We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food at a reasonable cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cousins On King Bar and Grill

Cousins On King Bar and Grill
715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Good Time Charlies)
+1 613-382-5155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Gananoque
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Formerly Good Time Charly's Bar & Grill and located at 715 King Street, E in Gananoque, we're a family run business welcoming friends and family to visit and enjoy great food & fun! We look forward to serving you. Walking distance from the OLG Casino and Gananoque Recreation Centre.Next door to the Best Western Country Squire Resort, Comfort Inn and Holiday Inn Express, close to many other accommodations. Teams welcome and ample parking. Open 7 days a week starting at 11am. Inquire about winter hours.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good food at a reasonable cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Wait staff very pleasant with quick service and good selection of food at a reasonable cost. A live band was featured on the outdoor patio.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    16
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
1 review
“Good food good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

When to cousins to have dish and chips for dinner. We weren't disappointed the service was quick and friendly. The fish and chips were very good and we had to take some to go because the portion was big. Would definitely go again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“No wings but had them”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We dropped in to the restaurant around 9pm for wings on Tuesday nite. The waitress said they did not have any left. So we ordered fish. However people came in after and they received wings. Also later staff were eating wings. We asked and said they just found some and that we did not have to stay and order fish. This service is inappropriate and lacked service excellence! We have been coming to gan for many many years to the cottage and this was uncalled for service in a town that needs tourism and loyal customers. We really should get a rebate.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cousins T, Manager at Cousins On King Bar and Grill, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We were sorry that you were not happy with your experience. Unfortunately there was an oversight and lack of communication towards the end of the evening as everyone was exhausted. As you can agree, we had a very busy dinner service that evening selling over 5,000 wings as part of our wing promotion. The kitchen told our server (your server), that we were sold out of wings) and did find another 30 that were forgotten about later which another server used for her existing tables, etc. By the time your server realized there were some, your meal was done. She did go to your table to make sure everything was okay with your meal and seemed to think that you were ok. In hindsight, yes she probably should have offered you wings once she learned but thought that since you were done your meal and happy, that you would not care for them. We stand by our servers and we know we put them through the ringer by the time you came in later on. We do apologize for the lack of communication and in no regards was this meant to be holding back from patrons, just a slight slip in a busy evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic and full of charm!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Wow!! What a wonderful place to relax and enjoy some great food. What a great family run business that makes you feel at home.. The food was wholesome and fulfilling.. A real must see and visit place when in gananoque!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cousins T, Manager at Cousins On King Bar and Grill, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for posting your positive feedback. We have been building over the last two years and greatly appreciate your kind words. We stand behind our staff and our food and are glad that you are as happy as we are.
We hope to see you again in the near future!
Cheers,
Cousins on King Bar and Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Long wait for cold food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went to cousins knowing knowing that last time the food and service was great. This time however, not so much. Not only did we have to ask repeatedly for the regular menus, and not the daily special menu but when our waitress finally did give it to us she practically slammed it on the table ( along with everything else she served us that night) it took nearly 40 minutes for the waitress to come take our order, but it took another 45 minutes after that to actually get our food. When the food finally did get to us, it was cold! All of it...wondering why we waited so long for food that was cold and dried out as if it had been sitting all day. When it came time for the bill we were over charged for nearly every item. Overall not a good experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cousins T, Manager at Cousins On King Bar and Grill, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we do apologize for the unsatisfactory experience and we can assure you that we will be looking into this further. We hope you did ask to speak to a Manager so that we were able to acknowledge the situation while you were visiting our establishment. And in doing so that we were given the opportunity to handle the situation and not learn from this site as we definitely would have tried to rectify it. We again apologize and hope you will give us another chance. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cousins On King Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cousins On King Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cousins On King Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.