We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riva Italian Restaurant

Riva Italian Restaurant
45 King St. W., Gananoque, Ontario k7g 2g1, Canada
613-887-2487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Gananoque
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a beautifully renovated restaurant. We ate in the bar as we did not have reservations. Service was excellent. The thing I liked about the menu was that they had some small plates (or half portions) available. That is great if you are travelling, as we were, and don't want to have left overs!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    42
    16
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food. Nicely renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I really liked our service, the food and the decor. I would suggest they use table clothes at night to help cancel some of the noise as there are no curtains or rugs etc. and it was quite noisy even though not full.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food in a wecoming atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Riva although relatively new, is owned and operated by an experienced and establish restaurateur who also runs "The Ivy" in Ivy Lea , Ontario. Riva is Italian for bank/shore as it is close to the Gananoque River. The atmosphere is not only warm and inviting but there is ample space for larger groups or intimate dining experiences. The bar area is very attractive and the open kitchen is a great idea as it gives you a very positive feel as you walk past to be seated. The food is a mix of Italian blended with a Thousand Islands flare. The food is not only well presented but is delicious. Our waitress was amazing and was very willing to go the extra mile and find out if we ask a question that she could not answer. Portions are more than ample and the wine menu is also very well chosen. This is a great place to go for that special evening out as it is one of the areas finest dining experiences. The prices are in line with the quality of this restaurant, one gets what they pay for. The location is great, and there is ample parking. They also have extensive outdoor areas for "al fresco" dining when the temperatures and weather are most favorable. A most enjoyable evening out shared with great friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely yummy food, with extremely slow service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

May was our forth visit and we've been a little more disappointed with each visit. The food is amazing and the price for what you get is somewhat reasonable. However we've noticed the portions getting smaller. Our service this last time was extremely slow, it took 35 minutes just to get our cocktails. We were only a table of four. We ordered two bottles of wine to have with dinner, and both came 10 minutes after our food arrived. I don't mind fronting a large bill if it comes with adequate service. I hope Riva comes to understand that great food isn't enough, because there are other restaurants in town that have amazing service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a new restaurant in town and the food is great and the building and layout is wonderful. The outside patio is great and all the flowers make is a nice place to eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riva Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Riva Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.