We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
95 King St W, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G2, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gracious Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Sleepy Hollow B&B was the perfect place for my husband and I to stay while exploring the quant village of Gananoque and the Thousands Islands of St. Lawrence River. Don and Marion were terrific hosts and went out of their way to make our stay memorable and relaxing. Don suggested that we take a smaller boat tour of the Thousand Island area and it was just the ticket, plus we got to meet a wonderful family from Australia. The breakfasts were absolutely gourmet, delicious and beautifully presented, even to the fresh basil and rosemary garnishes. Marion is very attentive and remembers those little touches that make you feel special - like extra cream with my coffee. We stayed in the Tara room-very cozy and comfortable and our hosts always made sure the hot tub was heated for us! They also made dinner reservations for us at two of their favorite restaurants--we had marvelous meals and enjoyed being able to walk to dinner. The B&B's gardens were meticulously kept and lovely to look at while we enjoyed some porch time. We would definitely stay at Sleepy Hollow again and would highly recommend it to our family and friends. I still miss those croissants!

Room Tip: The Tara room is bright and sunny with a private bath and a hot tub--very roomy and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks, it is always good to hear that we have another happy guest. I will pass on the fact that you enjoyed the boat trip on "Chuckles" to Captain Lance. It is the newest boat cruise among the 1000 Islands. Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
96
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Sleepy Hollow B&B was our annual family reunion destination of choice this year. We were a total of 11 female family members and we were easily settled with rooms to spare. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was elegant, visually appealing and delicious to say the least. Sleepy Hollow is minutes from both the waterfront and downtown shopping. Don and Marion were fantastic hosts sharing the wonderful history of this lovely Bed and Breakfast. We would most definately stay there again. We all had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We have had this kind of getaway often stay with us...a special anniversary, birthday or just family that need a place to be together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Sleepy Hollow B&B is a great place to stop while visiting Gananoque. The breakfast was fantastic, the rooms are very nice, and Marion & Don were great hosts. You are pampered at breakfast and that starts the day. The house is beautiful. We stayed with another couple and had a great time playing pool or sitting on the porch and talking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We are always surprised at the number of our guests that use and enjoy the pool table. I like spending a few minutes there every now and then too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable stay that was too short! We only stayed one night, and would have gladly added a few days to our stay, if time permitted. The home is beautifully cared for, attention to detail everywhere. Our room was Travencore. The hosts were gracious, attentive and genuine. They went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our time in their little piece of paradise! And it would be remiss of me not to mention just how wonderful the breakfast was! I am still savoring the memory!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. You have discovered that one day in Gananoque is not enough. Hope you can come back for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

So impressive from the street, and the wrap-around porch (with hammock!) will have you charmed even before you are warmly welcomed by the hosts. As others have written, the home is large and beautiful, featuring lots of warm wood, interesting stained glass and antique pieces. Loved the pool table on the second floor landing, and there are lots of other games available there for guests' use as well.

Upon registering we were offered a menu for the next morning - several cold items are available and you can choose your cooked breakfast from many options offered and a time when you would like to have it. This is very thoughtful to both guests, who can choose as they like, and hosts, who can have an approximate time to expect you and plan their morning (and cooking) accordingly.

We stayed in the romantic Tara suite; a huge room with a very comfy king-size canopy bed and a Softub hot tub! There is also a little table for two with wine glasses and bottle coaster along with thoughtful battery-operated flickering "candles" for ambiance. This room has an ensuite with generously-sized shower.

Breakfast was divine; we both chose Belgian waffles with fruit and the presentation was beautiful. We were able to spend some time speaking with Don and Marion and they are just lovely people who are obviously in the right line of work, opening their home to folks from all over the world and providing a comfortable home base. Thanks for a wonderful stay; wish it could have been longer!

Room Tip: The Tara Room for couples!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for the glowing words. You are correct we really enjoy our B&B and the folks we meet from everywhere. Please come again, just book a room right on our web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A very peaceful start to our weekend trip, Gananoque is a quaint little town with scenic views over the St Lawrence River.

The B&B itself is a magnificent old house, steeped in history, with plenty of curious items lying around to look at. We stayed in the Atlantis room, which is a decent size and has a fantastic en-suite bathroom. The bed is massive and very comfortable. There is no TV in the room, but that didn't bother us, there is one in the library on the main floor if people want to watch.

Our hosts were very pleasant and took care of us in the morning with a perfectly cooked breakfast. We even got a little history of the house while we ate.

We recommend Sleepy Hollow to people looking for a quiet getaway for a few days and who want to be close to the 1000 Island cruises that set off nearby. The Bridge to the USA is also very close if you want to do a day trip.

We also recommend the Ivy Lea Club restaurant for an amazing meal. It's about 12km drive away from the B&B.

Steven & Nicole, June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. The Ivy Club is one of the region's gems. Great food and a great spot on the St Lawrence River. Check out the other attractions listed on our web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A very nice B&B, great breakfast and congenial hosts. The house is very beautiful and quite large, the host he gave us a bit of a history of the house - quite interesting! It was decorated to its period and some very lovely antiques - a nice change from the usual hotel.

We were offered a menu for the breakfast so that incase we had any intolerances to food, which was very considerate. They offered just about everything to us, so we left with very full tummies:))

He gave us a map of the area so that we could go walking and discover Gananoque - what a cute town :) Unfortunately we only stayed one night so we really didn't get a chance to see more of the area.

Sleepy Hollow was the last stop for us on our 9 day motorcycle holiday, so it was definitely a great way to end our trip. It made us think if we would ever want to do something like that when we get to retirement age?? Hmmm...

A pleasant place, I would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
When I first looked at this review, "Quaint" my first thought was that you were describing the Hosts...not so. You liked the house as much as we do. Thanks, and be sure to come back for a longer stay. Oh and by the way, this is a change in vocation not retirement! Retirement is when you can put your feet up and relax all day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Address: 95 King St W, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Kingston and Brockville amidst the Thousand Islands, come discover Gananoque's Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast. Built in 1905, Sleepy Hollow is a three-story mansion, complete with a turret and wraparound porch a perfect place to escape, relax, or arrange a special get together....like a wedding! Your hosts, Don and Marion, specialize in making your stay in our home a pleasant and memorable experience. We have restored this romantic home to its original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.