as a package with your reservation room. Actually, we didn't eat there because the resto was empty (4h30 pm) and we thought that if the room is empty, it is not good to eat... but around 7 pm it is getting full. (breakfast from 7$ to 15$) ohhh they gave us a little gift during our breakfast!! An orange juice for free and then... at the end... ANOTHER ONE!!

The ROOM: On the mountain side (no sea view). 140$ per night for two persons (possibility to add two other persons for 20$ plus taxes per person per night). The room look is old but nice. The only problem has been the A/C. We got a portable A/C that we had to empty the water tank manually. 2 times a day. But, they came to fix it so quickly. The beds were very comfy and the linens were of good quality.

Room Tip: You can have rooms on the sea side for 400$. A suite with two king beds and an oven. Very very sharp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Perce, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. Your comments are essential for us to continue to improve our services and offer the best to our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Riotel Perce. We will make sure to transmit your comments to our staff in order to improve what could have been better and make sure to keep what was good to an even better level.
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Seriously.. 3 stars??? the Riotel Percé 2 stars max !! first it's like a motel style Hotel since the best rooms as they call them ''executive'' are in a block of the main building..!!

The room was simply dirty I personnaly decides to clean the floor after seeing so many hairs on the floor the towel I use turned gray !! immagine the carpet!!! the view ..simply amasing the hotel staff didi all their best to accomode us but with the maid service gone for the night the manager had to change our bed himself because we found dirty linnens in our bed!! also the sheet you sleep on is directly on the matress nothing in between !! our room was on the top floor which is the only floor on that hotel with AC and it was 29 degrees that day ( 90 F)

Then the restaurants in percé!!!! we went across Percé to finaly decide to go to the coop since all restaurants where full.. the coop is a convenience store ...LOL... there where simply nothing to eat there...we decided to eat a a local snack bar!! immagine 100 feet from the sea and we eate frozen fried food!!!

Next morning breakfast in the hotel restaurant ..smelled like heating oil fumes where all over it was like a diesel engine was running in the kitchen!!!

food terrible ... if you plan to go to percé go but camping is still the best option and dont forget to fill you fridge first!!!

Room Tip: bring covers for the matress and a can of desinfectant for the floor + extra towells for the carpet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Perce, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear reviewer,

We would like to thank you for the comments regarding your stay with us at Riôtel Percé. We find it very dissapointing that you found your room not cleaned to your satisfaction.
We work our best to keep up a high level of cleanliness in our different buildings and this does not represent what our standards require. We have forwarded your comments
to the person who is in charge and we will make sure that a situation like this never occurs in the future. We would like to apologize to you in regards to your dissatisfaction of your room.
We will also try investigate what could have happened in regards to the smell in the restaurant.
In the meantime, if you would like to give us another chance, please contact us directly at Riôtel Percé and we will ensure that your receive proper accomodations and a high level of cleanliness.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riotel Perce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Perce

Address: 261 route 132, Perce, Quebec G0C 2L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Perce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Perce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riotel Perce 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riotel Perce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Hotel Perce
Riotel Perce Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riotel Perce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.