We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Lovely Time...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
95 King St W, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G2, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Such a Lovely Time...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We met up with some friends here, and had a wonderful stay. It was our first time in Gananoque, and we were more than pleased with our trip here. The bed and breakfast is in a fabulous location - EVERYTHING is in walking distance! We strolled through downtown, went on the 1000 Island Cruise, and took in a play. Everything was within a few blocks, and easy to find.
Our hosts were extremely kind and helpful - when we were turned away and openly mocked at a local restaurant for not making reservations (even though we tried earlier in the day), our host managed to get us into an even NICER restaurant, within minutes.
Our room was beautiful, and clean, and our breakfast was delicious!
They really helped turn our weekend away into a real vacation.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
96
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Springs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Staying at the Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast on the second night of our 3 day / 2 night bicycle trip across the Thousand Island area was just a treat !!! It is from walking distance of the river, two great restaurants, the downtown area and best of all the place is georgeous and breakfast just fabulous. Surely worth coming back by bicycle of otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biscarrosse, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Sleepy hollow is an ideal place to stay. The house is charming and so are the hosts Don and Marion, who made us very welcome in their beautiful home. The location is minutes walk from the town centre, shops and restaurants.

Our room was very comfortable with quality linen and toiletries. The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissant , freshly cooked omelettes, eggs, bacon and sausages.

We would certainly recommend this B & B to anyone who needs to lay their head down in Gananoque .

Norma and Gary Brooks

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. You mentioned the Breakfast....half of what we do....the full menu is on our web site. Have a look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bissett
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We recently stayed at Sleepy Hollow B & B during a 4 day stay in Gananoque. The location is charming with the old homes in the area versus the hustle and bustle of the business area where the hotels/motels are located. Within walking distance to "downtown" and the water front. Don and Marion were most welcoming in a very relaxed atmosphere. The home is large and the stained glass windows that are original to the home are beautiful. Don and Marion were very accommodating and in fact we were able to relocate to a slightly larger room after our first night. Breakfast is served in the dining room and it was nice to meet people from as far away as Australia and Paris as well as BC, Ontario and Quebec. Breakfast is selected from about 8 choices that you make each day so you can have a variety as well as maybe 4 or 5 sitting times. Don was most helpful in booking us Theatre Tickets and the Gananoque Boldt Castle Cruise that can be purchased directly from them. Local and nearby restaurant menus are available and recommendations from Don and Marion were appreciated and definitely helped in making dinner restaurant choices. Our stay was comfortable and if you are looking for a B & B in Gananoque we would recommend staying at Sleepy Hollow.

Room Tip: Eden room was spacious and does have a pull out sofa bed and although the bathroom is not in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Glad you got to see many of the gems of Gananoque. There is so much to see and do here that you have to spend more than one night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We headed up to Gananoque from Kingston just for the night and absolutely loved our stay. It was cosy and our hosts were completely lovely. The bed was comfortable, the house was gorgeous, and were very comfortable. The house is a quick walk from the 'downtown' area and we had a picnic by the water at the sculpture park across the street.

We had great company at breakfast and the food was delicious. We would definitely return here for another night!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I am glad you said that one night is not enough for Gananoque. We can keep you busy seeing all the sights but it usually takes 3 days to catch them all....we'd be happy to have you come back and see the rest Gan has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed just one night at Sleepy Hollow and it was much too short a stay for the B&B and for the village of Garanoque!

Our hosts were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. Our room was thoughtfully appointed and nicely furnished. Breakfast was beautiful and tasty.

The weather was just starting to warm up, but the room had a ceiling fan. Several restaurant choices were just a short walk away. The village is very walkable. We wish we had had time for the boat trip to the castle. Next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We enjoyed our short stay in this beautiful & quaint heritage home.
Each room was unique and the entire home had lovely touches like English chinaware, old bathtub & furniture, stained glass windows, etc.
Don & his wife welcomed us & gave us excellent service. The food was delicious, served as in a British country manor house.
A lovely experience.

Room Tip: If you need a dark room, ask the owners- the Eden room in which we stayed was very bright & the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Address: 95 King St W, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Kingston and Brockville amidst the Thousand Islands, come discover Gananoque's Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast. Built in 1905, Sleepy Hollow is a three-story mansion, complete with a turret and wraparound porch a perfect place to escape, relax, or arrange a special get together....like a wedding! Your hosts, Don and Marion, specialize in making your stay in our home a pleasant and memorable experience. We have restored this romantic home to its original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.