We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
95 King St W, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G2, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a wonderful experience. This was my first visit, and everything was top notch. Food and service were amazing. Going to recommend this place to friends for sure.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
99
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed one night-I wish it had been a week. Marion and Don love their home and are so very accomodating to share it with strangers. They are very hard workers-share in the all around duties. Don recommended three wonderful restaurants-one of which we would probably not have tried tried on our own. The food was wonderful and made to order at this establishment so if you go give yourself enough time. we were going to a play and had ten minutes to spare. Back to Sleepy Hollow-Ben asked for ketchup for his sausage and Marion found the cutest little pitcher to serve the condiment in. Lovely fresh breads and jams. All sorts of precious items to look at and enjoy. Don't miss the Eden Room-so light and garden-like with little animal pictures. We don't have black squirrels in Western NY so I was thrilled and a chatty brown squirrel. I understand through Marion that they also have a blonde squirrel who arrives about 8:30 am. I missed it but hope to see it another time. The only thing I could be hyper critical about was that the towels were a little rough(I bet it is because they are environmentally conscious and that is very ok with me) and a waste basket in the room as well as in the bathroom would be convenient. That helped to keep my waistline in check so why am I complaining? I'm not. You can walk to everything. Marion and Don are very friendly and have great advice. Exceptionally clean. Go visit Don and Marion. If you are disappointed, you probably wouldn't be happy anywhere or with anything. I myself, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in August. Room was excellent, breakfasts were superb and Don provided valuable advice on local dining.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I just finished our stay there last Sunday. We were there for 4 days. Let me tell you it was incredible! The food was amazing with 6 choices for breakfast everyday. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Plus because of the location, you can walk anywhere in town! I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We loved the top floor. It is a bit of a trek up the stairs upon arrival. However, once you make t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The B&B is located walking distance from the Marina and Town Center. Sleepy Hollow is beyond the boring branded hotel and motel chains. You enter a world of really nice people doing what they do best, meeting and greeting guests. Making you part of their world, giving you sound advice about the local area. It doesn't matter whether you want to eat out, sightsee or just potter around, they know where to find just what you're looking for.

The breakfast reminded me of the Colonial era and the garden at the back has an amazing vibe. I would definitely recommend this B&B over the others I saw on Church / King street.

I stayed in the Provence Room (Third Floor) with my girlfriend on the weekend of September 3rd 2011.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My wife and I arranged to stay here 2 nights. When checking in, we were provided with an access code for the side door which worked without incident the 1st night. In the morning, we had a fairly good breakfast and departed for day of activities. Upon returning 930pm on the 2nd night, we were unable to get back into the building as the door code had been changed. The owners were out and no answer on the phone. We waited for 2.5h then gave up and had to get a room at a nearby hotel instead.

The owners were quite apologetic and refunded the cost of our entire stay - minimally acceptable.

Aside from the terrible experience above, the B & B was quaint but a bit tired.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our host and hostess were very cooperative with our group "wine & cheese" on the porch even though some of the group were staying elsewhere. The house and rooms maintain the local historic flavour but enjoy modern amenities. Clean and comfy. Breakfast was delicious too.
P.S. if your bathroom habits require total privacy, be sure to ask for a room with walls between the bed/sitting area and the bathroom, rather than a curtain.

Room Tip: Wide variety of rooms -- express your needs clearly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Address: 95 King St W, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Kingston and Brockville amidst the Thousand Islands, come discover Gananoque's Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast. Built in 1905, Sleepy Hollow is a three-story mansion, complete with a turret and wraparound porch a perfect place to escape, relax, or arrange a special get together....like a wedding! Your hosts, Don and Marion, specialize in making your stay in our home a pleasant and memorable experience. We have restored this romantic home to its original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.