We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riva Italian Restaurant

Riva Italian Restaurant
45 King St. W., Gananoque, Ontario k7g 2g1, Canada
613-887-2487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Gananoque
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

excellent choices well presented; and the staff fitted us in without a reservation. no fine Italian wines on the list to go with the food. The decor is attractive, but noisy because of the hard surfaces.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    42
    16
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The first time we were in the Gananoque area we noticed the Riva after we had dinner and thought it was a beautiful building . So this time we stop for the night and were looking forward to having dinner there . The patio area is beautiful with nice tables and chairs it was a Monday night we were told to make reservation because of the bus tours which we did it was a busy night and our server Sarah was wonderful , we had a great bottle of wine the mussels as an appetizer pasta puttanesca the salmon and desert we enjoyed every dish ! We thought it was very well priced ! My husband and I would highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary at Riva's. My husband and I both have food allergies and our waitress Emma was very attentive. She checked with the kitchen to make sure that we could eat what we wanted and the chefs made substitutions to accommodate our allergies. The food was very well prepared and the atmosphere was lovely.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is by far our favorite place to eat when we visit Gananoque. Be sure to plan and get reservations.

They offer Gluten Free pasta on most of their dishes. The service and food is excellent.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and decent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had more or less stayed away from places to eat in Gananoque for the last few years as we've been consistently disappointed, but this seems to have changed this year. We were bitterly disappointed in the restaurant that previously was at this location. We saw it had changed and had lunch there on the 19th, Delicious pasta with roast chicken and a wonderful Ceasar salad. My wife had mussels. We were both happy with the service and found the food to be delicious. I saw other folks were unhappy with the service, but it's not something we experienced! Thanks!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riva Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Riva Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.