We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewater Pub and Irish Eatery

Stonewater Pub and Irish Eatery
490 Stone St. s., Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A4, Canada
(613) 382-2116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Gananoque, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Local favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The owner gives the chef freedom with the specials , combined with a menu that changes regularly, make it a fun place to dine. They have an excellent pickerel,(walleye) which is often the nitely special. The side deck offers a nice view of the river but be forewarned, there is very limited seating both inside and out so try to beat the evening rush to be guaranteed a seat. A local favourite, it's often a spur of the moment destination, whether for a beer and wings on the deck, or supper.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    54
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, ohio, u.s.a.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Better than your typical pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We sat on the upper level overlooking the street and enjoyed a pleasant summer evening near the water. We ordered basic stuff, fish & chips for Joanne and poutine for me, and were happy with what we got. The portions were generous and the quality was very good. The menu had more exotic items on it (I could have upgraded my poutine to sweet potato fries) but we were satisfied with these old stand-bys.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pub food with a gourmet flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Coconut curry mussels, boneless chicken wings, double stacker chicken sandwich were all delicious

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, Norfolk, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Sea Bass.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Liked everything from the ambience, beer, food and service

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Who would have known...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were here in Gananoque for an anniversary weekend and we lucked out and had dinner here. We had the great pleasure of sitting and chatting with the owners who told us the pubs history among many other fun conversations. Even better, it was a music night and we were right there in the front listening to a popular folky musician/singer. "One and done", the fantastic Barking Squirrel lager sent me to slumber. This was our favourite dinning experience. Cheers to the owners!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewater Pub and Irish Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Stonewater Pub and Irish Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewater Pub and Irish Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.